We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trinity College Campus
Ranked #76 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent two nights in an older dorm room containing two twin beds, a table and one chair. The staff in the accommodations office were extremely helpful and even offered to take our bags up the stairs to our room (no elevators in the older buildings). They recommended a taxi service to take us to the airport when we left and booked it for us.

The College is located in downtown Dublin near shopping, museums, and restaurants, which is the draw for staying there. Our first morning we had breakfast in the Buttery, right outside our door. The food was good and plentiful. The second morning we attempted to eat breakfast before our taxi arrived only to be told by a quite rude lady that they were opening late that morning and we would have to come back later. Another couple was also attempting to eat before they left and the man offered money to get even a couple of scones, but the lady refused. At a cost of 166 Euros per night, this was one of the most expensive places we stayed while in Ireland. You definitely pay for convenience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Really superb location. My wife and I stayed for two nights and were pleased. Our twin room was quite large, clean and had everything we needed. Wifi was a bit variable but Continental breakfast in the buttery was good and plentiful. We also had parking for the car in the centre of Dublin.
Many thanks Trinity.
Only one gripe. Pity that the doors slam closed - even when you are trying to avoid it! Can be a problem at 4 am when you hear your neighbour visiting the loo because his en-suite door slams shut!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here during our visit to Ireland. The central location of the campus in Dublin made for a great experience in the city as a whole!

We were near lots of great pubs, restaurants, places to see, etc.

The campus itself had a great exhibit at the library which was a sight to see in itself.

This review is mainly for our accommodations in the dorms during our stay. We were traveling on a budget and so my wife came across the dorms as an option for our stay. It was relatively cheap but very convenient.
The students that run the housing office during the summer were very knowledgable and friendly. The campus has plenty of helpful signage to help you find all the necessary facilities (housing office, dorm building, and dining hall).

Our room was a bit compact for two adults, but not so small that one should complain. It had all the necessities: towels, linens, soap, etc. We had a double bed to share and a small sink in the room. Next to our room was one of the two bathrooms in the wing which we shared with 3 other rooms (so 2 bathrooms for 4 rooms), up to 8 people sharing 2 bathrooms.
The bathrooms appeared to be cleaned daily and were always in adequate hygienic condition. The shower in the bathroom is a little bit of a challenge. I am 6'1 220 lbs, so relatively big guy, and the shower stall has enough space to wash up but do not expect to be comfortable...matter of fact expect to feel a little confined!

Each wing has a little lounge room with a refrigerator, a stove, a microwave and a sink in it. There are couches, chairs and a table as well. This makes for a good place to wind down at the end of the night if the late night bar scene is not your style...or have your morning coffee/tea to kick the day off as well!

I would suggest when booking here to remember it is a college campus first, it just so happens to rent rooms in the summer to tourists. The accommodations are fair and the experience is what you make of it.
We found it to fit our needs quite well given the price and the expectations that we set when booking.

Happy travels:-)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mannygoesplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It's kind of an experience to stay at the Trinity College. It's a huge campus and I think there are various room types. We actually stayed in one of the newer building (Goldsmith Hall), which was at the end of Campus (around 5-10 minutes to the main gate). After we checked in a shuttle bus brought us there. We were two girls, but the rooms are more designed for 1 person. The bed was cozy for us two (small) and the room very small. However ist was very clean. We stayed in an Appartement with 4 rooms and 2 bathrooms and 1 kitchen. The bathrooms were very small as well, but also clean. I think it's quite enough for a city trip where you're not staying in your room that much. The breakfast was okay. It was a regular continental breakfast with all the Basics. I would recommend this place because the Location is perfect and it really gives a good, special (kind of intellectual) feeling to stay there :-)
But be prepared to cuddle with your travelmate.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnnaHamburg1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Booked this place on the understanding that there was free parking as advertised on booking.com. Arrived to be told all the spaces were taken so would have to park my car at a car park where its 16 euro for 24 hours, so this was not a great start. The girls at reception were very friendly though and helpful regarding everything else. Our halls where about a 10 minute walk from reception, our room was lovely and clean, and just what we needed. My friend and I went out for a night out and from reading the information pack we where given knew the only gate open after 12 is the front gate. We arrived at it around 2am and it looked shut with no security in view or anyone to ask, so we where slightly worried at that point and knocked the door quite loudly hoping someone would here, a security man opened the door and literally shouted at us and swore for knocking so loudly, my friend apologised straight away and said i'm sorry we just thought we where locked out, however the security man continued to swear at us and was very angry. Not really the customer service we expected considering the price of the room. The breakfast that came free with the room was good, I really enjoyed it and staff serving were friendly. Check out was at 10am, however there was staff cleaning the one communal shower and bathroom we had from 8.45am, I felt this was an inconvenience as I then had to wait to shower after they where done cleaning and then rush to make check out, surely it would make sense for cleaning to be done after check out, therefore customers can use the facilities they have paid for when suits them. Overall a pretty average experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sarah321321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Spent two nights in the old section of Trinity College. Can't beat the location and value. En suite bathroom was small but adequate, beds were comfortable. Was convenient having a small kitchen down the hall. Wifi was ok but connection sometimes slow. Breakfast was cafeteria style and good. College personnel were helpful and there was an on campus laundry close by. Very quiet at night.

Room Tip: Old campus is best for location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank knitter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

You have to go with the idea that you will be staying in a dormitory room which as you know is a basic setup. Once you realize this, the rooms are fine. The continental breakfast is more than you need so it's not necessary to pay the extra for a hot meal. The best thing about these accomodations is the LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. Dead center in the middle of Dublin and on one of the most beautiful campuses there is. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 150 in Dublin
1,210 reviews
West County Hotel
#84 of 150 in Dublin
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen Lodge
#4 of 150 in Dublin
599 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,046 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#28 of 150 in Dublin
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity College Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity College Campus

Address: Dame Street | College Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £59 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trinity College Campus 2*
Number of rooms: 800
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Trinity College Campus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity College Campus Dublin
Trinity College Campus Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing