We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dublin Art Tours - CLOSED

Dublin Art Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Art Impressions offers two relaxed and intimate art tours within Dublin city – one a National Gallery of Ireland tour with a difference ... and the other a highly informative tour and viewing of the world famous Book of Kells Exhibition. They are both personal and interactive tours combining interest and learning in a light and entertaining morning or afternoon. Maximum 10 people per tour.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
“Brilliant Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Cathy made excellent arrangements to meet us and we proceeded to the National Gallery where we were given an excellent tour of the gallery and different types of paintings, we did not know anything about art going in but on leaving we knew a lot more. Cathy explained the different types of painting and era's they were painted in. Afterwards Cathye treated us to tea and coffee. We then proceeded to the Book of Kells where Cathy briefed us in its history and showed us the displays in the building. Overall this was the most enjoyable tour and Cathy was excellent. I would recommend this tour to everyone. I would give the tour 6 stars if I could,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank vinnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Cathy met my wife and I for a Saturday tour of the National Gallery. She was enthusiastic and informative providing us a chronologic history of art from the Renaissance through to the modern era. We are not art historians but Cathy's indepth knowledge of the gallery made us feel like ones while keeping us entertained for the entire morning. We hope to take her Book of Kells tour this summer. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spoondrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bringing history to life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Cathy met us at the appointed time and took us to see the Book of Kells. She is an extremely knowledgeable, personable and friendly guide who brought the history of this Book alive for us. She took us around to the various displays to explain certain pages and the hidden meanings in them. It was wonderful to hear about it rather than just reading the posters. The 90 minute tour also included a stop in the Trinity College Library Long Room, and she did the same excellent overview with us. We would highly recommend her tours.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank luvtrvl525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Enriching experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Excellent! This was the perfect way to spend a morning with friends at the National Gallery.
The structure of the tour is so consistent from beginning to end that it makes it effortlessly simple to follow and remember all the information.
Our tour guide Cathy beautifully unwrapped the secrets of the masterpieces in a fresh an entertaining manner.
I'm definetly taking the Book of Kells tour next!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Viviana-Eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A talented guide with a knack for making art accessible for people of all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were offered Cathy's tour for the Book of Kells as part of a hotel package, and the experience was absolutely delightful. We are a family of three with a seven year old daughter. Cathy made the Book of Kells come alive for our daughter and for us. My daughter is still talking about the things she saw, and Cathy's explanations made it something that she (and we) will remember forever. It profoundly enriched our experience. If and when I return to Dublin, I will book another one of her tours. She makes art fascinating and fun and accessible.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank LoriAylett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dublin Art Tours also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing