We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #18 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We went to the Shelbourne for a breakfast twice.
I always tooked the "Shelbourne eggs benedict" and i totally recommend it, they taste amazing and you will be full for the whole day.

The only bad point, was the orange juice which was not good at all the second time i went there.
However, the service and the place are great.

I totally recommend it for a great breakfast in a cosy place.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SerranoJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I was delighted to note that you very much enjoyed your stay and that you found the eggs benedict to your satisfaction. Our chefs will be delighted to read that the eggs benedict had your day off to a great start.

I will certainly pass along your feedback regarding the issue you have mentioned and conduct an investigation. I am glad to see that it did not mar your stay too greatly.

Should you need assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.
My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,276
    666
    299
    126
    63
See reviews for
689
1,520
108
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

The Shelbourne is Dublin's premier landmark hotel. No other hotel in the city has such a weight of history behind it and the ambience of the place evokes prestige and nostalgia. This alone makes a stay here worthwhile and memorable. The location is superb, opening onto St. Stephen's Green, Dublin city centres leafy urban escape. The bars and restaurants are excellent and you pay for excellence. The gym is state of the art and no gym bunny need compromise their workout for a lack of equipment or space here. My room was beautifully appointed. However the tv was substandard and the in-room entertainment was not what I would expect from 5-star. The bathroom was nice but paint was peeling from around the door frame. Please note these are minor gripes and did not take away from what was a great stay in a fabulous "old world" hotel unique to Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldoc888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read your comments about your stay. Thank you also for providing me with valuable feedback on the items you have mentioned. I will be investigating these items and rectifying them as well.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location and our Health Club. Should you need assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed for 3nights on a very busy rugby weekend the staff were brilliant.i would like like to thank James and all the resturant/kitchen staff for there handling of the night on Saturday.would highly reccomend the hotel and resturant to all.will return as soon as possible.once again thank you.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. It gives me great pleasure to read of your experience and that you enjoyed the service that James Sheridan provided over your stay.

I will pass your kind words along to him. Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My company booked a conference at the Shelbourne. The place is absolutely fantastic and highly recommended. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was the best I have ever stayed in.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin.

Your feedback is extremely valuable and we truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

It was great to hear that you liked your room, here we pride ourselves on our comfortable beds and luxourious bathrooms to ensure you feel The Shelbourne is your home away from home.

We will look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to The Shelbourne in the future.

Sincerely,

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here in December 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it, We had a fabulous meal in the restaurant and even tho we should have booked a table as it very busy, ( Christmas diners) it was no trouble to accommodate us. On arrival to our room we had an issue with the electrics ( we had none) but we were moved and upgraded for our inconvenience. The new room was beautiful over looking the Stephens green park. The hotel itself is old world and just beautiful. I would recommend This hotel to anyone and hope to come back again in June ! It's central location is superb and the staff were lovely so down to earth and full of chat, overall the service they gave us was over and above what anyone would expect.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ingobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel. We are delighted that your stay with the Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

I am pleased that we were able to accommodate a lovely upgraded room for you following the lack of electricity in your room.

The team and I are already looking forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne in June and it would be my pleasure to personally take care of any furture reservations for you should you need any assistance.

Sincerely,

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We arrived at The Shelbourne on a very hectic Sunday afternoon (the hotel was busy and hosting the Irish Rugby Team) and yet the reception from all of the staff was very warm, friendly and personable. The grandeur of the hotel was very impressive and our room and bathroom were sumptuous. While we did not have time to avail ourselves of the restaurants at the hotel (we were at the game and some of the lovely old pubs in between) breakfast was a veritable feast and easily catered for every taste. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough and while a little exorbitant, we are looking forward to treating ourselves again in the not too distant future. Can't wait.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write your fantastic comments about your recent stay with us. We are delighted that your stay with the Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like assistance with future reservations.

Sincerely,

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Wonderful hotel with attentive staff and beautifully appointed rooms. On a Friday night the lounge had a nice vibe with great food and drinks. Finding our room from the elevator was a little tricky - 2 or 3 steps up to our wing - but that is the charm of an old, historic hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel if you're visiting Dublin for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biztravel136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. We were delighted to have you with us over your trip. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience in The Lord Mayors Lounge also.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel for your latest trip to Dublin and for recommending us to future guests. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,697 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing