We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Shelbourne for our first few nights in Ireland. The location really cant be beat. It is right next to the main shopping and restaurant streets in Dublin and it is such a well known hotel that many tour buses will stop there for pickup/dropoff. It is right around the corner from the National Museums. The hotel is pretty big, it has 2 bars, a tearoom and a restaurant. I wouldnt bother eating there however as it is really expensive. The afternoon tea there is famous though so your call. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and our room was large and clean. We didnt have a great view but we had a balcony which was a nice surprise. We had to keep re-signing into the wifi to get it to work which was annoying but thats normal for european hotels. Overall it was a great experience, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay. I was thrilled to read of your experience and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our Team of associates will be enamoured at your kind words and will serve as a great motivator for the busy season ahead.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,028 - 2,034 of 3,757 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I were in Dublin for The Eagles concert. I decided to round the weekend off by having Sunday dinner in the Shelbourne, and what a way to round off the weekend. The service was extremely friendly, the food superb and the bill not as you might expect! A great experience all round.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TheBrownes96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this wonderful review about your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. We were delighted to have you with us after the concert.

I hope you will return to us soon. Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin.
Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is exactly the treat that you had expected (and that you are paying for, mind you).
It is centrally located, but not too central, i.e. relatively quiet for a city-hotel, with a nice view to a park – St.Stephen’s Green – and within short walking distance to the center of Dublin.
The design of the room we were given was not just the normal “square”, but with a funny little “hall” – good effect, and good thinking!

Room Tip: Ask for view to the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AarhusHenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighetd to note that you fully enjoyed your stay. I was thrilled that you enjoyed the room and the proximity. It was our pleasure to host you. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Shelbourne is a wonderful place to stay. It is very luxurious. It has such a rich history if visitors. It is hard not to feel as if you are a part of that. The rooms are so nice. We had High Tea, and it was exceptionally nice. The food was wonderful. Breakfasts each morning were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel.

It was our pleasure to host you during your stay in Dublin. I was especially delighted to read your fantastic comments about Breakfast and Afternoon Tea in the Lord Mayors Lounge.

I look forward to your return in the hopefully near future. Please feel free to contact me directly, should you require further assistance with any future reservations.

Kind regards,

Barbara Fernandes
Guest Relations Executive - rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The best of the best if you want luxury, convenience and friendly staff! We spent 3 nights there and it was awesome. Everything you want to see and do is in this neighborhood except The Guinness and Jameson Brewerys. And the cab ride for those are short. A must is to have High Tea at the Hotel, you just might see a celebrity or two! The restaurant (Saddle Room) has delicious food, desserts are to die for!! The Conceirge staff at the Hotel are so friendly and helpful, one of our group lost her cell phone in a cab coming from the airport to the hotel and thanks to Denis the Conceirge we got it back 24 hours later!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agf10060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I was very much pleased to read your great comments about our hotel and especially about our associates and the service we provide. I will pass your kind words to Denis and all other associates.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you also for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel.

Kindest regards,

Barbara Fernandes
Guest Relations Executive - rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I just spent 3 glorious nights at the Shelbourne! I used Marriott points for our stay and was happy as a Platinum Rewards member to get an upgrade to a Heritage Premium room. From the moment we got out of our taxi to our checkout, the service at the hotel was superb.

Check-in was easy, although we did have to wait a few hours for our room as we had arrived so early. However, the hotel stored our bags and gave us access to a small private bath so that we could freshen up after our trans-Atlantic flight. We still ended up getting our room about an hour and half earlier than normal check-in.

The room was absolutely lovely. The bed and pillows were incredibly comfortable, and the room itself was so quiet. The bathroom was gigantic! Separate shower and tub, plus a huge vanity. There were a plentiful supply of amenities in the bath including shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, bar soap and shower gel. The towels were particularly fluffy. The flat screen TV had a ton of channels and the room also had a mini-bar. The desk had a US style electrical outlet, as well as the usual Irish/British outlets.

As a Platinum, we had breakfast for two in the restaurant every day. You can order off the menu or select the buffet. The buffet had a lot of choices, but doesn't change from day to day. We were also given 2 drink vouchers. We did have drinks in the 27 bar one afternoon and it was a lively, fun atmosphere. Lots of good people watching!

I really cannot stress how upscale, comfortable and inviting the Shelbourne is. I would recommend it to anyone! And of course, it is central to all sight-seeing, dining, and shopping in Dublin. Perfectly located for a great weekend in Dublin!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jtwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the great feedback and for taking the time to do so. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and to know that your experiences throughout the hotel were positive.

The location of the hotel is perfect to enjoy all of what Dublin has to offer and I am pleased that The Shelbourne enabled you to do so.

I hope that on your next visit to Dublin, The Shelbourne will be your first choice hotel to return. If I can be of any assistance in the future, please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

Barbara Fernandes
Guest Relations Executive - rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

What a wonderful place for a full champaigne afternoon tea. The elegant and large room was very clean and comfortable. The location is perfect, and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to spend time in Dublin.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your at Champagne Afternoon Tea.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,410 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,417 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £181 - £858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing