We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Really beautiful and historic hotel in the city centre. Check in and out was fast and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The pool is a lovely oasis in the city centre and was very quiet and relaxing. We enjoyed a couples massage in the spa, I would totally recommend the spa as it was so relaxing and a great end to our stay. The room itself was pretty small but it had everything we needed.It felt very small as myself and my husband were getting ready to attend a wedding and we both kept getting in each others way. We stayed in a standard double room which over looked a court yard area. Breakfast was included and had something for everyone!

Room Tip: Some standard doubles are quiet small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtravelled09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and that you especially enjoyed the Spa. I would recommend that you try our Heritage class rooms on your next stay.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip and I hope that you both enjoyed the wedding. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,149 - 2,155 of 3,820 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this for a special lady to mark her 70th. The room was elegant and beautiful. The girl looking after us was very inexperienced and it made us nervous. She handled our cups without using the handle etc. She had as much grace as shrek! My tea was cold, thought it was too much milk, poured more but still cold, my two companions sent their coffee back for same reason. Disappointing all round. Lady playing the piano was a nice touch. Then to depart they gave us a box in a bag with unused scones/desserts. When we got home they had all mixed together. Very annoying. It's the little things that make a place stand out. This lacked the finesse of a 5 star hotel. Would recommend westbury for a better afternoon tea experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Hilary1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience in The Lord Mayors Lounge. I was disappointed to read of this. I would ask that you contact the Manager in charge so that we can investigate this in depth. Please email Ivan King at Ivan.king@renaissancehotels.com

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on this trip. We look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed in Shelbourne recently for my granddaughters 16th birthday, from the moment we arrived it was a first class experience. Check in was quick and efficient while still being friendly. The glass of homemade lemonade was a nice touch? the bar staff were excellent as was the food. the rooms were bright and spacious with fantastic views of stephen's green? Breakfast was all you would expect of a Marriott, again served by friendly efficient staff. my only regret is that we didn't have time to use the leisure facilities...next time hopefully. the bathroom was huge and had everything including separate shower and bath tub. Beds very comfortable. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jesolodublin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. I was especially enamoured to see you enjoyed the Health Club and the spacious rooms.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Shelbourne for the third time in March and it was a great experience. The Oyster Bar is superb the Lounge relaxing with great service and the Saddle Room excellent fare (albeit the door attendants a little unfriendly). The Spa was very restful although the massages need to be firmer. Overall a good place for a weary traveller.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tpy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely feedback from your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I am delighted to read that this was your third stay with us to the hotel. I am so pleased that you have enjoyed our Oyster Bar and Saddle Room Restaurant during your time with us. Likewise we welcome your feedback, and it has also been highlighted to our Spa Manager for future guests in our Spa enjoying a treatment.

The team and are are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne. It would be my pleasure to personally take care of any future reservations for you. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Everything a tourist could want within the hotel or walking distance. It's in a safe area and the staff was helpful and professional. It's no cheap but so worth it if you want a nice place to stay. This was a girls weekend and the spa was nice as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your great feedback from your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I was delighted to read the excellent comments about our team and that you enjoyed our Health Club and Spa facilities.

I would be my pleasure to personally take care of any future reservations for you. Please feel free to contact me directly. The team and I will look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Really nice restaurant and bar. Room was great with comfy bed. Room service was really efficient. Location is excellent for wandering the city. Staff was very helpful. Great place to stay and to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely feedback from your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I am delighted pass to the whole team your great feedback. I hope that next time you are in Dublin for a vacation we will be your first choice of hotel Please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

great location within 5-10 minutes of many attractions or travel to the attractions made this a great part of the Shelbourne. St. Stephens Green was soooo beautiful with a sunny day and flowers blooming. The staff were friendly. The interiors are being updated as we speak in the guest rooms. Complimentary buffet breakfast was given to us- not sure if this is because we are Marriott Rewards or for all guests. The hotel has a museum that mentions the hotels place in history.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin.

I was so pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the fantastic location of the hotel and St Stephens Green Park.

A full refurbishment of all our rooms is currently taking place and will hopefully be complete by the end of 2014.

I hope that next time you are in Dublin for a vacation we will be your first choice of hotel.

I would be my pleasure to personally take care of any future reservations for you. Please feel free to contact me directly. The team and I will look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,483 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,099 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
620 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £203 - £928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing