We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

An amazing place, definitely 5 star. We stayed here as a party of 5. The service, ambience the surroundings. Everything was fab. Their attention to detail is second to none. Most definitely the place to stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your experience. It was a pleasure to have you and your colleagues with us here at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to read that you found all to your satisfaction.

Thank you for rating is so highly and for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.
I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,406
    692
    314
    131
    64
See reviews for
736
1,589
119
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I would give the Shelbourne more than five stars if possible. We arrived at the Shelbourne late morning. We didn't expect our room to be ready but wanted to drop off our luggage so we could go sight seeing. While my husband was checking in I waited nearby with our luggage. A woman working at the reception desk brought me a glass of lemonade while I waited. It was just what I needed! Mirta checked us into our room. She suggested a place nearby on Grafton Street for lunch, Bewley's. It was perfect. I ate there twice during our three day stay. Throughout our stay whenever we ran into Mirta she inquired about our stay and was very helpful. I got the impression that she genuinely cared about our stay at the Shelbourne. Everyone working at the hotel was so friendly. We were upgraded to a suite that was beautiful. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was huge. Breakfast was good with many options to choose from. The hotel is located close to many attractions. The Museum of Archeology is right around the corner and worth a visit. I hope to return to Dublin soon and would not think of staying anywhere other than the Shelbourne.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It is a pleasure to read of how you enjoyed your stay from the lemonade on check-in to the service you received from Mirta. Mirta will be delighted to hear that you appreciated her service. The location of the hotel allows all our guests to be at the heart of the city and within walking distance to a lot of local attractions.

Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful old building in the heart of Dublin. Friendly professional service, really comfortable bed and a great nights sleep. One minor irritation was a bartender who was less than pleasant or helpful but overall this is gem and worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay overall and that you found the beds especially comfortable. I will be following up with the experience you had in our bar. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for providing me with this feedback.

Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin, I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Beach, Alabama, USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A great nights sleep was the best. The bed was so comfortable, you did not want to get up. Great hotel restaurant, and the bar was so nice. It seems to be quite the place to be. The flower arrangements were beautiful. It is a old hotel, but, has been kept up very nicely. All the amenities were excellent. Was a pleasant surprise and a wonderful staff. Location was an added bonus!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It was a pleasure to read how you enjoyed the comfortable beds. I will pass your kind comments about the floral arrangements to our in house florist. She will be thrilled that you enjoyed them.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I pre-requested foam pillows and a high floor (also requested early check-in if possible as I was arriving around noon). Upon check-in at noon, was told that no rooms were available - so they stored my luggage and I toured the city. Returning back to the hotel at 4:00 to get the keys to the room, it appeared that I had never stopped to check-in prior....nothing was ready, first disappointment. I was then told there isn't an executive lounge, but I would get breakfast and drink coupons (in my experience this doesn't equate to having access to an executive lounge and I would have thought a 5-star hotel in the Marriott chain would have this feature and no drink coupons were ready for me at check-in...we will bring them up later). The room was on the 4th (out of 8 floors) not exactly high, but it didn't really matter - as the room overlooked a building / alleyway nothing to see. Feather pillows were on the bed (my wife is extremely allergic to feathers) so off to the front-desk - so my 2 requests made ahead of my stay were not met (already at the never stay again and I haven't even unpacked my bags). The room was a typical Marriott room, nothing of the "splendor" that I had read in previous reviews. The next issue I had upon returning to my room after re-requesting the foam pillows - the key already didn't work in the door...back to the front desk.

Bad experience and only on the property 10 minutes.

This morning no paper delivered.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBZV12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was disappointed to read about your stay and that we failed to meet your expectation. Please be assured that this is not our usual 5 star standard. I would like to sincerely apologise for the issues that you and your partner experienced.

I will be personally reviewing the systems that we have in place to see how we can improve from this feedback. Thank you for taking the time to speak with my colleague before your departure about the experience. We are sincerely grateful that you allowed us the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel.

Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me. My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com.

I would like to thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel and should you decide to return to Dublin. I would be delighted to be your point of contact and to ensure that you experience a stay of memorable luxury that proves this is not our usual standard.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

First off, don't be put back by the crowd upon entering the lobby. The Shelbourne has two great lobby bars and the locals are here enjoying the premises. Very helpful staff at reception. My room was really nice, well decorated with high ceilings and proper trim. Furniture was in good condition. This is a Marriott property and hence, had a fantastically comfortable bed. Bathroom was spacious and spotlessly clean. I would rate this property as one of the finest hotels in Dublin. A must stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay immensely and we are honoured that you rate us so highly. Our bars can be quite popular and between the Horseshoe bar and The No.27 Bar there is room for all.

Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin’s most distinguished address.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I am heading to the Shelbourne next week for a special, though quick, trip with my sister, who has never been to Dublin. I specifically picked The Shelbourne because I wanted her to have an exceptional experience from start to finish on what will be just a long weekend trip.

I reached out to JD Flynn to arrange for something special ahead of time as well as to ask for suggestions on great, "non tourist" restaurants. This was well in advance of the trip and JD responded to me immediately and made some great suggestions in addition to handling my special request. He really got it that I wanted to make this a special trip.

I travel a great deal for business and this level of responsiveness is not the norm - especially for such a short trip. To have someone address my requests immediately and make me feel like this would be the exceptional trip I really want it to be for my sister just assures me I made the right choice in picking The Shelbourne.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentTraveler1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The team and I are looking forward to your stay. We are especially looking forward to making this a special trip for you and your sister.

If there is anything my team or I can do in advance please do not hesitate to contact me by email as we would be delighted to assist further.

Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,494 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing