We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$354
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$232
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$289
US$281
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$291
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$334
US$317
Westbury Hotel
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Castle Hotel(Dublin)
US$203
US$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albany House(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Grand Canal Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$359
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$258
US$250
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$249
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,954)
Filter reviews
3,954 results
Traveller rating
2,639
756
343
145
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,639
756
343
145
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaddle roomlord mayor's loungeheritage roomirish constitutionbeautiful hotelfive star hotelst stephensmain bargrafton streetturn down servicetrinity collegetemple barmarriottconciergeirelanddoormanluxury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,417 - 3,422 of 3,954 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This was my first time in Dublin and I chose the Shelbourne with its majestic building, wonderful location, and depth of history. I was not disappointed with respect to the grounds and location. The bars and lobby are exquisitely designed and in my opinion very inviting. That said, they are very crowded with throngs of locals and tourists. I was aware from website reviews that it is a popular and often crowded place so this did not surprise me. The food was good. Room service breakfast food was good, ample and the delivery was fast. The hotel staff I interacted with was very helpful. Now for the rest of the story... Upon my arrival, I was given a room that was small, small, small, and in a smoking area despite my reservation request and my Marriott profile. I have severe allergies to smoke and the hall was blue with smoke from another room. I immediately called the front desk and they immediately reassigned me to another small room, this time with no adjacent smokers. When I asked to pay for an upgrade, I was told they were sold out. Thank goodness I didn't stay there longer than a day. It would have been intolerable. I have no idea what the other rooms in the hotel are like but I would not return to this hotel unless I was able to get a larger room with a guarantee of non smoking.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler4971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

Dear worldtraveler4971

Many thanks for your feedback that you provided us with via TripAdvisor website.

All the comments by our Guests are taken very seriously by our senior management and allow us to constantly to improve the standard of service we provide here at The Shelbourne.

Yet, I do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused and therefore wish to ask you to contact me directly for any future reservations and I will be more than delighted to offer my personal assistance in making arrangements.


Once again thank you for taking the time and sharing your thoughts with us.

Wishing you a good weekend.

With kind regards,

Maria Sierpowska-Harborth

MARIA SIERPOWSKA-HARBORTH | GUEST RELATIONS TEAM LEADER
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@reinaissancehotels.com
THE SHELBOURNE DUBLIN, A RENAISSANCE HOTEL | 27 St Stephen’s Green | Dublin 2 | Ireland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This hotel seems to be all about the reception rooms and joe bloggs off the street than guests.

Reception is out teh back of the hotel.
Executive lounge is not disappointing but a joke, from being impossible to find to be poorly equipt, staffed and drinks are not complimentary!! Never seen that before.
You need bread crumbs to find your rooms its such a maze.
My newspaper arrived while I was out (Left the room at 1100and came back at 1600)

Stay at the Merrion or Westin and have a drink in the shelbourne where there priority seems to lie!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaiJai30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2011

Dear JaiJai30

Greetings from The Shelbourne Hotel.

I am saddened that you had such a disappointing experience in our Hotel. I am aware that we cannot reverse it now, but maybe you wish to contact me directly so that we can discuss the issues you have raised in your review in detail.

We do value your feedback as it allows us to instantly address the matters our Guest bring to our attention, and the same constantly improve the standard of service we provide here at The Shelbourne.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share this with us.

Please do contact me directly for any future reservations and I will be more than delighted to offer my personal assistance in making arrangements.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Shelbourne hotel.


Have a great weekend!

With kind regards

Maria Sierpowska-Harborth

MARIA SIERPOWSKA-HARBORTH | GUEST RELATIONS TEAM LEADER
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@reinaissancehotels.com
THE SHELBOURNE DUBLIN, A RENAISSANCE HOTEL | 27 St Stephen’s Green | Dublin 2 | Ireland
t: 353.1.663.4500 f: 353.1 661 6006

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

This is a great hotel in the best location.
The service, food, atmosphere, cleanliness and decor are perfect.
Some of the rooms are quite small so do ask for a larger room!

If you dont know Dublin and you are visiting then rest assured that this hotel is in walking distance to EVERYTHING you want to see (the tour buses to the Guinness Brewery are 5 mins walk away) & the best shopping in Dublin.

Parking would be expensive so rent a car AFTER your visit to Dublin if you are taking other parts of Ireland or pick it up from the city centre as you depart.

The 'aircoach' to/from the airport stops outside the door. It costs about €12 return so be sure to take that.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small so ask for larger!
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptime2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2011

Dear ElayneL

Greetings from The Shelbourne.

Many thanks for this fantastic review of our Hotel that you posted on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. It is great that you found "The service, food, atmosphere, cleanliness and decor", to use your own wording, "perfect".

I will definitely make sure that your kind comments reach our Shelbourne Team!

Have a great weekend!

Many thanks once again!

Please do contact me directly for any future reservations and I will be more than delighted to offer my personal assistance in making arrangements.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Shelbourne hotel.


Have a great weekend!

With kind regards

Maria Sierpowska-Harborth

MARIA SIERPOWSKA-HARBORTH | GUEST RELATIONS TEAM LEADER
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@reinaissancehotels.com
THE SHELBOURNE DUBLIN, A RENAISSANCE HOTEL | 27 St Stephen’s Green | Dublin 2 | Ireland
t: 353.1.663.4500 f: 353.1 661 6006

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The grand hotel overlooking St. Stephen's Green is a perfect spot to take in this great city. Everything is within walking distance and the Shelbourne provides the right amount of papering and prestige for its guests. Renaissance style rooms with all the usual ammenities, comfy beds and quiet surroundings. Opulant public spaces, lounge for afternoon tea and attentive staff to address your needs. You're close to shops on Grafton Street, restaurants on Dawson Street and an easy walk to Dublin Castle, St. Patricks and the Liffey River sites. You too can call this historic landmark home during your stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCO-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Dear MCO-Traveller

I was reading through our guest feedbacks this morning and I wanted to write you a quick note to thank you for your recent stay at The Shelbourne and this fantastic review of our Hotel, which you posted on the TripAdvisor!

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and we managed to make your stay truly pleasurable. Indeedd, the Hotel could not be any more central located and I am glad you were able to take advantage of what Dublin has to offer. Also, I am delighted that you complimented on our Staff. I will make sure that your kind comment reaches them.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share this with us.

Please do contact me directly for any future reservations and I will be more than delighted to offer my personal assistance in making arrangements.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Shelbourne hotel.


Have a great weekend!

With kind regards

Maria Sierpowska-Harborth

MARIA SIERPOWSKA-HARBORTH | GUEST RELATIONS TEAM LEADER
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@reinaissancehotels.com
THE SHELBOURNE DUBLIN, A RENAISSANCE HOTEL | 27 St Stephen’s Green | Dublin 2 | Ireland
t: 353.1.663.4500 f: 353.1 661 6006

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Located in the viby part of Dublin, the Shelbourne offers a great experience. Although arriving at a very busy time (Queen Elizabeth visiting, UEFA finals and Obama to arrive over the weekend in Dublin) and the hotel abuzz, there were no queues at reception. Staff is friendly , personable and very helpful. The rooms are classic but well equiped. Overall great value for money and certainly one of my best stays this year - if not the best. There is a great bar/lunch room downstairs, and many nice resturants in the vincinity. I really recommend this one.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CeesF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2011

Deas CeesF

I was reading through our guest feedbacks this morning and I wanted to write you a quick note to thank you for your recent stay at The Shelbourne and this fantastic review of our Hotel, which you posted on the TripAdvisor!

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us, and we managed to make your stay truly memorable! Our Director of Operations had already passed these kind comments onto our Team. I am especially pleased that you were so happy with the service provided by our Team!

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share this with us.

Please do contact me directly for any future reservations and I will be more than delighted to offer my personal assistance in making arrangements.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Shelbourne hotel.


Have a great weekend!

With kind regards

Maria Sierpowska-Harborth

MARIA SIERPOWSKA-HARBORTH | GUEST RELATIONS TEAM LEADER
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@reinaissancehotels.com
THE SHELBOURNE DUBLIN, A RENAISSANCE HOTEL | 27 St Stephen’s Green | Dublin 2 | Ireland
t: 353.1.663.4500 f: 353.1 661 6006

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews