We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, fab history” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #18 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel, fab history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The hotel rooms themselves are pleasant but unspectacular for a hotel costing this much - you'll find better rooms in thethe Fitzwilliam just the other side of the square (or the Four Seasons in Ballsbridge).

However, the lobby area, restaurant and bar ooze class, history and character. It's worth staying here for that.

Location is obviously fantastic - right off Stephen's Green within a couple of minutes to Grafton Street's shops and restaurants. Temple Bar is a short walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreykw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you also enjoyed the location.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel Dublin.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,273
    665
    299
    126
    63
See reviews for
689
1,517
108
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the night of 8th March's with my wife as a special birthday treat. Understandable that it was the same night as as the Irish rugby game and Beyoncé being in town so the hotel was full. Service was very professional and friendly at check in. Had diner in the saddle room, part of the hotel : very good food and service. Room was only satisfactory unfortunately having a few minor problems. Breakfast was very disappointing. Served very weak coffee at first, though soon replaced with proper coffee only after commenting to staff : should not have too in a hotel of this class. Breakfast was a buffet and food quite poor in comparison to the other many Mar riot hotels that I have stayed In. In summary not a bad hotel, but came away disappointed that we did not have any wow factor during our stay from the hotel. d

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay and that we missed the opportunity to wow you during your stay. I would be delighted to discuss this opportunity with you further should you wish. Please email me at rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com.

I was delighted however to read that you enjoyed the service and food in The Saddle Room Restaurant. Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed one evening at the Shelbourne in Dublin- last night of a weeks vacation in Ireland.
What I found was a luxurious, top of the line hotel with efficient, friendly service. We had drinks in the bar and dinner in the Saddle Room- our choices included oysters, fish, and accompanying vegetables - every single thing we ate was delicious and service was perfect. An expensive hotel
But worth every dime! We had to leave before breakfast...

Room Tip: Hotel will accommodate special requests without problems. Room on 2nd floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayL5534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent comments, regarding your stay with us. I am so pleased that we were able to end your holidays on a high.

I have passed your comments to our Restaurant Manager, James who was delighted to hear the outstanding comments from your experience in our Saddle Room Restaurant.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Shelbourne Hotel in the near future. . It would be my pleasure to personally take care of any future bookings you may require. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here for a night out on the town to celebrate an occasion.....great service from the moment we pulled up outside, door staff emptied all our luggage and took car off to be parked (min of fuss). Reception staff could not have been nicer, very efficient. We were taken to our room.......great room overlooking the green, some nice touches and they had noted our reason for over-nighting. While we didn't take dinner at the hotel, breakfast was excellent, so much choice. Overall this is a great old world Dublin hotel which hasn't lost any of its charm, its maintaned is top condition giving the feeling of stepping back in time. Attention to detail is perfect and all of the staff could not have been more helpful, friendly and efficient. Whomever heads up the hotels customer services/staff training certainly knows what they are about!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the green..........its well worth the extra few bob!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reg997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, regarding your recent stay with us.

The team at The Shelbourne Hotel, pride ourselves on the Five Star service which starts from the very moment you arrive at the front doors to the hotel.

I am so pleased that you liked your room overlooking St Stephens Green and were able to enjoy our extensive Full Irish Buffet breakfast.

Your outstanding comments will be passed to the whole team and hope that on your next trip to Dublin, The Shelbourne hotel will be your first choice.

It would be a pleasure to take care of any future bookings you may require, please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great location, beautiful hotel, nice room and bathroom. All the staff were very helpful and kind. The breakfast included deal was worth it and the dining area was classy. Transportation to the hotel from the airport was easy by bus (cheaper than taxi). Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metravel4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin.

The team will be delighted to hear the nice comments regarding your room and breakfast experiences. I am pleased that the hotel was ideally located for you to travel to the airport and to see many of the cities beautiful attractions.

I hope that on your next visit to Dublin, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel. It would be my pleasure to personally take care of any future bookings you may require. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Shelbourne is located right in central Dublin, so you can easily get out and about on foot to many of the most popular sights and attractions, which is lovely.

I really appreciated how effective the staff was - they were gracious and attentive, without being overbearing. The breakfast in the hotel was fine, and the rooms were larger than many in Europe, with comfortable beds and nice baths.

I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junior_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin.

The Shelbourne Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Dublin alongside St Stephens Green and many of the city's most popular venues. I am so pleased that you able to get a good night’s rest enjoy the good breakfast we had to offer.
The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne in the near future and would be delighted to assist you with any future bookings you may have. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great location. Great service (1. although there were no loungers at the pool, the staff let us sleep on mats in the empty exercise room until our room was ready...2. The hostess actually sharpened my eye pencil when it broke). Plentiful but tasteless food for breakfast ( stick to the smoothies and the croissants. Long, shallow, clean pool. Unfortunately small inside room with a view of a tiny dark inside courtyard---just windows, no garden---perhaps rooms with a view cost more?. The room was not cleaned because the cleaner came in the late afternoon when we were napping.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, and check the room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the feedback provided. I am glad to read that our team could be of assistance to you during your stay. I would recommend on the next stay to book a Heritage Parkview room. I will note this on your preferences for any of your future stays.

Thank you for choosing the Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. It was our pleasure to host you. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,688 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing