We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Shelbourne for the third time in March and it was a great experience. The Oyster Bar is superb the Lounge relaxing with great service and the Saddle Room excellent fare (albeit the door attendants a little unfriendly). The Spa was very restful although the massages need to be firmer. Overall a good place for a weary traveller.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tpy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely feedback from your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I am delighted to read that this was your third stay with us to the hotel. I am so pleased that you have enjoyed our Oyster Bar and Saddle Room Restaurant during your time with us. Likewise we welcome your feedback, and it has also been highlighted to our Spa Manager for future guests in our Spa enjoying a treatment.

The team and are are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne. It would be my pleasure to personally take care of any future reservations for you. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,167 - 2,173 of 3,835 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Everything a tourist could want within the hotel or walking distance. It's in a safe area and the staff was helpful and professional. It's no cheap but so worth it if you want a nice place to stay. This was a girls weekend and the spa was nice as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your great feedback from your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I was delighted to read the excellent comments about our team and that you enjoyed our Health Club and Spa facilities.

I would be my pleasure to personally take care of any future reservations for you. Please feel free to contact me directly. The team and I will look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Really nice restaurant and bar. Room was great with comfy bed. Room service was really efficient. Location is excellent for wandering the city. Staff was very helpful. Great place to stay and to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely feedback from your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I am delighted pass to the whole team your great feedback. I hope that next time you are in Dublin for a vacation we will be your first choice of hotel Please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

great location within 5-10 minutes of many attractions or travel to the attractions made this a great part of the Shelbourne. St. Stephens Green was soooo beautiful with a sunny day and flowers blooming. The staff were friendly. The interiors are being updated as we speak in the guest rooms. Complimentary buffet breakfast was given to us- not sure if this is because we are Marriott Rewards or for all guests. The hotel has a museum that mentions the hotels place in history.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin.

I was so pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the fantastic location of the hotel and St Stephens Green Park.

A full refurbishment of all our rooms is currently taking place and will hopefully be complete by the end of 2014.

I hope that next time you are in Dublin for a vacation we will be your first choice of hotel.

I would be my pleasure to personally take care of any future reservations for you. Please feel free to contact me directly. The team and I will look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

heavy day shopping? Still a couple of notes still in the wallet or purse? Take yourself off to the bar at the Shelbourne and order a drink at the corner bar. Blink as the bill arrives and then enjoy looking at Dublin's finest as they unwind after a hard day. Real money here, folks, and don't you soon know it - take your time, sip your drink (you won't be able to afford another) and take in the craic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the great feedback from your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I am so pleased you enjoyed our No 27 Bar and the atmosphere it has to offer.

I would be my pleasure to personally take care of any future reservations for you. Please feel free to contact me directly. The team and I will look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the Shelbourne. Excellent hotel. Great location, really great hotel design and facilities. Staff very helpful. Definitely 5 start. A bit pricey so worth noting but worth it.
No 27 bar is great and very open , bright. If staying some great bars on Dawson street if not into the standard more hassle of temple bar area. Try out Cafe en Seine. Hotel directly opposite St Stephens Green park.Worth booking the breakfast as part of booking as very expensive otherwise. Hop on/Hop off buses also just across the street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Shelbourne Hotel from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read your amazing feedback and that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I would be my pleasure to personally take care of any future reservations for you. Please feel free to contact me directly. The team and I will look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I did a ton of research before booking this hotel and was so impressed with how true many of these reviews turned out to be. This hotel is worth the price if you are looking for a bit of luxury during your stay. We were able to check in early and found the concierge to be very helpful with booking tours (we didn't book anything before arriving). If your room is not ready earlier, you can use the spa for free to shower. If you are a gold member with Marriott, you will enjoy free breakfast during your stay (€29 otherwise). If you can get a package that includes breakfast, it is well worth it. The hotel is right across a beautiful park and a 10 minute walk from the temple bar area. Also, tons of great restaurants and shopping within 2 blocks. We decided to take air coach to and from the airport which drops/picks up right by the hotel for €7 each way.

Room Tip: Wasn't able to book 2 double beds online, but upon check in, they were available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMJ222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your fantastic feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that we were able to accommodate an early check in for you and that the Concierge team were able to assist you with seeing the beautiful scenery Ireland has to offer.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back, in the near future. I would be my pleasure to personally take care of any future reservations for you. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,491 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,105 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
625 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £205 - £925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing