We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercantile Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Sweeney(Dublin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blooms Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Eliza Lodge(Dublin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
86
140
109
50
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
140
109
50
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstemple bardame stgreat locationprovide ear plugsearly nightgreat bartrinity collegebit datedtop floorhotel is situatedbars and restaurantscity centreguinness storehousevisiting dublinfull irish breakfastolympianightlife
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I've stayed in this hotel a number of times over the past couple of years. The rooms are basic and quite small but the hotel has a friendly, cosy feel to it. The lady on reception is extremely helpful. The hotel bar serves delicious cocktails, the margaritas in particular. The location is perfect for going out or shopping, you're right in the middle of everything. The only downside is there can be quiet a bit of noise at weekends and you may have to negotiate your way through crowds of smokers and drinkers outside to get into the hotel at night. Maybe not great for a family break.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthWestLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at the Mercantile for 3 nights. The hotel is in the trendy Temple Bar area, which is the late night party spot in Dublin. As such, it was as noisy as expected but I didn't lose any sleep - and I'm a light sleeper. The room's furniture was dated but comfortable, there was a hot water pot and tea in the room, and our bathroom was large. The internet service only worked in the lobby area, which was little more than a hallway and quite noisy since it was adjacent to the Mercantile Bar.

Of the 5 hotels we stayed in while traveling in Europe, the reception staff at the Mercantile was the most friendly and helpful. We had already booked tours when we arrived, but the charming lady at the front desk was quick to offer suggestions on places to eat, things to do, and sights to see. She also was incredibly helpful in giving directions to particular locations in the area.

When we arrived back to the hotel later in the evenings, access was limited via room cards due to the bar scene, and strangely from time to time we'd see a "go see someone at the bar" sign at the reception desk in the later evening. Overall though, it was a reasonably priced comfortable hotel in the heart of the busiest area in Dublin.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mercantile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We love to get positive feedback and are delighted that you were happy with the service you recived here at the Mercantile Hotel.
We hope you make a return trip and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel Had old fashioned furniture but was very clean and the very big bed had lovely crisp clean sheets. The shower had plenty of hot water and the water pressure was great. There was a bath in the room which was good also. Bit noisy outside at night but that's to be expected in dublin city centre. The room was toasty warm. But the best thing about the hotel was the staff. Although our dealings were minimal, From booking to check out, They were so friendly and accommodating. We arrived in a rush to eat and get ready for a wedding and the man that checked us in was so helpful in making food suggestions and in the end food was delivered to our room with no apparent room Service charge. The staff waved us off in our way to the wedding and asked about it on our return and checkout. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanae_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at Mercantile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercantile Hotel. Our hotel is located in the city centre and we do experience some on street noise but we do have quiet rooms for light sleepers.
We really look forward to welcoming you back to The Mercantile Hotel in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

When my partner and I booked the Mercantile Hotel, the website stated that breakfast was included and we also had a conformation receipt proving this however, when we went down for breakfast on our first morning there, we were charged. Even though we had a reciept to prove that we had booked the room and breakfast. Although there was noise form the street below during the night, this is to be expected being situated in the center of Dublin however, being woken up early every morning by barrels being thrown into the beer celler was not how we wanted to be awaked on holiday. As this process went on for a long time, there was no chance of a lie in: perhaps an investment in double glazing is required?
The room was clean and presentable, it is just a shame I got very little sleep and cheated out of 3 breakfasts we had actually paid for and didn't receive. We won't be staying here again and won't be recomending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dramaqueenhbpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mercantile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We note your comments in relation to breakkfast, Should you have brough this to our attention at the front desk, we would have immediately rectified the problem for you.
We are located in the city centre and housed within a listed building, this limits the amount of work we can do on our windows. Although we would love to install double glazing, the preservation order on the building will not allow this.
We do have some quite rooms which we recommend light sleepers to request which makes their stay more comfortable.
We endeavour at all times to offer our guests the very best possible service and we do apologise if your experience was less than it should have been. We would love the opportunity to correct this and should you wish to visit Dublin again, please contact us directly for the very best possible rate.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review. we welcome all feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were seeing a gig at the Olympia and this hotel is within spitting distance. Read some other reviews and can agree with most of them. We were in room 401 and unfortunately one of the windows wouldn't close properly which did mean that the traffic noise from outside wasn't completely silenced at night. My booking was for a queen or King room but this was obviously for a leprechaun (yes I know that was a cheap Irish shot) as it was a tiny bed, but was comfortable.

The room was clean but the bathroom. Is dated with certain fixtures looking tired.
The Full Irish breakfast was nothing to write home about as it filled us up but was way too greasy with grease splashes all over the plate. The coffee? Nasty.

The service though was very friendly and smiling staff always helps. The bar was a nice spot to have a Guinness or six. Would I come back to the Mercantile? Yes definitely. Would I recommend it? Yes again. The price is more than reasonable and the "Sam's Barbers" next door was perfect for a quick haircut.

Conclusion: sort out the tired looking fixtures and fittings and give the King or Queen beds to those who have booked them.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hthebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at Mercantile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to wrte your review. We have undertaken some maintenance to our windows in an effort to limit the noise from the street below.
Your comments in relation to breakfast are also noted and have been addressed.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that your overall experience was positive, we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews