We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This hotel ticks all the boxes; location, luxury and service. The standard rooms are superbly comfortable. Buffet breakfast is freshly cooked and has a vast selection of food. The bars are stylish and always buzzing. Staff are extremely helpful and most pleasant. Search around for best deals, as prices can vary quite a bit.

Room Tip: Even if your booking is made through an on-line company, you can still ring the hotel and ask to spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LuckyLeprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,208 - 3,214 of 3,819 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We recently spent one night at the Shelbourne, then returned for another three nights at the end of our trip. First stay was okay. Room was small but we had a pretty good view. We commented that we would prefer a larger room upon our return, and indeed were given a much larger room with a similar view. The only fault with the room was the fact that it was on the top floor (8) of the back section of the hotel and it was located just under the elevator equipment room. Although we adjusted to it, there was a bit of a noise that some might find distracting.
I agree with the many reviews that this is definitely not a five star hotel. It is an extremely busy hotel and while the rooms are very quiet, the lobby and other first floor areas are full of people and activity. Its quite the happening place and hosts a number of weddings and other events. If you are looking for a hotel with a subdued atmosphere, go elsewhere.
In spite of the drawbacks, we would stay here again. We felt that the room rate was very fair and that the staff was excellent. Maid service wasn't consistent insofar as we didn't always receive evening turn-down service or replenishment of amenities used.

Room Tip: Ask for view of St. Stephens Green on an upper floor either in the front or back section of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelbug35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here on vacation and the hotel was very nice. Because I am gold status with Marriott we also received free breakfast each morning which was very nice and saved us a lot of money. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful.

The only complaint is that the floors were uneven so walking down the hallways felt a little like you were in a fun house!

The rooms were very nice and clean and big especially for Europe.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staci0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here for a friend's wedding. What we liked most was the treatment you receive from the staff. Everything is "certainly sir", "right away, madam" and the roo
S were really lovely. One complaint however. When we came down for dinner in the morning, there was a queue for breakfast in the lobby. Although it moved quite quickly and the staff were apologetic, we thought it was a bit unsuitable for a hotel of this kind to not have sufficient space for all its residents. The breakfast was delicious however

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Loved Dublin and the people were unbelievably friendly. (I know that sounds trite but it's really true. We had to limit our conversations with people because they'd have kept talking to us for hours.) Stayed at the Shelbourne a couple of nights in July and even though the outside temperature was mid-60s our room was sweltering. They did come to fix the air-conditioning as soon as we called but it was never as cool as we'd have liked. It didn't help that the room was the size of a shoebox and looked out over a rooftop. We've stayed in many European hotels and I think this was the smallest room ever. That being said, the fittings in the room were lovely and the bathroom was elegant, but I think I've been in airplane bathrooms that were bigger. The public rooms are beautiful and the staff were very helpful. When the bar was full (it's extremely popular with young professionals from the area) the staff found me a table across the lobby and brought me a drink and dinner. High tea in the lobby area was lovely and the location in Dublin can't be beat. Lots of great restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonRoseFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Went for drinks last Friday 9.9.11 to celebrate my Mother's 80th Birthday. Bars full. Asked Duty manager if we could sit in Resident's Lounge. He escorted us in and Waitresses were very friendly and warm. Thank you for making my mother's birthday so special. After a while the waitress arrived with a platter of petit fours with candles and sang Happy Birthday to her. It was amazing and she was delighted. Thank you to everyone on duty last Friday night!.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Celine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Shelbourne Hotel is the height of luxury! The place is beautiful. Service is impeccable. Every amenity is available. The daily breakfast for a very reasonable addition is terrific with a variety of choices at the hot buffet, and terrific cold dishes including European cheeses are a welcome start. The tea room is well known throughout Dublin and worth a visit. The buffet lounge is also terrific for a short relaxation or snack in the afternoon or evening. In the future, my first choice hotel in Dublin would always be the Shelbourne, and, of course with a park view!

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank HiPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,483 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,098 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
620 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £202 - £927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing