We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History you can't buy elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trinity College Campus
Ranked #70 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“History you can't buy elsewhere”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms at Trinity are pretty basic and there is no TV.
What you do have is a historic 16th Century location and the
opportunity to see the world famous Book of Kells, probably dating from 9th Century and the
Library which features Ireland's oldest harp, thousands of books and a grand display of busts of the famous. The college buildings, reminiscent of Oxbridge, are magnificent and most though not all of the contemporary additions are in an appropriate style. Well worth it, reasonably priced but you can't buy the ambience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fitz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    191
    104
    36
    15
See reviews for
62
123
90
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I liked the Trinity Campus, but the location it´s not really good, because it´s far to go to central gate. The college is really big, so it´s a good walk to get out or get in. But the room it´s confortable and the breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geórgia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Location was good, food marginal (after all it is a college) and rooms were clean. Not exactly cheap, but very reasonable. Check in was chaotic and slow, but not clerk's fault. If you want to see what the college is like, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice breakfast. Good environment in the famous campus which reminds me of my student days.
But the location is a bit tricky. I know trinity college is at the centre of Dublin, but it is also quite a big campus indeed and these dorm rooms can be located in different corners. Unfortunately with the room allocated to me I had to spend such a long time looking for way back after I went out at night. I have to say it is a beautiful campus, but carrying all my bags and spending a lot of time walking from here to there makes me feel a bit silly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in the dorm rooms on Trinity College's campus July 9-12. These are basic accommodations as expected from a dorm. On the positive side the view from the room was lovely. And you couldn't possibly have a better location to see Dublin. You are in the heart of the city without the loudness of Temple Bar. We also had very good internet access, really close bus stops, and friendly staff.

On the down side, it is a dorm room. Do not expect the Ritz. The shower had plenty of hot water, but was REALLY small. I would say it is 2 feet by 2 feet square. I am 5' 6", 125 lbs. I didn't have trouble using it. However, I had to be careful when I washed my hair because my elbows hit both walls. Other small issues were that the doors badly need WD40 and the light switch to the bathroom is outside behind the door. The maid service disconnected the hinge that automatically closed the bathroom door (not sure if this was on purpose or not), but that helped with the squeaking. The room was cool enough with the window open, even in July.

Breakfast comes with the accommodations. I think you can be satisfied with it. They are very good at explaining what is free and what isn't. After the first day we skipped it and went to a lovely bakery just off Dame Street - Keoghs. Their coffee and muffins are amazing...

We were very happy here. I would absolutely stay here again. But you need to come in understanding that this is totally no frills.

Room Tip: I was in building 30 on the 2nd floor facing the courtyard. The courtyard is protected from the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTwinsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We came for a conference, and found out that colleagues that stayed just outside of campus got much more value for money.
The room was in good size, but the walls were made of paper- we heard everything in the next rooms. There were paper placements at the shower and not even a hand towel.
After checkout, they sent us to the library to deposit our bags for 3 Euro each for the two hours we needed before leaving.
This is not the way to treat business visitors! (Maybe suitable for backpackers only).

Do yourselves a favor - stay elsewhere for the same money.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBS436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is the heart of Dublin - and one of the oldest universities in Europe. Loved staying here but it's not luxury. You're staying in a dormitory. We had 2 single beds (comfortable), a desk and a wardrobe. Spartan but all you really need. Bathroom was really tiny. Shower was so small you literally couldn't bend over - strictly vertical washing. No air conditioning but big windows. Our room was on the Old Library Square which was wonderful because we were steps from The Book of Kells (don't miss it!), but noisy students and tourists passed by the window all night long. Request a room on an upper floor and on the back of the 'house' ( as they call the dorms). Wifi was good, breakfast in student cafeteria offered lots of options. Also they just started offering free parking (extremely rare) - a MAJOR plus in downtown Dublin!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room off the main squares - on the back of the 'house' you're as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 151 in Dublin
1,018 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#81 of 151 in Dublin
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#47 of 151 in Dublin
871 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#88 of 151 in Dublin
566 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity College Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity College Campus

Property: Trinity College Campus
Address: Dame Street | College Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Trinity College Campus 2*
Number of rooms: 800
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Trinity College Campus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity College Campus Dublin
Trinity College Campus Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing