We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time last weekend only having been for drinks / afternoon tea before. Really was excellent - service super, room top class and superb breakfast. The bar was buzzing and a great olace to have drinks before dinner- my husband loved the number 27 house cocktail! Real treat in itself and worth every euro ...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was such a pleasure to read such fantastic feedback about your stay.

The team at the Shelbourne are delighted to read the great comments, and have passed your compliments to Ivan King, Bar and Lounge Manager & creator of the No27 Bar Cocktail.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne in the near future.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,101 - 2,107 of 3,903 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Shelbourne is a historic grand hotel across from St Stephens Green. Staff are very courteous and helpful. Main bar is fabulous and great for people watching. Hotel rooms are very nice. There is a small museum which you can learn about the historic place this hotel has in Irish history. There is also a spa in the hotel although we did not use it this trip.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel on the top floor. Room was nice but there was a recycling bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank almasst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel,
Your review was a delight to read, I am glad that you were able to visit out Museum and the bars during your stay,
On your next visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly as I would be delighted to assist you with making any reservations or requests,
Best Wishes,
Yasmin Bergin
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have just returned from a wonderful weekend stay at the Shelbourne hotel for my Partner's 30th birthday. We were so incredibly well looked after, with the staff going out of their way to make our stay as perfect and memorable as possible. We had a fabulous heritage room, overlooking St Stephen's Green. Incredibly comfortable bed, huge luxurious bathroom and incredible view. We ate in the The Saddle Room for both breakfast and dinner and on all occasions it was exceptional quality. I also treated myself to a swedish massage at the spa which was very relaxing and followed by a refreshment platter in the relaxation room - heaven! I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. A special thank you to Dana De Moel for her help in making this a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChristineLo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel,
I am delighted to hear about your lovely time you spent with us and that our staffs, especially Dana, were able to make your special celebration even more memorable.
Should you be returning to The Shelbourne Hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us directly so we can ensure each stay with us is as memorable as the last,

Best Wishes,
Yasmin Bergin
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just home from a fabulous overnight stay. We were kindly upgraded as it was my friends' birthday. The room was recently refurbished and it was beautiful. The hotel is outstanding in everyway and it was everything that I hoped it would be!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel,
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your friends’ celebration and that we fulfilled your expectations of the hotel.
Should you be returning to The Shelbourne hotel please do not hesitate to contact me directly as it would be my pleasure to assist you with your reservation,

Best Wishes,
Yasmin Bergin
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights from 25-27 July this year.
We booked through a third party website where it stated that the deluxe king rooms had separate bath and shower facilities, however when we arrived and were shown to our room the bathroom only had a bath with a shower over it..... Minor issue you might think but not what we thought we were getting.
I immediately informed reception of this and due to the hotel being fully booked on the Friday night we were unable to be moved however on the Saturday while we spent our day in Dublin when we returned to the hotel, all our belongings had been moved to the most beautiful Heritage room where we enjoyed the second night of our stay.
In fact all the staff in the hotel were fabulous, from our waiter in the Saddle Room on the Friday night to the waitress who got me strawberries on Sunday morning for breakfast, thank you all for a wonderful stay.
Can't wait to come back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel,
It was a please to read your comments about our staff, we really do appreciate them. My apologies for the inconvenience on the first night of your stay but I am delighted that we were able to move you to a lovely Heritage room on the second night.
Should you be returning to The Shelbourne hotel please do not hesitate to contact me directly as it would be my pleasure to assist you with your reservation,

Best Wishes,
Yasmin Bergin
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just arrived back to the UK from a weekend stay at the Shelbourne Hotel. What can I say......OMG! I love this hotel, it is the best hotel I have stayed in, in Europe. (Burj Al Arab is the best in the world). We stayed in room 252, we have a lovely view on to Kildare Street. The room was gorgeous, with a well stocked mini bar, as for the bed..........it was like heaven, you just sink & sink into the most comfort bed ever. The bathroom was huge, with lovely toilettes, slippers and robes. The Staff were all lovely and made us feel very welcome both the restaurant and the bar (the food and cocktails are to die for). :)

The hotel is in a brilliant location, just across the road is St Stephen's Green and it is a short Distance walk from Dawson Street and Grafton Street.

Thank you for a fantastic stay :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cinders002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel,
I was delighted to read about your stay, your comments about our rooms and the staff serve as a great motivator. Thank you.
Should you be returning to Dublin, Please do not hesitate to contact me directly as it would be my pleasure to assist you with your stay,

Best Wishes,
Yasmin Bergin
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

EXCELLENT SPA!!!!
Perfect location in front of the St. Stephens Green park.
Concierge very helpfull, and caring.
Nice, big rooms.
At night it is a meeting point for locals to drink guinness beer and have fun.
EXCELLENT 5 O'clock tea.
Good breakfast, good coffee.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Delfi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel.
It was a pleasure to read your kind words about our hotel. I will be delighted to pass your comments on to both our Spa and the Bar and Lounge,
Should you be returning to The Shelbourne Hotel please do not hesitate to contact myself as I would be delighted to assist you with any further reservations,

Warm regards,
Yasmin Bergin
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 152 in Dublin
3,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 152 in Dublin
4,194 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#7 of 152 in Dublin
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £163 - £1,287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing