We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party Blues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Christmas Party Blues”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I didnt stay in the hotel but I did attend a Christmas party with a group of friends, in one of the hotels reception rooms and also visited the main hotel bar. As I had heard this hotel was a 5 star hotel, I felt assured almost everything would be to a very high standard, I was mistaken. We were told by staff that any pre party drinks bought within the main hotel bar, could be taken into the reception room where the party was being held however we found out this was not the case. We had to leave our drinks and the HOTEL itself, walk outside, in the cold winter rain and wind, down the road to the entrance to the reception room. The only 5 star hotel I have ever been to that has no link hallway and is happy to allow their guest to be rained on. When we entered the reception room, it was packed full of tables. It looked more like a cheep bingo hall then a "luxury" hotel. No one could move and my back was constantly being knocked by fellow guests and passers by. Added to that, my table was right next to an exit used by staff and the doors were constantly left open, with freezing cold air hitting us every few minutes. To top it all off, there were cracks in the crowded dance floor, which a number of female friends caught their high heels in. Unhelpful staff, bad planning and poor surrounding. It has the location and the name, no doubt its standards are not that of a true 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KeithC732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Keith,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Shelbourne Hotel last year. I am disappointed to read of your experience and that you were not happy with your evening. Please accept my sincerest apologies for this.

Please email me at your earliest convenience so that I may attempt to restore your faith in The Shelbourne Hotel. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager

eamonn.casey@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,430
    700
    317
    132
    64
See reviews for
742
1,612
121
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Visited for afternoon tea service that was recommended for out visit to Dublin, booked in advance which is highly recommended. The quality and service was second to none in a wonderful luxury hotel. Served a selection of sandwiches first in different breads and even got a second tray as they were amazing! Next was very fresh scones/ginger loaf and individual deserts. All served with as much tea as wanted and we were even able to take away a couple of cakes that we couldn't finish.
A truly luxury experience throughout!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience in the Lord Mayors Lounge. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our team will be delighted with your comments and this will be a great motivator during the busy times ahead.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel.

Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Shelbourne is a hotel steeped in tradition located within easy walking distance of most center-city attractions. The National Museums are in adjacent blocks, St Stephen's Green is directly across the street, Grafton Street is just a few blocks down as is Trinity College. Christ Church at St Patrick's Cathedral are each about 15 minute walk away.
We began and ended or trip to Ireland at the Shelbourne, and it was perfect for both. In arranging the trip - which was a slightly belated celebration of our 40th anniversary - I communicated with Dana at the hotel via email regarding some specific requests. Everything was handled beyond my expectation and was in place on arrival. I give her most special thanks for making our stay there so memorable.
The rooms were very comfortable, clean and well kept. The rooms are stocked with amenities.
Our room included breakfast which was beyond ample. The breakfast is served buffet style, but eggs and such can be prepared to order.
We enjoyed afternoon libations in the No 27 Lounge at the hotel where the bar staff was delightful.
While I'm certain the staff is child-friendly, the hotel itself has formal areas that architecturally suggest the character of one of those places children under 12 might not be so comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmwelchtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience at The Shelbourne. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our team will be delighted with your comments and this will be a great motivator during the busy times ahead.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel.

Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Shelbourne is well situated right across the street from St. Stephen's Green and a 5-minute walk from Grafton St. The property itself is an older, elegant building that has been modernized. The rooms are nice -- nothing spectacular, but a good size and well appointed. The bed and bedding were not that comfortable for me (e.g. the pillows were too high), but at least the room was nice and quiet so I slept ok.

Breakfast at the hotel is really excellent (included in our rate). There's a buffet with hot and cold selections, though I especially liked the option to order off the menu. There were many tasty options, including omelettes and pancakes made to order, though this also took quite some time. The espresso drinks made to order were very good as well.

I had the chance to use the gym once, and it was well equipped to get in a good workout on the road. There's also an indoor swimming pool for those who want to swim laps. It's definitely nice to be able to stay active on the road.

Service at the hotel was friendly and helpful -- polite, professional and efficient.

I usually don't comment on the bars at hotels, but it's worth noting that the hotel bar doesn't have TVs (during the world cup, this was an issue). Also the bar is on the small side and seating is not very plentiful or comfortable. It also got very stuffy and hot in there. Good thing this is Dublin so it's easy to find a pub, but would be nice to have a better bar option in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cillierabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your experience at The Shelbourne. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed celebrating your special occasion with us. Our team will be delighted with your comments and this will be a great motivator during the busy times ahead.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel.

Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A truly elegant hotel, and the location is unmatched. This hotel is only a 2 block walk from Grafton Street. The Temple Bar area is about a 10-15 minute walk. All kinds of stores and restaurants are along the way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our team will be delighted with your comments and this will be a great motivator during the busy times ahead.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stopped off at the Shelley for cocktails en route to our final destination . Service excellent I said it was my wife's birthday and the staff presented her with three petit cakes with happy birthday written in chocolate . Cocktails amazing what more can we say you have to return!.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We love to make Birthdatys special, Our team will be delighted with your comments and this will be a great motivator during the busy times ahead.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Eamonn Casey
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

But.....It's a little too fancy for kids. Went with 5 kids and I wouldn't recommend this place for family. Location is nice but a longer walk to temple bar area. Close to park and shopping but we didn't come to Dublin to go shopping. Personally we preferred the Morrison hotel (Doubletree) on the north shore of the Liffey for its proximity to the Temple Bar area. Internet access was restrictive as well. The afternoon tea was nice and very classy.... Nice bars at the Shelbourne too.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajwick737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Front Office Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was pleased to read that your family enjoyed your visit to Dublin.
Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel.

Kind Regards

Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,284 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,210 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing