We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Merrion Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Conrad Dublin(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,956)
Filter reviews
3,956 results
Traveller rating
2,641
756
343
145
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,641
756
343
145
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaddle roomlord mayor's loungeheritage roomirish constitutionbeautiful hotelfive star hotelst stephensmain bargrafton streetturn down servicetrinity collegetemple barmarriottconciergeirelanddoormanluxury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,252 - 2,257 of 3,956 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This historically important hotel in the center of Dublin, across from St Stephens Green, is beautifully run by the Renaissance group of Marriott. Service is terrific and the rooms are extremely comfortable. On sight, the restaurant is world class, and afternoon tea, offered only to hotel guests, should NOT be missed. Just outside the hotel, the center of Dublin is at your feet. Dawson and Grafton Streets offer "High Street" shopping and a world of food and drink possibilities, only a minute away. If you can drag yourself out of the bed, which is one of the most comfortable I've ever experienced in a hotel. Splurge for a view of the Green if you can arrange it!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms don't have a view, so you'll need to choose between the two.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was such a pleasure to read your fantastic comments about dinner in the Saddle Room Restaurant and Afternoon Tea in the Lord Mayors Lounge.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne, and would be delighted to assist any future bookings on your next visit to Dublin. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive - rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

stayed 4 nights after two weeks driving all around Ireland, and it as pure heaven! Had one of the refurbished rooms overlooking St. Stephen's Green and it was truly luxurious, patricularly after an excellent two weeks at everything from B&Bs to guest houses to 3 and 4 star hotels, but nothing was even close. (of course it cost a bit more, too.
Was in Dublin 5 years ago and stayed at the Westin, but this is like the hotels our ancestors stayed in - took me a while to figure out that the beautiful box in the closet was to put shoes out for polishing, bur they came back beautifully done.
Staff could not have been more pleasant and willing to help- even to the point of going out of the hotel to get a copy of the international NYT with the Sunday puzzle, much to my embarrassment and gratitude.
Last night dinner at the Saddle Room, where we had had excellent breakfasts, surprised by serving dinner in a room closed off for breakfast, with one of the finest meals I had had in a long time - complete with oysters with a mignionettte sauce which was wonderful. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: high floors have a better view, if you're in the front
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pisces025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great feedback and for taking the time to do so. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed the stay and that that it lived up to and exceeded your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you also for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel.

Kindest regards,

Barbara Fernandes

Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at The Shelbourne. It is a grand old hotel, a real throwback to yesteryear. The lobby and restaurants are beautiful and everyone went out of their way to provide great service. Our room was very nice (Deluxe King). The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was smallish but clean and nicely decorated. I noticed a bit of wear and tear when I looked closely, but no real complaints. This is a very pricey hotel though so be prepared. We found the location to be superb and the overall ambience enchanting. A real treat! Excellent breakfast with made to order entrees. Lovely stay in beautiful Dublin.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BO62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you especially appreciated the service provided.

I am pleased to inform you that a full refurbishment of all our rooms is currently taking place and will hopefully be completed by the end of 2014. I hope that on your next visit to Dublin, The Shelbourne will be your first choice. This way you will most certainly have the chance to stay in one of the refurbished rooms.

If I can be of any assistance in the future with reservations, please feel free to contact me directly.

The team and I will look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards

Barbara Fernandes
Guest Relations Executive - rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Shelbourne, Dublin was our first stop in Ireland. We couldn't have made a better choice. From the moment the top-hatted doorman opened our car door to our last wave goodbye, the service was warm and attentive. Hotel location was perfect, right across the St. Stephen's Green in the heart of town. The room was good size and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast. which had both a buffet section and a la carte menu, was very good. We did not dine in the hotel restaurant. As we went out for the evening, the bar and lounge areas were beginning to fill up. It was a place to see and be seen. The hotel also has a lot of history which one can browse in a little "museum" room off the side of the lobby. it was a perfect choice for a Dublin visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for the great feedback and for taking the time to do so. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed the stay and that you especially enjoyed the museum. The Doorman will be especially thrilled to read of your mention of him.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a top of the line hotel. For Europe the rooms were large and modernized. The service was great. Breakfast was included with our stay and there were many items to choose from including made to order eggs and omelets. I love the top hats on the guys!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z2665XGmikeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for the great feedback and for taking the time to do so. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed the stay and that you especially enjoyed the breakfast.

Thank you also for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.

Kindest regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews