We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Drury Court Hotel(Dublin)
US$346
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sandymount Hotel(Dublin)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cassidys Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sheldon Park Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,985)
Filter reviews
3,985 results
Traveller rating
2,665
758
345
145
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,665
758
345
145
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaddle roomlord mayor's loungeheritage roomirish constitutionbeautiful hotelfive star hotelst stephensmain bargrafton streetturn down servicetrinity collegetemple barmarriottconciergeirelanddoormanluxury
Filter
Updating list...
2,451 - 2,456 of 3,985 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We recently stayed overnight on our NYE trip into one of there premium deluxe room on second floor. There were a little bit queuing upon arrival as the hotel was fully booked around Christmas period. Crowds always spoil the charm of a place especially it come to a hotel which we expect luxury and discretion like the Shelbourne !

The hotel is nicely located in front of st. Stephen's park right in the heart of Dublin with everything reachable by foot. There were also nice decoration for Christmas, and a little museum room with old guest registry and some souvenir to remind the glorious past of history !

The staff was very welcoming and helpful. At check-in the receptionist advise us we had a very nice room which we indeed had by its enormous size but yet so empty with a view on the back yard + I think they should consider re-designing a new layout to smartly use the space along with some furniture update (ESPECIALLY THE BEDDINGS!!!) to give a personality to the room and to make it more cosy and welcoming to the guest, then we can call it a very nice room.

The bathroom was also huge with separate toilets and marbles everywhere which was nice.

We haven't had time to test the tea room and the bar, we only had breakfast in the saddle room the next morning which was excellent I would say. There were plenty of choice and and the staff was very attentive and welcoming. But we were the first guest around 7am so I can't say if it's stays the same when the breakfast room is crowded with the refuel and other details like that ...

The fitness and indoor pool area was very appreciable after a long day walk.

As conclusion I would say we have had an very enjoyable short stay and would consider this hotel as a good choice for our next stop over in Dublin. Apart from some critics, overall was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. We were delighted to have you on your New Years Eve Trip. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location, the decorations and the museum. I was disappointed to read that we did not fully meet your expectations during the stay.

I hope you will allow us another opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel and its brand. I recommend on your next stay to book a Heritage Park View room so that you may enjoy the view of St. Stephens Green.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Visited with the teenager kids for a few days in January. Excellent hotel, superb breakfast. The rooms are a bit small, but the service is great, the building is beautiful and it has the best of locations. The Saddle Room restaurant is excellent. great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atescov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your fantastic feedback.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us, and we managed to make your stay truly memorable! I am especially pleased that you were so happy with the service provided by our Team and our amazing location so close to St Stephens Green and Grafton Street.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share this with us.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the Shelbourne hotel.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

After a long flight it was a pleasure to find what we expected warm friendly staff, beautifully appointed room and comfortable bed, not to mention a great bar for a relaxing drink, at the horse shoe bar.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teded001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. I am pleased that you found our beds comfortable, and that you would highly reccommend our Horseshoe bar.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Came to a family wedding and stayed three nights. Great location and service as expected in a 5 * establishment. Efficiently run and staff well trained. Room was OK but a little small . Personally I did not like the feelings generated by everywhere being so busy - reception areas and breakfast. Presumably good for business to be so full. Nothing to compare it with and nothing to complain about. Just a City centre hotel which gets really busy.

Room Tip: Some rooms are small so ask if this matters
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. We have many different types of rooms to choose from should you wish for a larger size room. I would highly recommend the Heritage Park View rooms or our Heritage Suites which are named after our famous past residents.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed overnight on a recent business trip. The ground floor is beautifully done and had been nicely decorated for Christmas (with a working train set by reception). The room was decent, hampered by the bathroom which needed a little updating but everything else was fine. Considering the room price I thought the hotel was excellent value. I slept very soundly with no noises or disturbances.

Breakfast was excellent with good variety and choice. Staff were very friendly and professional. The hotel location was fantastic and allowed us to walk to nearby restaurants and pubs (I would recommend O'Donoghue's just down the road for a good pint of Guinness).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirAttilaMeridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel. It was our pleasure to host you during your trip to Dublin.

Katie our Pastry designed and built our 'Shelbourne Express' display which we are extremly proud of and hope to continue again this year. All of our rooms are designed to enable our guests to get a good nights rest and I am pleased you were able to do so on this stay.

Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on you recent trip. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews