We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had an excellent overnight stay in the Shelbourne. From the first step into the hotel foyer, the staff were very attentive and pay attention to every detail. We received a complimentary room upgrade and it was a beautiful, sumptuous space. The breakfast the following morning was excellent. The pool and spa area are new and very well laid out. It is so worth staying in the Shelbourne from every point of view - I look forward to going back again in the future

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and also the breakfast the next morning.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to away. I Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,313 - 2,319 of 3,897 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We recently had an overnight stay in the Shelbourne,as a birthday treat. The minute we arrived the staff came out and helped us unpack our car, then they took it away to be parked. There is a charge of 25 euro for this service but it's well worth it. The staff in the reception area were very friendly. We were offered home baked cookies and fresh lemonade on arrival. In fact the receptionist wrapped some cookies up for us to take to our room to have with a cuppa. We spent some time in the small museum in the lobby. It was very interesting as the hotel has a lot of history. It's in a perfect location, right in the centre of things, and overlooking St. Stephens Green. My only slight gripe was that our breakfast was a little cool, due I think to the air conditioning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay. It gave me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed the cookies and that your experience of the museum left you with a sense of the history behind the hotel.

Thank you for choosingThe Shelbourne Hotel on your recent visit. I look forward greatly to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A five-star hotel located in central downtown Dublin. Extremely friendly and courteous staff, comfortable rooms with fine amenities. If you are arriving from the US most likely you will arrive in Dublin in mid-morning and extremely tired. You may want to contact the hotel in advance to arrange a room being readily available. We had to wait over two hours for a room which was understandable. They were kind enough to offer us a complimentary breakfast for two. The pancakes were the best I've ever indulged! This hotel is over 150 years old yet is updated offering all of today's modern conveniences. This picturesque hotel was used in several movies. Traveling the city and seeing other accommodations I would rate this one of the best and recommend it to anyone traveling to Dublin. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front overlook a major city street. To avoid street noises stay in a room facing e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to read that you thouroghly enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the mix between our 190 year old hotel and the modern conventions offered.Our chefs will be enamoured that you enjoyed their produce also.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

What a beautiful hotel. It's well run, staff are helpful and friendly. The decor is marvelous, including the lovely marble lobby, the fantastic bar and restaurant areas, and the modern rooms. The location in the heart of Dublin cannot be beat. This is truly a world-class hotel in one of the most wonderful cities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure to host you for your visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just returned after a romantic break in this stunning hotel. From entering the hotel with the courteous staff in the foyer to the busy reception staff we could not have been treated fbetter. We arrived at around 4pm and the foyer was really busy with people checking in but this was dealt with as quickly as possible with trays of fresh juice being brought round to those who were waiting in the queue to check in. We then went off to our room which again lived up to our expectations. It wasn't huge but it was very tastefully decorated and had the most comfortable bed I have slept in in any hotel I have stayed in. We dined in the The Saddle Room restaurant and enjoyed fine dining with efficient, friendly service. The breakfast was also served in the Saddle Room restaurant and the choice and quality of the food was again faultless. Really enjoyed this break, unfortunately it was only for one night but will definitely be looking for a return trip.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank scorpionewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read of your stay and that enjoyed your experience with us. It was a pleasure to host you for your break away and I was also delighted that you enjoyed the fresh lemonade and cookies on check in.

Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing The Shelbourne hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kinds regards,

JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here for a Valentine's Day surprise with my husband. The room was fantastic, the atmosphere is wonderful. I had a fantastic 1hr massage in the spa. We went down for dinner and to be honest I was very disappointed with the service. The food was nice however the waiting staff were all over the place, there didn't seem to be a cohesive system in place. We were left quite a while to order our food, had to ask for bread and then I counted ten times that a member of the waiting staff walked by our table once our dinner was finished (knives and forks arranged accordingly) before I asked to speak to a manager and finally the plates were taken away. The manager said that "they were under pressure" but I really felt that was not good enough given the large number of tables and it being Valentines' night. The manager came over a few minutes later to offer a free glass of wine and assured that all would be ok after that. However after finishing dessert, still left sitting around for a long time and eventually got sick of waiting for the bill to be brought over to the table so we left as we knew it would arrive on our bill. No rose like the rest of the diners! :( Rest of stay was lovely, romantic rose petals on our bed and a lovely breakfast. Great valet service, lovely staff in spa, reception, cleaners etc. A little disappointed because it really wasn't cheap. Skip the restaurant and go to Town or The Cliff Townhouse instead.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyLuDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was disappointed to read of your experience and that we did not fully meet your expectations during your stay.
I will be speaking with the Restaurant manager regarding your feedback but would love to discuss your experience further and would urge you to contact me by email at your earliest convenience.

This would allow us to improve on the service we offer and ensure going forward that you enjoy every moment with us. My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Good service when we arrived nice and friendly the staff were and first meal was lovely and we felt welcomed here and it is my first time in ireland and it doesn't feel if I am in another country and the room is comfortable and Dublin is a wonderful city

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank 11Hotspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel with us. Our team will be delighted to read that you enjoyed their friendly service.

Thank you again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 152 in Dublin
3,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 152 in Dublin
4,183 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#7 of 152 in Dublin
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £155 - £1,180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing