We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dunstable, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My sister (who lives in Canada) and I met in Dublin to celebrate her special birthday. We didn't stay at the hotel but I pre-booked Afternoon Tea for 6 of us. It was the Best afternoon tea I have ever had (and that includes hotels in London famous for this).
The food was brilliant. We didn't need dinner that night! The service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent afternoon tea experience. I was delighted to read your amazing feedback and that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin, and will look forward to hopefully welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,403
    692
    314
    129
    64
See reviews for
734
1,586
119
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I am a big fan of the Shelbourne so when we booked Afternoon Tea I was very excited. The room itself is really nice and very cosy. I could have listened to the lady playing the piano all day, she was fantastic. Our waitress semmed quite nervous, perhaps it was her first day, sticking her hands inside the lovely little cups just isn't part of the afternoon tea experience. The tea & coffee was. clearing away some of the plates when others were still eating. The sandwiches/scones and pastries were nice. The choc moose in particular really beautiful. The lady gave us a take away box, but placed everything in the same box so they were a little difficult to eat later as everything had spilled. Overall a little disappointed .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emer1234OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Afternoon Tea Experience in The Shelbourne Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read the great comments about your experience and also thank you for your feedback also.

I would ask that proir to your next opportunity to enjoy Afternoon Tea with us, that you contact me directly.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, I will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Sophie Hird, Guest Relatons Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the shelbourne was the most wonderful stay. Never thought there cod be such a beautiful hotel. Room service twice a day, very clean, and the staff were always very pleasant. The Shelbourne was the biggest reason our stay in doublin was so successful. Thanks everyone

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. It was a pleasure to read such great comments about your stay from the team that took care of you, to your room the amenities.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Impeccable service from the moment we stepped out of the taxi. Offered us drinks at the reception while we checked in, carried our bags at any chance, turned down the beds each night with fresh water set out...overall the service was incredible. The rooms were luxurious and the bed extremely comfortable. Enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast. This is a beautiful, very upscale hotel in a great location. Honestly, I can be critical of hotels but I cant find any negative critique to give of this one. Thank you for a lovely stay - I definitely recommend this one to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyssaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, that you enjoyed the Irish Breakfast buffet and got a good nights rest.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on you recent trip to Dublin. The team and I will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough about how wonderful and luxurious the Shelbourne is. We were traveling with a group of 6 and had three rooms. Each one was as luxurious as the other. While this is what I would classify as an old hotel, you would never guess it's age by how much care and upkeep the hotel staff obviously lovingly provides to this hotel. The hotel is exceeded my expectations, which were already high based on recommendations and reviews.

The hotel is in an excellent location. Very easy for tourists to get around. The staff were very helpful with recommendations and suggestions.

I would not hesitate to stay here again and look forward to my next Dublin visit!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations.


Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.
I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My hubby and I stayed here for two nights and although a lovely, old fashioned hotel in a great location, it lacked....something.

Our room was large, bed was massive but with a very soft mattress, which caused ny hubby to get backache. There was no full-length mirror in the room, not even mounted on the internal cupboard doors. The bath mat was adequate, not thick and luxurious like you'd expect for a five-star hotel. Bath towels were great though.

At breakfast in the Saddle Room, the service was distinctly average. We asked for toast and on both mornings, they didn't bring us any butter with it! There were no waiters in sight so my hubby had to get up from the table and look for someone. It may be a small matter but it's the details that make an okay hotel stay into a fantastic one. One of the windows in the dining room was also not closed properly and when we asked one of the service staff to close it, he had no idea how the windows worked!

There is also a lack of space for guests to wait e.g. Once they had checked out of the room and before getting a taxi to the airport. You just get the feeling that they don't want you to hang around.

However, the reception staff were helpful and efficient and they served up yummy freshly made lemonade.

Overall, it was alright. Just not as good as I expected.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sassybowwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was disappointed to note that you did not fully enjoy your stay. I would like to investigate some of the issues you have mentioned. Please email me at your earliest convenience. My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. I look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Had a one night stay at Christmas with family. Love everything about this hotel, the location, the lovely room, the friendly staff and, of course, the amazing breakfast! Hope I get to stay in 2014!! My favourite hotel in Dublin!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel and choosing to return to the hotel at this special time of year. We are honoured to be named your favourite hotel in Dublin.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,121 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,493 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing