We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend in Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend in Dublin”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

From the moment we arrived in the Shelbourne I was made to feel privileged. Its an experience - an amazing venue full of history, streeped in traditions and yet 21st Century.
Our room was outstanding as were the hotel facilities.The location opposite Stephens Green was very central to all major toursist attractions. The breakfast wasnt the best Ive had but the ambience & staqff attention to detail made up for this
If at the Shelbourne be sure to visit its own Museum detailing the hotels history &information about its most famous clientele

Room Tip: Im sure all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonieL163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our team will be delighted with your comments and this will be a great motivator during the busy times ahead.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.

Kind Regards,
Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,430
    700
    317
    132
    64
See reviews for
742
1,612
121
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Completely remodeled and grand accommodations. We loved this place, it is very close to downtown and all the tourist areas are walkable from here, the restaurant is classy with superb dining options. Our room was small but elegantly decorated with premium bedding and free
Wi-Fi, is kind of pricey but well worth expense

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dufferme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our team will be delighted with your comments and this will be a great motivator during the busy times ahead.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.

Kind Regards,
Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel has recently been renovated and it is beautiful. First stop in the lobby, they actually have scented air in the check in area. Plus, they provide lemonade and homemade cookies when you arrive. That is a small sample of the "extra's" that are everywhere.

Our room was lovely. The bed was so comfortable that I didn't want to go home to my own very comfortable bed. Turn down service at night with chocolates and bottled water. We had a newspaper at our door in the morning. The bathroom was big and had a great shower. They provided wonderful shampoos, etc. Everything was perfect and perfectly attended to.

Breakfast was a feast. It was beautifully served buffet style with fresh fruits, baked goods, a large selection of savory items and cereals. There were hot items too. Everything you could want.

We had a stop in the little bar off the lobby for an after dinner drink. Very cozy. Service was great. The location is convenient to shopping and eating and museums.

If you are looking for an elegant place to stay, this is it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenie2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay - “Luxurious - no other word to describe this one”

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel lobby, your bedroom, breakfast and the bars. Our team will be delighted with your comments and this will be a great motivator during the busy times ahead.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went to the Shelbourne in Ireland as part of an award business trip that my husband earned! It was a beautiful hotel and the rooms were absolutely gorgeous! The rooms are not only beautiful but very clean. You feel pampered from the moment the bellman in his top hat opens the door for you and walk into the grand foyer with fresh flowers everywhere!! The food was excellent which isn't always true when you are serving a large group! One of the best features of the Shelbourne is the location --not only are you staying in a luxury hotel but you can not beat the location. It is close to everything --right across from the gorgeous park, shopping and tons of fun pubs and restaurants. If we make it back to Dublin we would make a reservation at the Shelbourne.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our team will be delighted with your comments and this will be a great motivator during the busy times ahead.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.

Kind Regards,
Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wonderful location in the heart of the city the Shelbourne stands proud overlooking Dublin's fashionable St Stephens Green. The bar is a part of Dublins social scene, the rooms amazing, although it's a five star there is a friendly feel. You can walk out and access great restaurants, bars, and night life. The spa and swimming pool are an added bonus in a city location.

The thing that makes this property is extra special are the staff, nothing is too much trouble..... I have stayed as a guest, co-ordinated business incentives and each time I go to the Shelbourne I do so with a smile.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the Green are extra special ..... But there are a selection of rooms to match you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMJDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our team will be delighted with your comments and this will be a great motivator during the busy times ahead.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.

Kind Regards,
Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerton, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is historic and in a great location! It reminded me of staying at the Plaza in New York City-great for people watching! It's just a short walk to Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar area and St. Stevens Green is right across the street. We caught the Hop-on-off bus right across the street.

Service is superb! We were offered breakfast due to my husband's Marriott status, and since we had an early flight were offered room service instead- a wonderful spread that was a very special end to our trip!

The room we had was spacious and nicely furnished- though the air conditioning was not working and it was very warm which made for an uncomfortable sleep.

Room Tip: We were on an inside room away from the street noise which was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeraldaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank for you for letting us know about your bedrooms Air Conditioning, I have arranged for it to be inspected and repaired. Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.

Kind Regards,
Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I came here for lunch and it was great. Very child friendly and amazing service. I ❤️ed it. The food was great and we got a special menu. This hotel is great for after parties of communions, conformations ect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our team will be delighted with your comments and this will be a great motivator during the busy times ahead.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel.
Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,210 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing