We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Industrial looking from the outside, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Industrial looking from the outside, but...”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I stayed here for a week for the Science Fiction Eurocon in August 19th - 26th.
Registation was smooth (with cookies!) and our rooms were spacious and beds comfortable. Also, the weather being a bit humid (not raining...) and on the cooler side we didn't really need the AC, but it worked.
The only slight disappointment was the low water pressure at the shower.
Also the rooms' doors let through a surprising amount of noise from the corridor, even if the doors themselves are quite solid.

The breakfasts were ... fulfilling. I'm afraid I overstayed there a few times.

The bus 700 runs just in front of the hotel to and from the airport, but if there are three or more passengers you should take a taxi - there's a stand in front.

It takes maybe 15 mins to walk to The Trinity College and a few more minutes to The Temple Bar area, so the hotel is not really situated in the suburbs. Within walking distance there are some nice pubs, also shops (incl. pharmacy) are within 5 mins walking distance, should you need them.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor. We hope that you had a safe return journey to Finland following your visit to Ireland.

We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and to hear how much you enjoyed our very fulfilling Breakfast Buffet!

Please accept our apologies for not exceeding your expectations in relation to shower water pressure. We are currently upgrading our boiler and water pump system so water pressure will be increased throughout the property very shortly. I have also shared your feedback regarding noise created from door closing with our Maintenance team for review.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future when you next visit Dublin.

Warm Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    971
    337
    130
    81
See reviews for
326
786
107
849
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Lots of friendly staff, good food, snacks and bar service.

Location is ideal and a stop off on the Dublin Airport bus transit.

Rooms are good size and with nice touches to make them individual.

I waited along time to find an excuse to visit Dublin and I would not hesitate to return to the Doubletree if I visited again..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your recommendation to future guests to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dublin-Burlington Road, we greatly appreciate your support and hope that you will continue to be a loyal and valued guest.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future when you next visit Dublin. Hopefully, you will not have to wait too long to find another excuse to visit!

Warm Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

From the warm welcome cookies onwards, staff were always helpful. The many good aspects were let down by some little flaws. Our room was good, apart from the air conditioning that only had one fan speed, hurricane. We would leave it on when we left, then turn it off when we were in the room, so that we could hear other other and papers wouldn't be blown off the desk. The bar is huge and spacious, unlike many in Dublin, but some friends took way over an hour to get served their meal. The one thing that was without fault for us was breakfast. Good selection, frequently replenished. The variety of fruit and cheeses was excellent and the waffles had an excellent consistency. Gluten-free bread was a big plus for coeliac friends.

Room Tip: The west wing rooms are more modern and have air conditioning. The east wing rooms lack air conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your recent stay and thank you for sharing your feedback on areas on which you feel we can improve.

Please accept our apologies for the ‘hurricane’ which was created by the air-conditioning unit in your guestroom. I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with details of your recent stay (e.g. Full Name and dates of your stay) so that our maintenance team may investigate this fault further.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future when you next visit Dublin.

Warm Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel looks a bit nondescript from the outside, it changes once you enter. There is an attractive reception area and an adjacent bar. We arrived mid morning and expected just to drop the bags and head into Dublin for the day. We were therefore very pleased to check in and get access to the room, along with the free cookie. This was very welcome after an early start that day. We asked for a room on a high floor away from the lift. Not realising the size of the hotel, we were well away from the lift and hence weren't disturbed by other guests at any point.

The room had been recently refurbished, well decorated and the bed was very comfortable. It was good to have an window that opened rather than having to rely on air conditioning to keep the room cool.

At reception we were offered the chance to pay for breakfast in advance, this reduced the price to 12.50 Euros. The buffet breakfast was great quality, and always well stocked. Many people don't realise that if you ask, you can get your eggs fried, poached or boiled to order rather than having the scrambled eggs. We filled up for the day and didn't need till eat again till the evening.

The hotel is about 20 minutes walk to the centre, there are some decent restaurants nearby. If travelling from the airport the 700 aircoach stops outside. You can buy a combined return and two day city sightseeing ticket at the airport which is a great money saver

Room Tip: The corridors are long so you can be well away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anotherscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are pleased that we could accommodate your early arrival and that our DoubleTree Cookies were a pleasing start to your stay. Our breakfast team will be so happy to hear that you found our breakfast buffet to have great quality and well stocked variety! A Full Irish Breakfast is a great way to start your day when touring Dublin.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future when you next visit Dublin.

Warm Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork , Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

So our first visit to the hotel was not what we expected, but I must say on our return visits the level of service is fantastic! Heres my latest review for the DoubleTree by Hilton, Burlington Road.

Cannot recommend the hotel enough, each stay is better than the last!

The staff here at the DoubleTree by Hilton are amazing, nothing is too small for them and likewise nothing is too big either. They will go out of their way to assist and accommodate in any way. The front desk team are amazing, check-in and check-out is always smooth and fast.

We've stayed in the hotel 3 times in the past 4 months and the staff have even started remembering us from previous visits which is always a nice touch. We do intend on returning soon, next time we're in Dublin we hope to stay with the DoubleTree by Hilton.

The cookie on arrival is a great touch, and really adds to the experience.

The rooms are spectacular, you can see that there was a massive amount of money spent to upgrade the entire hotel form the previous Burlington Hotel. Having stayed in the hotel whilst it was Burlington Hotel back in 2011 - the improvement is massive. Well done!

Food is great, maybe a little overpriced for the room service menu but isn't that the same with most hotels anyway.

All in all, a great hotel and I'm looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to DoubleTree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

All the team here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel genuinely care about our guests and they will be delighted that they managed to exceeded your expectations and make your stay a memorable occasion. Your support is greatly valued and I hope we can be a home away from home for you whenever you are in Dublin.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you again for your continued support.

Yours sincerely,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator, Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is a lovely hotel and easy to get to as a bus runs from the airport to just outside the hotel. The hotel itself is very comfortable and clean and the staff were very friendly. Our room was a good size. There are some nice places to eat nearby. Would use it again and will be happy to recommend it to friends

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

One night stop in Dublin before moving on, hotel was very clean, the staff was courteous. We had difficulty with locating our pick up for our rental car and the front desk tried to help us figure out the problem until it was all sorted. The restaurant/Bar attached to the hotel was large and had good food. The bed was really comfortable and room was clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flagplaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 15 April 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dublin.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for many more enjoyable stays and of course some more of our famous Cookies!
Kind Regards,

Jane Igoe
Hotel Administrator, Executive Office
Direct Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com

Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone: +353 (0)1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#20 of 151 in Dublin
1,900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#54 of 151 in Dublin
1,883 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Property: Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing