We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure amazing staff”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

It's always a pleasure to stay at The Shelbourne amazing staff great location right in the middle of the city. Great breakfast. Nothing is too much trouble. The staff always make our kids feel welcome. Beautiful spa. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyofFourIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words of praise. I am delighted to note that you and your family enjoy your stays with us. It is always a pleasure to have you with us.

Thank you again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,406
    692
    314
    131
    64
See reviews for
736
1,589
119
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is part of the history of Dublin and behaves that way.
The greeting ,the valet car parking, check in ( with home made lemonade while you complete the paperwork) and the bedrooms are all executed perfectly.
The bars are bustling and comfortable and great for people watching.Pricey but you are in the Shelbourne !!
A great hotel

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. It was a pleasure to host you during your stay. I was delighted to read you enjoyed every minute of it and you especially liked the lemonade.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.
Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

* Everything was perfect until we began the check-in.
* My wife and I were there in March for a two day business trip. My company had paid for a standard room and I had previously contacted the hotel to arrange an upgrade (at my expense) to a Park view room. The hotel was aware of my reservation and scheduled arrival time. After arriving at the hotel after our flight from the USA we checked in. It was about 0700 in the morning. Since our room was not ready they offered breakfast. I thought that a very nice gesture since breakfast is about 25€, or more.
However, that's when the problem started. The front desk kept informing me that our room was not ready. This went on for over 4 hours. It was not until around 1100 in the morning we finally had our room. I'm not sure what happened to their scheduling/housekeeping but I found this unacceptable.
I realize that check-in at the typical hotel is usually early in the afternoon. But when you see other guests arrive and check-in you begin to wonder what's going on.
The staff was apologetic but it seemed slightly insincere.
I guess my mistake was not insuring that our room would be ready at the time of our arrival. Had I known of the delay I would not have arranged the upgrade.
* Other than that slightly sour experience the hotel is definitely superior.
* Fantastic location, it's an easy walk to Grafton St and the shops there.
* There are numerous pubs and restaurants in the area.
* Of course I would stay there again. I'd just insure my room would be ready at check-in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel. It was a pleasure to read such fantastic comments about your stay, and appreciate the feedback regarding you arrival experience.

Our Guaranteed Check In time is from 3pm, so I was pleased to read that we were able to accommodate an early check in at 11am. I am disappointed to read that you felt that the team did not communicate this information to you upon arrival and am I sure they endeavoured to accommodate your early arrival request. Our Heritage Parkview rooms are our most popular room category and only when they are vacated can they be serviced by housekeeping for a new arrival. 12noon is our check out time. To ensure your room is ready at this early time we recommend that you book the room from the night before. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.
Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I booked a room with a park view, and we had a suite! I lived in Dublin and never realized the mountain views but I saw them from the window in my room. (Well I'm from Colorado, but the pretty hills that they call Mountains.) Beautiful to have a view of the Green.

It felt like we stepped back in time to a beautiful snapshot of the old Ireland, but lucky for me they have done all the updating to high end luxury modern levels.

This really is a nice place to relax after seeing the sights or catching up with friends. I loved the easy walk to Trinity and my favorite store, The House Of Ireland. I bought my girls Claddah rings there.

It's exactly as you hope it will be.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopeimaginepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for writing this wonderful review of your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your suite and the view of Dublin “mountains”. While I agree they are no “Rockies” they do create a picturesque view.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the relaxing nature and location of the hotel. I hope that they enjoy their gifts and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is so good.
I was in a wheelchair and need special food but they went out of there way it was my brother birthday and they came out with a cake and candle. The price is high but it so worth it you feel like a queen everything is done for yo yes I did feel like a fish out of water but so good

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was indeed delighted to read that you enjoyed your brother’s birthday with us and chose our hotel to celebrate this special occasion.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great service experience had at this hotel. Management and staff very helpful. Hotel situated near to all amenities. Ate in the hotel on on evening I was staying and food and service was very good indeed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words of praise and for taking the time to write this review. It was our pleasure to host you at The Shelbourne Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our first trip to Ireland and this was the first stop. Beautiful hotel and helpful staff. Great location practically on The Green. Stayed here using Marriott points. Our room was an average size but everything was top notch. Breakfast was very good and the wait staff very attentive and friendly. Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone vacationing in Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishgirl282014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you very much appreciated the location of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent stay in Ireland. I look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,494 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing