We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable hotel! Marvelous Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #18 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Amelia Island, FL
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Impeccable hotel! Marvelous Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

It truly is a lovely, historic hotel that faces St Stevens Green ---which is just a wonderful city park. The Irish Constitution was written here and it is truly wonderful that Marriott renovated this old beauty. We had and amazing breakfast buffet included in our package. Fresh fruits. cheese, eggs, hash browns, breads and more! The staff here is very friendly and eager to please. The room we had was very spacious and my only suggestion would be to offer up a more comfortable chair. The one we had was decorative but not conducive for settling into with a cup of tea. The hotel centrally located near museums and the Liffey River walk is ten minute walk away. Grafton Street and Temple Bar I are also an easy 5-10 minute walk. Note the four Egyptian statues out front if the hotel!

Room Tip: Room 262 is spacious, quiet and faces an inner courtyard. We never heard the street or any other sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offtheclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Ireland. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to your satisfaction. Thank you for your feedback regarding the chair also.

The location of the hotel is a great advantage to have when staying in Dublin and The Shelbourne Hotel is steeped in history. Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,272
    665
    299
    126
    63
See reviews for
689
1,516
108
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We visited The Shelbourne for brunch in the No 27 Bar on 27 April 2014 and have to say it was the highlight of my birthday weekend in Dublin.

We were made to feel very welcome on arrival despite being slightly early and were invited to take coffee whist we waited. The Shelbourne is a glorious hotel and all of the staff were very helpful, polite and attentive.

The brunch event is obviously very popular and a queue had already formed by the time we moved on from coffee but we were shown to a well appointed, comfortable table. An interestingly varied menu for both food and drinks left us with plenty to contemplate with our final choices being delicious.

However, the star of the show was Cary Posavitz who entertained us all for 3 hours together with his band, The Players. Whilst other guests came and went, we stayed for the entire 3 hours so entertained where we by Cary's beautiful voice, interpretation of the jazz classics and the fantastic accompaniment. As a birthday treat, Cary sang my favourite, 'At Last' and I was mesmerised.

The staff also presented me with birthday macarons which was a lovely surprise.

If you're in Dublin, Sunday brunch here is a must.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne. I was delighted to read of your Jazz Brunch experience. It was also a pleasure to read that you chose No.27 to celebrate your birthday and that our Jazz band played your favourite song.

Our team in the bar will be especially enamoured to read of your appreciation. Thank you for choosing The No.27 bar on your recent outing. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our second stay at the Shelbourne and it doesn't disappoint. A beautifully maintained historic building which reeks of class and luxury. The location on St Stephen's Green is superb, you can cross the road to walk in the serenity of the park, walk to the end of the road and you reach the main shopping drag and it's just a five minute walk to Trinity College and the riverside.
The room was beautifully appointed and the bathroom was spacious (except for the bath which is wide but short!). Staff were all very helpful, from reception (lemonade was a lovely touch and very refreshing) to concierge to waiting staff. nothing was too much trouble. We were over to watch a GAA football match so were dressed accordingly but the staff didn't turn a hair. What was disappointing was that the Horseshoe bar was closed (it was a Sunday) which is one of our favourite hotel bars. The other bars are more formal and less cosy.
Drinks were fairly priced for a venue like this (definitely not cheap!) but food was very expensive. Our booking did not include breakfast and it was an extortionate 39 Euros per person so we passed on that and went 50 yards down the road to an artisan café called Hatch and Sons which did a lovely breakfast with orange juice for 11 euros each which we would recommend.
If you can book a package with breakfast it would be well worth doing so. This is a 5 star hotel with 5 star service but the food is at 5 star prices! Having said that it is really worth paying for the rooms and ambiance. We love it and will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HVD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our Accomodation services team will be especially enamoured that you appreciated their hard work.
Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Shelbourne hotel in Dublin and what a treat it was. The service is outstanding, each member of staff being professional and polite. The rooms are beautifully appointed with soft colours ensuring a relaxing environment. The bathroom is a little small with the shower intergrated into the bath. The spa was wonderful, with a beautiful relaxation room overlooking St Stephens Green. We enjoyed the pool faciities also. There is a great variety of places within the hotel to relax and have a drink. The Lord Mayors lounge serves a great supper and is a really nice experience. Breakfast was excellent with wonderful choice, even the porridge is available with milk or water. A truly enjoyable experience. We will certainly return to this great landmark hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you especially appreciated the service provided.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Really beautiful and historic hotel in the city centre. Check in and out was fast and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The pool is a lovely oasis in the city centre and was very quiet and relaxing. We enjoyed a couples massage in the spa, I would totally recommend the spa as it was so relaxing and a great end to our stay. The room itself was pretty small but it had everything we needed.It felt very small as myself and my husband were getting ready to attend a wedding and we both kept getting in each others way. We stayed in a standard double room which over looked a court yard area. Breakfast was included and had something for everyone!

Room Tip: Some standard doubles are quiet small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtravelled09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and that you especially enjoyed the Spa. I would recommend that you try our Heritage class rooms on your next stay.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip and I hope that you both enjoyed the wedding. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this for a special lady to mark her 70th. The room was elegant and beautiful. The girl looking after us was very inexperienced and it made us nervous. She handled our cups without using the handle etc. She had as much grace as shrek! My tea was cold, thought it was too much milk, poured more but still cold, my two companions sent their coffee back for same reason. Disappointing all round. Lady playing the piano was a nice touch. Then to depart they gave us a box in a bag with unused scones/desserts. When we got home they had all mixed together. Very annoying. It's the little things that make a place stand out. This lacked the finesse of a 5 star hotel. Would recommend westbury for a better afternoon tea experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience in The Lord Mayors Lounge. I was disappointed to read of this. I would ask that you contact the Manager in charge so that we can investigate this in depth. Please email Ivan King at Ivan.king@renaissancehotels.com

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on this trip. We look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed in Shelbourne recently for my granddaughters 16th birthday, from the moment we arrived it was a first class experience. Check in was quick and efficient while still being friendly. The glass of homemade lemonade was a nice touch? the bar staff were excellent as was the food. the rooms were bright and spacious with fantastic views of stephen's green? Breakfast was all you would expect of a Marriott, again served by friendly efficient staff. my only regret is that we didn't have time to use the leisure facilities...next time hopefully. the bathroom was huge and had everything including separate shower and bath tub. Beds very comfortable. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesolodublin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. I was especially enamoured to see you enjoyed the Health Club and the spacious rooms.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,030 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,687 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing