We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trinity College Campus
Ranked #75 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in the dorm rooms on Trinity College's campus July 9-12. These are basic accommodations as expected from a dorm. On the positive side the view from the room was lovely. And you couldn't possibly have a better location to see Dublin. You are in the heart of the city without the loudness of Temple Bar. We also had very good internet access, really close bus stops, and friendly staff.

On the down side, it is a dorm room. Do not expect the Ritz. The shower had plenty of hot water, but was REALLY small. I would say it is 2 feet by 2 feet square. I am 5' 6", 125 lbs. I didn't have trouble using it. However, I had to be careful when I washed my hair because my elbows hit both walls. Other small issues were that the doors badly need WD40 and the light switch to the bathroom is outside behind the door. The maid service disconnected the hinge that automatically closed the bathroom door (not sure if this was on purpose or not), but that helped with the squeaking. The room was cool enough with the window open, even in July.

Breakfast comes with the accommodations. I think you can be satisfied with it. They are very good at explaining what is free and what isn't. After the first day we skipped it and went to a lovely bakery just off Dame Street - Keoghs. Their coffee and muffins are amazing...

We were very happy here. I would absolutely stay here again. But you need to come in understanding that this is totally no frills.

Room Tip: I was in building 30 on the 2nd floor facing the courtyard. The courtyard is protected from the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTwinsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We came for a conference, and found out that colleagues that stayed just outside of campus got much more value for money.
The room was in good size, but the walls were made of paper- we heard everything in the next rooms. There were paper placements at the shower and not even a hand towel.
After checkout, they sent us to the library to deposit our bags for 3 Euro each for the two hours we needed before leaving.
This is not the way to treat business visitors! (Maybe suitable for backpackers only).

Do yourselves a favor - stay elsewhere for the same money.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MBS436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is the heart of Dublin - and one of the oldest universities in Europe. Loved staying here but it's not luxury. You're staying in a dormitory. We had 2 single beds (comfortable), a desk and a wardrobe. Spartan but all you really need. Bathroom was really tiny. Shower was so small you literally couldn't bend over - strictly vertical washing. No air conditioning but big windows. Our room was on the Old Library Square which was wonderful because we were steps from The Book of Kells (don't miss it!), but noisy students and tourists passed by the window all night long. Request a room on an upper floor and on the back of the 'house' ( as they call the dorms). Wifi was good, breakfast in student cafeteria offered lots of options. Also they just started offering free parking (extremely rare) - a MAJOR plus in downtown Dublin!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room off the main squares - on the back of the 'house' you're as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SouthernLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just returned from three nights here staying in a double room in goldsmith hall. It's basically what you can expect being uni accommodation, the room was a good size, bed was comfortable and everything was clean if a bit clinical. You got a continental breakfast included which was fine for what I needed but it only serves until 9.30 which seems a bit early!

The staff were really helpful, taking you directly to your room, much appreciated as easily could get lost, then organised a taxi for me leaving really early on my last morning.

All in all I would probably stay again if I was looking for budget accommodation.

Room Tip: My room didn't have wifi but others do so best to check if that's an issue for people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lou21017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay in Dublin with a large family I would recommend Trinity College. It's located right next to the Temple Bar area and a short walk from wonderful tourist sites and restaurants. The staff is efficient and friendly. Our room was recently remodeled. It was spotless and well laid out. The furniture is what you would expect for dorms (see their webpage for examples). The beds were comfortable and the bedrooms were large enough for sleeping but not much more than that. The rooms we were assigned had a set of bedrooms behind a set of locked doors. The bathrooms were across the hall from the bedrooms. There were 2 separate bathrooms, one large and one small. Each bathroom had a shower, sink and toilet. There was also a large room with a table/chairs we used for playing games and eating. There was a small kitchen area supplied with tea, coffee, dishes, and basic supplies for cooking. The doors were heavy and were fairly loud. The door slamming was a little frequent and noisy.

Housekeeping did a great job keeping the rooms clean and supplied us each with towels and soap/shampoo and a paper bath mat.

The campus was beautiful and was a highlight of our trip. The Book of Kells museum was worth the trip just by itself.

The breakfast was nice. Our boys got enough to eat and loved the selection. Expect cafeteria style atmosphere instead of high class dining. We got Irish Breakfast tickets for each day and they were a good value.

The campus has good wifi and is free with the room.

Since we didn't have a television in our room, we went to the Pavillion (the "Pav") and watched
soccer with the students. The Pav has limited food (decent fish/chips) and good beer. It overlooks a beautiful grass sports pitch and is a short walk from the dorms and the museum. Service is friendly and the managers may come by your table to chat. It can be crowded with students at times.

If you are looking for a top notch hotel, don't stay here. If you are travelling with older children or other adults and are looking for an ideal Dublin location and a campus experience, this is the place for you. We had a lot of fun here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower level if you have trouble with stairs or have a lot of luggage. Beware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rmpeterson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The location in the center of Dublin is excellent and the atmosphere is memorable, especially during the hours when there are few tourists (morning and evening) when the park areas are so peaceful.
My single room was very adequate with its own bathroom and all the basics plus access to a nearby kitchen area.
The price includes an adequate breakfast which can be upgraded for a small charge.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Seventy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The location (near Temple Bar and Grafton street), staff at reception and included cold breakfast buffet were very good. The rooms are roomy but basic, no TV, no phone, no AC, and a bit musty smelling. The single beds were very comfortable. For the price we paid 120 Euro for 2 single beds, you can get a better deal at a small hotel. Its pretty expensive for what you get. But we enjoyed being on campus with historic buildings and fairly walkable from the train station.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dragonfly1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,660 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
2,033 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 151 in Dublin
1,420 reviews
Uppercross House Hotel
#77 of 151 in Dublin
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity College Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity College Campus

Address: Dame Street | College Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £59 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trinity College Campus 2*
Number of rooms: 800
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Trinity College Campus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity College Campus Dublin
Trinity College Campus Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing