We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Top Class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #18 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Rooms are very very clean and elegant. They offer everything you need. The breakfast is healthy and delicious and the service is stupendous. The SPA is amazing, not too big and crowded. It has a very young active/sporty SPA atmosphere. This is how you relax after a strenuous day of cycling/jogging and hiking.We would come again anytime! For everything else, the employees always have an open ear. There are unbelievably friendly and attentive staff! what more could one ask for. Highly recommended! We had a great time. In a nutshell, absolute top class service hotel which is quiet and it's central location makes it the perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Take the rooms facing the stephens greens.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmalvea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was very much pleased to read your wonderful review and I am pleased also to note that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,704)
There are newer reviews for The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,015 - 2,021 of 3,705 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here in January this year. The room was clean, but I found someone else's leftover salad in the fridge and it took 3 hours for someone to come and take it away! Go early for breakfast we went down at about 8:30, by the time we were leaving the queue was a mile long. Also there were a lot of tables free in the residents bar but the staff still made us give the room number and stand outside for a few minutes to be seated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jac95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay and would like to thank you for providing this feedback.
I would be delighted to discuss the feedback mentioned with you directly. Please feel free to contact me directly at your earliest convenience.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and really did not enjoy our stay. The carpet in the room was not clean and it was old dirt that had not been treated for a while. The restaurant is the most fantastic comfortable setting you could find but the food was very poor. We thought that €9.60
for a beefeater gin and tonic was a little too expensive along with €6.50 for a pint or bottle of Heineken. There seemed to be a lot of young single ladies hanging out in the bar.
I am afraid it took 20 minutes to retrieve our car even though we had phoned down for it, and when we returned in two hours to collect our luggage it took half an hour to get same also. Very disappointed with this hotel and I could not recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damian044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay and thank you for providing this feedback. I would be delighted to discuss some of the items you mention at your earliest convenience.

I would be remiss if I did not mention that our bar prices are inline and competitively priced against other local 5star hotels. I regret not having the opportunity to discuss these issues on check out and look forward to hearing from you.

My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The walk to temple bar is only a couple of minutes. the location is great for shopping. The staff at the hotel was very nice and the breakfast was a feast of champions. The best feature of the hotel is the pool. The indoor pool is huge and there is an attached steam room and sauna. Highly recommend diving in. I'm a little upset that they got rid of the executive lounge at the cost of adding a spa.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your stay. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay including our Health Club and Spa area.

The team will be delighted to read your great comments. Thank you again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

To be perfect honest we are rating this hotel lower because of our room. The hotel itself is wonderful. Lovely staff, great bar and restaurants (breakfast is awesome), and beautiful lobby. It is in a great location and once it is renovated I will recommend it to others. Our stay was troubled by multiple issues in our room...the power when out completely, the beds are uncomfortable and our toilet stopped working multiple times. We talked to the staff on three separate occasions to fix our room while we were out exploring. Finally they admitted that the hotel is to be renovated in the next month and our room was on the list.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback from your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read your great comments about breakfast in the Saddle Room, however was disappointed to hear that you had a number of issues in your room and appreciate your feedback. This will enable me to investigate fully to ensure that this does not happen to any of our future guests.

I would ask that you contact me directly, prior your next visit to Dublin, to assist you with a future reservation, and it would be my pleasure to personally ensure a smooth return visit to The Shelbourne Hotel.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive - rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We enjoyed a two night stay in this Victorian hotel, grand in every sense. Our room was very comfortable, if not exciting, though the grout in the bathroom could do with freshening up. Breakfast was excellent in variety, though the dining area was not really well suited to self-service, quite a lot of wandering round required, and the waitress muddled up tea and coffee. It was a shame that our ordered papers did not arrive on either morning - the staff were apologetic. The bar was pleasant, though again, the waiting staff brought the wrong wine. These are minor niggles – there were large parties in the hotel both nights so they were very busy. Best of all was the location, right in the centre of the city, particularly useful as it was raining, as so often in lovely Ireland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and welcome the feedback detailled in your review.

I hope that on your next visit to Dublin, The Shelbourne will be your first choice hotel to return, if i can be of any assistance in the future with reservations, please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive - rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We just stayed 6 days at the shelbourne for vacation and it was lovely. The room was completely updated and gorgeous. The best part of this hotel is the location, its right across the street from a beautiful park called Stephens Green and a great park to run in. Two blocks over from Grafton Street and Temple Bar. The Saddle Room where we had breakfast was great, white table cloth and great service and food! The workout facility is ok, a normal US like hotel gym, but you get your workout from walking everywhere! The bar is crowed everynight with locals so it was nice to people watch!

Room Tip: A very noisy part of Dublin so as for a quite room!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you liked our newly refurbished rooms, this is an on going project and all of our rooms will hopefully be completed by the start of 2015.

The location of the hotel is perfect for to enjoy all of what Dublin has to offer and I am pleased that The Shelbourne enabled you to do so.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive - rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,330 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £209 - £819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing