We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very simple but nice "college" experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trinity College Campus
Ranked #72 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
328 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Very simple but nice "college" experience”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Situation is just perfect. rooms are very very simple. Wi-fi is available on the campus but not in the rooms. Breakfast is a "student" breakfast - there's all you need to start a good day full of energy but don't expect a refined breakfast. Students welcome you and are very nice. Very safe place and right on the campus of the Dublin college. The famous "book of Kells" will be right next door to your room! If you travel alone it's really a great place to stay, if you do not need extra comfort.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you get one of the few rooms that has wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EtiennE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    184
    101
    34
    15
See reviews for
61
118
87
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poitiers, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The university is one of the most gorgeous sites in Dublin. The room itself was in the old buildings (photos left by other trip advisor users were very accurate), which means very high ceilings, beautiful windows with views onto the other historical parts of the uni. It was simply furnished but everything was clean and functional. The beds were comfortable. Breakfast was nice, I would definitely recommend the scones! Location is perfect: shops, cafés, pubs and restaurants are right on the doorstep, sites are almost all within reasonable walking distance. Shuttle coaches to the airport are just accross the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Staying in a such an historic place as Trinity College is an amazing experience in itself. The grounds and buildings are incredible. It cost us 240 Euros for two nights, which turned out to be costly, considering the size and condition of the residence room. The room needed a quick paint and a better clean, before allowing guests.

I would caution people considering this accommodation about two things:
(1) the shower stall is very, very small. I'm not a large person and I found it quite cramped.
(2) if you want to store your luggage upon check-out for a couple of hours, you will need to drag it over to the Arts Building and pay 3 Euros per bag for a limited time. You would think that the College would include such a normal service at the Accommodation Office --- but the people there were rather rude and didn't care about you once you checked out.

The breakfast included is really good value.

Overall, the experience of staying in a such central iconic place in Dublin, was the main focus of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A great place to stay on a budget. Esp when all other places were booked out and at least twice the price. A beautiful old campus ground with newly renovated student accommodation avail during summer. Very helpful and knowledgable students running the admin office. Excellent location in the centre of town. Safe, secure, clean and simple rooms. Includes continental breakfast too. Really like it here. Wifi too.

Room Tip: Stayed in a single ensuite room with private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coates77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at Goldsmith Hall, Trinity College for 10 days. We had a 4 bedroom apartment, perfect for our family, including 2 kids and grandparents. We had 2 bathrooms and a decent sized sitting room/ kitchen. There's a security guard right in the building who immediately squelched any noise after quiet hours. The breakfast was nice, with several kinds of bread, yogurt, fruit, and oatmeal. Goldsmith is right next to Pearse train station, so you can easily do day trips to the beautiful areas around Dublin. Trinity college staff were very professional and organized, and dealt with any problems immediately. They even arranged our taxi to the airport. All in all, if you're looking for a flat in the heart of Dublin this is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

One weekend in Trinity collage accom, price and accom not match at all your expectation!!!!, very small room , Hot warm place , share toilet with apartment people , small shower and toilet, very noise inside and outside, we can't sleep. The service very bad, receptions are incompetence and very slow , booking very bad organized , we booking for full apartment for 4 people and we arrive and split our booking because some mistake or some mess was done. The accommodation looking in city center but at the end our apartment was allocated 15min walk from city center, another side from the collage....

Room Tip: Be sure the apartment are near and not far form city , and the check-in should be done early to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giampys71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor Co Down
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

stayed on sat nite... room basic and small but i knew it would be... had an en suite which wasn't expecting... very tiny but functionable. The bed was very comfortable and i would have slept all night if it wasnt for the traffic coming from Pearce Street.. the traffic was very loud and didn't settle down till after 3am...You simply could not sleep and don't know how the students sleep on that block... I think we were just unlucky where our room was (block 70). would recommend having breakfast out in the city rather than on campus. Staying in the surroundings of the campus was brilliant... very central.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocaholicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
1,002 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#77 of 151 in Dublin
2,228 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#83 of 151 in Dublin
554 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity College Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity College Campus

Property: Trinity College Campus
Address: Dame Street | College Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Trinity College Campus 2*
Number of rooms: 800
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Trinity College Campus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity College Campus Dublin
Trinity College Campus Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing