We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Terrible View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Shelbourne service was fantastic, truly a first class service. It's a little confusing to find your room as the hotel is a collection of buildings. The view from the hotel is terrible, we "overlooked" the other side of the hotel which was 25 yards away and full of pigeons, not ideal. Breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We truly appreciate your time and high remarks about our hotel and the service we provide.

I would recommend in the future reserving a Heritage Park View should you wish for a view. The hotel has a city centre location and therefore makes up for the views with the proximity to shops and attractions.

On your next trip please do not hesitate to contact me directly as it would be a please to assist you with a reservation.

I look forward to your return in the hopefully near future.

Kind Regards
Barbara Casanova
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,936 - 1,942 of 3,749 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We are Marriott platinum members and booked this hotel using our points. What a great end to our stay in Ireland! The location is so convenient for exploring the city. The hop-on hop-off buses stop just across the street, and shopping and restaurants are a short walk. The hotel itself is beautiful with an interesting history. One of our B&B hostesses earlier in the week suggested we watch the documentary series currently airing about the hotel. It is quite interesting. While we were watching the segment about VIP guests, I commented to my husband that I didn't think we would receive such treatment. We soon received a knock on the door for turn-down service and yummy chocolates! Breakfast in the Saddle Room was very good, and we enjoyed our dinner in Lord Mayor's. My only complaint was our lack of view. We were on the second floor overlooking an alley.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HappyFamily43082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving feedback on your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. We do appreciate it very much.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and thank you for your great comments about our service, I will share these with the team. I would recommend in the future reserving a Heritage Park View room should you wish for a view. This way you can guarantee a room overlooking St Stephens Green, Ireland's best known Victorian park.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Barbara Casanova
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at the Shelbourne on the last 2 days of our family vacation to Ireland and Scotland. Colleagues of my husband made arrangements for 2 rooms for our family of 4. The rooms were huge, quiet, well appointed with deliciously comfortable beds. Baths were spectacular, as you would expect from a hotel of this caliber. The staff was courteous and helpful with turn-down service each night. (We had swans and rose-petals, I assume at the behest of the colleagues LOL!) The location was perfect, walking distance to shops & restaurants (Grafton & Temple Bar) and the hop-on/hop-off bus just a block away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LI-fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel, it is very much appreciated.

We are all genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and I am also pleased to read your great comments about your room and the little extra touches that made all the difference.

Thank you again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Barbara Casanova
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here a few nights with the family. Overall very pleased with the service from all levels of the staff. Hotel has the old world charm but honestly beginning to show signs. Rain leaking through the ceiling, window frame not tight and air on units stressed to keep rooms cool when rain prohibited opening the windows. Breakfast buffet was excellent and the 27 bar is a happening place with excellent staff! Proximity to everything makes this a top place to stay

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jedda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for the great feedback and for taking the time to do so. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed the stay and that you especially enjoyed the breakfast and the Bar No 27.

I am pleased to inform you that a full refurbishment of all our rooms is currently taking place and will be completed by the end of 2014. I hope that on your next visit to Dublin, The Shelbourne will be your first choice. This way you will most certainly have the chance to stay in one of the refurbished rooms.

Again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Barbara Casanova
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My spouse and I finished our trip in Ireland staying a couple of days in Dublin so as to discover the city.
If the inner town has kept a provincial athmosphere, this hotel gave us the opportunity to relax after long promenades and museum.
As an Elite Silver Member, I am accustomed to stay in the Marriott hotels when possible. The international standards in terms of service and amenities will never disappoint you.
This hotel bring out a very relaxing and cosy atmosphere and the rooms on the yard are very quiet.
We loved our sojourn in this place and are very looking forward to coming back!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Laurent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel.

We are delighted that your stay was enjoyable and that you were impressed with our hotel athmosphere. As a well-travelled guest, your comments are very valuable in helping us ensure your expectations are met each visit.

I look forward to your return in the hopefully near future.

Kind regards,

Barbara Casanova
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

When booking a room at the Shelbourne in the center of Dublin, I was expecting convenience - but after a couple days settling in, I realized I had picked a hotel that gets everything right! The staff was unbelievably courteous and helpful, the room extremely comfortable and well apportioned (with a fresh rose in the bathroom!), the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner wonderful. We started our two and a half week trip here and it was bittersweet to have to leave. As others have said - this hotel has a perfect location for picking up a bus tour, visiting St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College or the shopping district. A couple special notes: the room on the fourth floor was exceptionally quiet, despite over-looking the Green, the windows did open for fresh air when we wanted it, and the concierge was exceptional with advice on places to visit, things to do - when we asked where we could buy stamps to send postcards - the concierge took the postcards and said he would get the stamps and post them for us. Very considerate! Next trip to Dublin, we'll be back at the Shelbourne for certain!

Room Tip: Our room was on the corner of the hotel on the top floor - extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jonom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you had such a special holiday and would like to return to our hotel in the future. Your words are extremely encouraging and have given the entire team a big boost.

Please feel free to contact me directly on your next trip to Dublin and it will be my pleasure to assist you with any requests or queries you might have.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards,

Barbara Casanova
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at The Merrion the previous year but decided to try the Shelbourne for a change.

At check-in a manager told us they were overbooked and we would have to stay at the Merrion for one night. These things happen. We had a great night at the Merrion and loved it.

At the Shelbourne we had a refurbished room but the hotels shortcoming were immediately clear:
1. Terrible old bed - the bed was so soft and spongy it was like sleeping on a boat in a big swell. I had a horrible sleep for two nights. Why didn't the hotel replace the beds?
2. Linens - the pillows were soft and poor while the sheets were ok they weren't great either
3. Noise - lots of banging doors and creaky floorboards. You get these things in older hotels but it would have been easy to have added a door self-closing mechanism during the refurbishment.
4. The toiletries are Elemis which feel cheap

The ok things:
1. Breakfast was ok, the choices were reasonable but the restaurant is cramped and busy so it is hard to get service.

The good things include:
1. Location is great - right on St Stephens Green
2. Free wifi thought-out the hotel
3. The gym and pool are great

In conclusion, Tthe Shelbourne feels like a corporate hotel which goes through the motions of a hotel to maximize profit for the bean counters. In contrast, the Merrion Hotel feels like you are a guest in a grand home, the staff are so courteous, the beds and linens are of the highest quality and the toiletries are first rate.

I would choose The Merrion Hotel every time over the Shelbourne.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne. Your feedback is appreciated and feel is an excellent tool for our hotel team to learn more about our guests' experiences and ensure we continually seek to create the highest standards of service in all aspects of our guests' stay.

I would like to invite you to contact me directly to discuss you stay with me further and to enable me to locate your exact reservation to fully investigate the matters raised.

Please feel free to contact me directly; it would be my pleasure to personally take care of you concerns.
Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,401 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,403 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £183 - £860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing