We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Good Standard”
Review of Mercantile Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #112 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location and Good Standard”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed in a quad room with three friends, room had a double bed and two single beds....Room was very big, and bathroom was lovely. Great location in the city centre and yes there was some noise but its a busy city so its to be expected! Was a bit nervous on check-in as I had read some of the reviews but the room was great and shouldnt have been worried at all. Would recommend this hotel to everyone and will stay in it again :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishnic1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    133
    97
    45
    48
See reviews for
59
111
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Otaki Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Mercantile Hotel is in a great location if you don't mind staying awake most of the night. Local hotels seem to stay open to the wee small hours every day.
The staff there are very helpful, but the building needs a lot of work done to it. My room was small and the furniture was tatty, missing handles to drawers etc. Small room with dark furniture, walls and bed covers makes for a very dull and uninviting appearance. Breakfast OK.....

Room Tip: My room was out the back and was very noisy, as there were two pubs in the lane below, I spoke to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annas67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed in a triple room in this hotel for the night.My two sisters and I were going to Westlife we paid 93 euro each for just the room, no breakfast. I think we were totally ripped off. Basic is an understatement. The room was pretty small and very shabby.The beds were like sleeping on concrete. There was very little light coming into the room as the window was facing the building next door. There was pigeons everywhere, the sill was full of pigeon dirt and they were perched on the ledge for most of our stay. The bathroom tiles were all cracked and broken and there was holes in the wall in the bathroom.The curtains were full of stains and smelly they did not seem to have ever been cleaned. Yes the bed sheets were clean but thats about it. The staff were all very nice as well but overall very very basic.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 486donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
north west
Level Contributor
193 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I've stayed in this hotel a number of times over the past couple of years. The rooms are basic and quite small but the hotel has a friendly, cosy feel to it. The lady on reception is extremely helpful. The hotel bar serves delicious cocktails, the margaritas in particular. The location is perfect for going out or shopping, you're right in the middle of everything. The only downside is there can be quiet a bit of noise at weekends and you may have to negotiate your way through crowds of smokers and drinkers outside to get into the hotel at night. Maybe not great for a family break.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthWestLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at the Mercantile for 3 nights. The hotel is in the trendy Temple Bar area, which is the late night party spot in Dublin. As such, it was as noisy as expected but I didn't lose any sleep - and I'm a light sleeper. The room's furniture was dated but comfortable, there was a hot water pot and tea in the room, and our bathroom was large. The internet service only worked in the lobby area, which was little more than a hallway and quite noisy since it was adjacent to the Mercantile Bar.

Of the 5 hotels we stayed in while traveling in Europe, the reception staff at the Mercantile was the most friendly and helpful. We had already booked tours when we arrived, but the charming lady at the front desk was quick to offer suggestions on places to eat, things to do, and sights to see. She also was incredibly helpful in giving directions to particular locations in the area.

When we arrived back to the hotel later in the evenings, access was limited via room cards due to the bar scene, and strangely from time to time we'd see a "go see someone at the bar" sign at the reception desk in the later evening. Overall though, it was a reasonably priced comfortable hotel in the heart of the busiest area in Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mercantile Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We love to get positive feedback and are delighted that you were happy with the service you recived here at the Mercantile Hotel.
We hope you make a return trip and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel Had old fashioned furniture but was very clean and the very big bed had lovely crisp clean sheets. The shower had plenty of hot water and the water pressure was great. There was a bath in the room which was good also. Bit noisy outside at night but that's to be expected in dublin city centre. The room was toasty warm. But the best thing about the hotel was the staff. Although our dealings were minimal, From booking to check out, They were so friendly and accommodating. We arrived in a rush to eat and get ready for a wedding and the man that checked us in was so helpful in making food suggestions and in the end food was delivered to our room with no apparent room Service charge. The staff waved us off in our way to the wedding and asked about it on our return and checkout. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanae_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at Mercantile Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercantile Hotel. Our hotel is located in the city centre and we do experience some on street noise but we do have quiet rooms for light sleepers.
We really look forward to welcoming you back to The Mercantile Hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

When my partner and I booked the Mercantile Hotel, the website stated that breakfast was included and we also had a conformation receipt proving this however, when we went down for breakfast on our first morning there, we were charged. Even though we had a reciept to prove that we had booked the room and breakfast. Although there was noise form the street below during the night, this is to be expected being situated in the center of Dublin however, being woken up early every morning by barrels being thrown into the beer celler was not how we wanted to be awaked on holiday. As this process went on for a long time, there was no chance of a lie in: perhaps an investment in double glazing is required?
The room was clean and presentable, it is just a shame I got very little sleep and cheated out of 3 breakfasts we had actually paid for and didn't receive. We won't be staying here again and won't be recomending it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dramaqueenhbpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mercantile Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We note your comments in relation to breakkfast, Should you have brough this to our attention at the front desk, we would have immediately rectified the problem for you.
We are located in the city centre and housed within a listed building, this limits the amount of work we can do on our windows. Although we would love to install double glazing, the preservation order on the building will not allow this.
We do have some quite rooms which we recommend light sleepers to request which makes their stay more comfortable.
We endeavour at all times to offer our guests the very best possible service and we do apologise if your experience was less than it should have been. We would love the opportunity to correct this and should you wish to visit Dublin again, please contact us directly for the very best possible rate.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review. we welcome all feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
1,002 reviews
The Central Hotel
#94 of 151 in Dublin
884 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#83 of 151 in Dublin
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#78 of 151 in Dublin
2,234 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#65 of 151 in Dublin
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercantile Hotel

Property: Mercantile Hotel
Address: The Adams Trinity Hotel 28 Dame Street, Dublin 0000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercantile Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing