We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax and Unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relax and Unwind”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Desperately needed a stress buster break.. Decided on The Shelbourne Dublin.. WOW great choice... From the valet parking to the breakfast the following morning..Staff all very friendly and welcoming got a free upgrade to a junior suite..heavenly.. super comfortable bed no outside noise could be heard in our room hard to believe we in were in the centre of the city on a busy bank holiday Sunday night...Had drinks in No.27 bar excellent service excellent choice great atmosphere.. Had the taster menu in the Saddle Room restaurant excellent service excellent food great variety to choose from...Would definitely return to The Shelbourne and highly recommend it though it is pricey but not as pricey as some five star hotels but definitely well worth it..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne. It was a great pleasure to read the fantastic comments from the warm welcome from our Front Service team to the service in The Saddle Room Restaurant and No 27 Bar.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere and elegance The Shelbourne had to offer and hope that The Shelbourne will be your first choice hotel when returning to Dublin.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you require assistance with any future reservations, it would be my pleasure to personally take care of this detail for you.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,347
    676
    304
    128
    63
See reviews for
712
1,551
113
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

An excellent hotel where I have been coming for 6 months friendly staff great location and great service. Always welcoming with great food a pleasure in empire style. Top marks to the breakfast crew who always greet you with an amazing smile and make the mornings enjoyable

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel.
I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your last few months staying in our hotel. Thank you for your comments about our staff; it will be my pleasure to pass on your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne hotel in the near future,
Best Wishes,
Yasmin Bergin
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from another wonderful weekend at The Shelbourne.
It was my birthday and the staff made it absolutely magical helping my partner with flowers, cake and wine in my room.... Not to mention a gorgeous little Shelbourne teddy bear!
A special thanks to Jane for taking such good care of us. This isn't confined to this weekend, she always does! Fantastic front of house!
Also thanks to the fabulous lady in guest relations from Lisbon. Unfortunately her name has escaped me but she did an amazing job of keeping everything a surprise for me!
Can't wait to return ASAP!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Highheeledlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to write such wonderful comments about you stays with us at The Shelbourne Hotel.

Jane and Barbara were delighted to read your fantastic comments. It was a pleasure to take care of you on such a special occasion. The team at The Shelbourne pride ourselves on creating occasions that you will always remember and would like to thank you for choosing us to celebrate with you.

The team and I are already looking forward to your next visit. If we can assist in any future reservations, please feel free to contact Barbara or myself at:
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here in March and we weren't bowled over by this hotel. The room was somewhat disappointing for the amount being charged - it was more like 3-star standard with respect to décor - however, it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ok, I can't be any more enthusiastic than that. We were shunted upstairs as the breakfast room was full and the food was in heated trays, it just wasn't very appetising. The staff are more than a little bit snooty and the bar heaves with pretentious 'locals'.
That said, the location is fantastic and the concierge was very helpful in booking & recommending restaurants, of which there are an abundance within walking distance.
It was fine but The Merrion is streets ahead.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trp_advsr_mmbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel. Your feedback is appreciated and feel is an excellent tool for our hotel team to learn more about our guests' experiences and ensure we continually seek to create the highest standards of service in all aspects of our guests' stay.

I am unable to locate your exact reservation and would ask you to contact me directly with your booking details in order for me to fully investigate the aspects of the stay you highlighted.

I will look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Shelbourne is the “Grande Dame” of the hospitality scene in Dublin as it approaches 190 years of continuous service. It has hosted Princesses and Presidents, Captains of Industry and Sport, Rappers and Rock’nRollers. It underwent a recent radical refurbishment and now presents as a luxury property in the style of a European Grand Hotel with clever local touches and a pervasive sense of Irishness.

Nowhere is this more evident than The Constitution Room, a glorious space to the front of the building, overlooking St Stephen’s Green where between February and May 1922 Michael Collins and others of the nascent Irish Free State painstakingly drafted the parameters of what it would mean to be a citizen of Ireland. Yvonne Donohoe, Director of Sales and Marketing at the hotel, arranged for Denis, learned historian and Head Concierge at the Hotel, to walk us back through 190 years of the hotel’s history. It was indeed a privilege to sit on the very seats used by our drafting forefathers and to listed to an entirely compelling account of the vicissitudes of our history, peppered with some amusing aphorisms. When relating a story connected with Princess Grace who was given the option of avoiding the adoring crowds by exiting discretely out the back door Denis intoned "Every good hotel has a front door. Every great hotel has a back door".

Dinner, served under the watchful eye of Francois, was spectacular, drawing on locally sourced produce but presenting it with true artistic panache and brio. My picture of the painterly Clare Island Turf Smoked Salmon with Castletownbere Crab and Tempura Prawn was retweeted many times. Throughout dinner conversation flowed easily as we listened to gentle sounds of slow Irish airs and poignant operatic arias played gracefuly on concert harp. It was a moment to treasure, a moment from which great memories are forged and, ultimately, a moment that’s often the tipping point for planners as the weight up the pros and cons of the destinations under selection. See more at: http://padraicino.com/dublin-incentives-great-site-inspection/#sthash.ZWwBty79.dpuf

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padraicino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stays with us at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to read that The Shelbourne has been your first choice hotel when travelling to Dublin.

The saddle Room team will be enamoured at your kind words and will serve as a great motivator. If I can assist you in the future with reservations, it would be my pleasure to personally look after these details for you.

Please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I treated my mother to afternoon tea. The whole experience was great! Sandwiches are delicious, so are the scones and bread! The only downside for me was the desserts. I don't like mousse and it was in them all. I asked if there was anything else but they only have a set menu. I didn't let this spoil it as it was such a lovely way to spend an afternoon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience for Afternoon Tea in the Shelbourne Hotel. It was a pleasure to read such great feedback and and Katie our Executive Pastry Chef was delighted with your comments.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable afternoon, the team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne in the near future.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
GHuest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@reaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have stayed at the this :grande dame" twice while visiting in Dublin. It is a beautiful property, perfectly located right across St. Stephen's Green (Dublin's "Central Park") and very close to major attractions such as Temple Bar, Trinity College, and Grafton Street. The hotel itself offers wonderful accommodations and lots of history.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiguelLVargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the location added to your enjoyment.

On you next visit to Dublin I would like to invite you to contact me directly as it would be my pleasure to assist with any future reservations,
Best Wishes,
Yasmin Bergin
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,802 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,951 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing