We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week”
Review of Mercantile Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #115 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Rieti, Lazio, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great week”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

As most dubliner says, the Mercantile is probably one of the best pubs on Dublin. The hotel is very classic with a very good service and make you feel the atmosphere of these wonderfull city. The staff is great, as all the Irish people, always smiling and ready to help you. The locacion is perfect, this hotel will be your personal door to Temple Bar and is near to all Dublin's attractions. Every night the Mercantile has good music and, expecially on saturday, is full of nice people. The restaurant need a special mention, the menù is simple and made just with the best (Ramsay will be proud) so every choise is the best choise. If you are going to visit Dublin, you must go, even just for a drink, to this amazing place ... you are gonna fall in love ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAngellucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    135
    98
    47
    51
See reviews for
61
116
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Our first visit to Dublin could not have been better, having booked in at the Mercantile, on Dame Street. Our room was more than adequate with a comfy bed. The hotel is in a brilliant location for both sightseeing and shopping, in for example, Grafton Street, O'Connell Street and surrounding areas....remember to visit the Guinness factory experience....Hoping to pay a return visit !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langtoun-Wullie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

During a day out in Dublin while we were on vacation in the Wicklows, we Stopped there for lunch on our way from the Medieval part of the city to Trinity college. We enjoyed the food and the drinks and loved the cosy atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizTrouillas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

On arrival the desk staff was very friendly but on return from a concert we were faced with the rudest barman / night porter I have ever come across. The doors were clearly locked when we used our key card to get in & he barked at us saying we were doing it wrong. He then refused to serve all but one of us at the bar & would not allow any charges to be put on the room. I had booked the room online & when I asked for a copy of my booking I was horrifed that all my credit card details were on the booking and the same barman had access to print it off. In my profession I practically live out of hotels and can honestly say I have never ever been treated in such a rude and disgusting manner. The rooms are very run down and nothing like what's shown on their website with high noise levels which you might excuse for a good location. Stay well clear of this place.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the room they have on their website photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KuriousKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Was perfect location for doing what we wanted to do in downtown Dublin. Only 1-2 blocks from the Old Stone Church where several day tours leave from. Has free Wi-Fi but doesn't always work in the room. Be careful, the door to our room opened to a staircase we weren't warned about, I was lucky to notice them in time to avoid falling. Rooms are older but fine, and we had earplugs so the street noise didn't bother us. Our wake-up call the morning of our flight back was 15 minutes late, so make sure you have your travel alarm set.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3wilddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We chose this hotel based on 1) location and 2) price, and we're not disappointed. The hotel is located close to all the major sites, and is just a block from a hop-on-hop-off bus stop, as well as being very near restaurants, bars, and shopping. The hotel staff was very helpful. While the hotel is rather worn, it was clean and was a great value. It was rather noisy Sunday night due to the bar party life in the area, but was much more quiet the rest of our stay.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We loved the location, and everyone on your staff was warm and helpful. However, the noise at night was unbearable. We could not talk to each other or watch tv. I've traveled to over 45 countries, and previously, my noisiest hotel experience was a hotel next to a camel farm in Egypt. But at least there, the animals also slept at night, it was just the crazy sounds at dawn. Here, the DJ played until 3am. One would have to be completely drunk to sleep through it.

The room was small, and greatly needed updating. There was tiny TV.

We did sincerely enjoy the staff, and the breakfast was tasty. We enjoyed the location, but we could never stay there again. Perhaps just for drinks at the bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank american_foxhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
1,024 reviews
The Central Hotel
#95 of 151 in Dublin
906 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#88 of 151 in Dublin
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,479 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#81 of 151 in Dublin
2,289 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercantile Hotel

Property: Mercantile Hotel
Address: The Adams Trinity Hotel 28 Dame Street, Dublin 0000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercantile Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Lastminute, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing