We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorest 5 star yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in several 5 star hotels and never written a review I found myself compelled to after our time in the Shelbourne.

Room was very small overlooking skips and compactors.
In the mini fridge was two lumps of beef in tin foil rolled up the beef had hair growing on it so it had been there for some time
If you take the cost of parking into consideration we'd have stayed in a 5 star down the road from this hotel for €60 a night cheaper so I expected excellence we got average.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel.
Firstly I would like to thank you for the high rating you gave us for Service during your stay.
I am shocked and disappointed to read about the issues you had with the minibar. I have passed this information on to our In-room Dining team who are investigating this issue. They have taken the necessary steps to ensure that this issue will not reoccur.
As we are a city centre hotel our only rooms that have an external view are on our Heritage side. I do apologise that your internal facing room took away from your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel.
I do wish to restore your faith in our hotel so should you be returning please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I can make sure your next stay is flawless.
Warm regards,
Yasmin Bergin
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,015 - 2,021 of 3,800 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Nice hotel in the center of Dublin, if you have the means this is a very nice hotel. I had a bed and breakfast rate and the breakfast a good Irish breakfast, however just down the street their are plenty of places for a wonderful breakfast.

The staff is wonderful, upon check in the lemonade and cookies are a nice touch. The beds are very comfortable and the cleaning staff is wonderfully quick and almost invisible. Atmosphere is pleasant but not exactly casual.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike-5472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. Our team will be thrilled to read of your review and how you appreciated breakfast and the service provided.

I would be remiss if I did not mention that our prices are inline and competitively priced against other local 5 star hotels. I regret not having the opportunity to discuss these issues on check out.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you also for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel.

Kindest regards,

Barbara Fernandes
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Most disappointed with the pool. Tiny and had kids throwing footballs around in it. Had far too much chlorine, I could barely see after using it grot 10 minutes. The room numbers lead you around in circles but not to your room. The coffee machine in the room has no instructions and is difficult to use. Car parking is 25euro extra. Costs less to park in a car park nearby overnight. Rooms are tatty for a 5 star hotel also. Honestly one of the worst 5 star hotels I've ever experienced.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Davidtracey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. May I kindly ask that you contact me directly, to further discuss your stay, so that I can retrieve your booking details and fully investigate the issues raised.

I have highlighted the each of the areas to the relevant managers to ensure this does not happen again to you or any of our future valued guests.

I will look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Always a fantastic ambiance with plenty of welcoming staff. Enjoyed a very pleasant post dinner night cap in the Horseshoe bar last night but we were totally shocked when we looked at the prices. Appreciate the Shelbourne is a 5 star venue but seriously, €10.25 for a standard glass of red wine??

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank buzzeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Your feedback has been passed on to our Bar Manager.
Should you be returning to The Shelbourne Hotel please do not hesitate to contact me directly as it would be a pleasure to look after you,

Warm regards,
Yasmin Bergin
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel was beautiful. The spa was fantastic. I went for a book event that was being held there and everything was great with the exception of the service. We called once to get reservations for dinner and the staff told us they would get back to us and didn't. Then we called to get the bellman to get our bags and waited an hour to call back to make the identical request.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RLGriffin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was truly disappointed to learn of the issues you experienced and I regret not having the opportunity to resolve them myself. I will certainly follow up on the issues you have experienced. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and got some time to relax and unwind in our fabulous spa.

If I could ask you to contact me so that I may investigate the items mentioned in your review, knowing the last room number and name will allow me to track back your experience. My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards,
Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I travel to Dublin a couple of times a year on business and am always pleased to stay here - super service, great rooms, delcious dinner and breakfast and free wifi throughout hotel. Great spa - always look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natascha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your fantastic comments on your recent and many stays with us at The Shelbourne Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback, the team and I are looking forward to welcoming in the near future.

Please feel free to contact me directly, should you require any assistance with any future bookings it would be my pleasure to personally take care of you.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

On one of my many visits to Bar 27 for birthday Cocktails I came across a very customer orientated staff member (Linda) who was very experienced in all aspects of making sure we had everything we possibly needed. As a business owner of many staff, it's hard to come by such enthusiastic staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to review your experience in No 27 Bar on your recent visit to us. It was such a pleasure to read your feedback and I have passed your lovely comments to Linda who was delighted to hear that she was able to ensure your experience was memorable.

Linda and the team are looking forward to welcoming to back to The Shelbourne in the near future.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,082 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 151 in Dublin
595 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £166 - £903 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing