We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms small surprise in fridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rooms small surprise in fridge”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here in January this year. The room was clean, but I found someone else's leftover salad in the fridge and it took 3 hours for someone to come and take it away! Go early for breakfast we went down at about 8:30, by the time we were leaving the queue was a mile long. Also there were a lot of tables free in the residents bar but the staff still made us give the room number and stand outside for a few minutes to be seated.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jac95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay and would like to thank you for providing this feedback.
I would be delighted to discuss the feedback mentioned with you directly. Please feel free to contact me directly at your earliest convenience.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,402
    692
    314
    129
    64
See reviews for
733
1,586
119
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and really did not enjoy our stay. The carpet in the room was not clean and it was old dirt that had not been treated for a while. The restaurant is the most fantastic comfortable setting you could find but the food was very poor. We thought that €9.60
for a beefeater gin and tonic was a little too expensive along with €6.50 for a pint or bottle of Heineken. There seemed to be a lot of young single ladies hanging out in the bar.
I am afraid it took 20 minutes to retrieve our car even though we had phoned down for it, and when we returned in two hours to collect our luggage it took half an hour to get same also. Very disappointed with this hotel and I could not recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damian044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay and thank you for providing this feedback. I would be delighted to discuss some of the items you mention at your earliest convenience.

I would be remiss if I did not mention that our bar prices are inline and competitively priced against other local 5star hotels. I regret not having the opportunity to discuss these issues on check out and look forward to hearing from you.

My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The walk to temple bar is only a couple of minutes. the location is great for shopping. The staff at the hotel was very nice and the breakfast was a feast of champions. The best feature of the hotel is the pool. The indoor pool is huge and there is an attached steam room and sauna. Highly recommend diving in. I'm a little upset that they got rid of the executive lounge at the cost of adding a spa.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your stay. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay including our Health Club and Spa area.

The team will be delighted to read your great comments. Thank you again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

To be perfect honest we are rating this hotel lower because of our room. The hotel itself is wonderful. Lovely staff, great bar and restaurants (breakfast is awesome), and beautiful lobby. It is in a great location and once it is renovated I will recommend it to others. Our stay was troubled by multiple issues in our room...the power when out completely, the beds are uncomfortable and our toilet stopped working multiple times. We talked to the staff on three separate occasions to fix our room while we were out exploring. Finally they admitted that the hotel is to be renovated in the next month and our room was on the list.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback from your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read your great comments about breakfast in the Saddle Room, however was disappointed to hear that you had a number of issues in your room and appreciate your feedback. This will enable me to investigate fully to ensure that this does not happen to any of our future guests.

I would ask that you contact me directly, prior your next visit to Dublin, to assist you with a future reservation, and it would be my pleasure to personally ensure a smooth return visit to The Shelbourne Hotel.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive - rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We enjoyed a two night stay in this Victorian hotel, grand in every sense. Our room was very comfortable, if not exciting, though the grout in the bathroom could do with freshening up. Breakfast was excellent in variety, though the dining area was not really well suited to self-service, quite a lot of wandering round required, and the waitress muddled up tea and coffee. It was a shame that our ordered papers did not arrive on either morning - the staff were apologetic. The bar was pleasant, though again, the waiting staff brought the wrong wine. These are minor niggles – there were large parties in the hotel both nights so they were very busy. Best of all was the location, right in the centre of the city, particularly useful as it was raining, as so often in lovely Ireland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and welcome the feedback detailled in your review.

I hope that on your next visit to Dublin, The Shelbourne will be your first choice hotel to return, if i can be of any assistance in the future with reservations, please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive - rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We just stayed 6 days at the shelbourne for vacation and it was lovely. The room was completely updated and gorgeous. The best part of this hotel is the location, its right across the street from a beautiful park called Stephens Green and a great park to run in. Two blocks over from Grafton Street and Temple Bar. The Saddle Room where we had breakfast was great, white table cloth and great service and food! The workout facility is ok, a normal US like hotel gym, but you get your workout from walking everywhere! The bar is crowed everynight with locals so it was nice to people watch!

Room Tip: A very noisy part of Dublin so as for a quite room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you liked our newly refurbished rooms, this is an on going project and all of our rooms will hopefully be completed by the start of 2015.

The location of the hotel is perfect for to enjoy all of what Dublin has to offer and I am pleased that The Shelbourne enabled you to do so.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive - rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is certainly one of the best city hotels we have ever experienced. The location is extremely central so that one can literally walk to anywhere in central Dublin. We never took a taxi, and only once the train to Howth (highly recommended for lovely seaside cliff hiking). Service was extremely efficient and friendly both at reception and in the restaurants. Requested non-allergic non-feather bedding which turned out to not be a problem although the Front Desk manager was not immediately sure if available. The food at both breakfast and in the restaurant were top notch. The French toast must definitely be ordered for breakfast. Everything served with a smile and genuine (non-superficial) friendliness. The bar has tons of character in the evening and is something of a Dublin hot-spot (and pick-up joint which was a lot of fun to observe). The building has lots of old-world charm which has thankfully been preserved in the lobby and restaurant / bar. Nothing to fault here, I would most definitely recommend, especially for a nice Dublin weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. It was such a pleasure to read your great comments about the associates at Reception and at Breakfast and I am delighted to share these with the teams.

I hope that on your next visit to Dublin, The Shelbourne will be your first choice hotel to return, if i can be of any assistance in the future with reservations, please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive - rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,493 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing