We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Mercantile Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #116 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great little hotel. Friendly, attentive staff.

Good fry up in the morning - and a really good hotel bar.

I personally had no noise issues, despite being right on the road - perhaps that was the Guiness.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Mercantile Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

I had a couple of nights in the Mercantile.
I arrived very early at the hotel, and the hotel staff on the reception were very accommodating, and got me a room within half an hour. Thank you.
The downside was, it was facing Dame Street, and was very noisy.
They did however offer me a room at the back, which was lovely and quiet. Thank it.
It was a small double room, nicely decorated, but a little warm.
The shower in the room was a little unreliable, but when it was working, the water pressure was good.
The hotel is in a good location, close to Temple Bar and the shops in Grafton Street.
There are some nice restaurants around and the Mercantile bar is nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from Dame Street
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cygnetboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spent luckily only one night at this hotel. Surrounding is quite noisy, we used our travel earplugs to be able to sleep. Very old room and furnitures. It is more likely a hostel room rather than a hotel room, don't expect any luxury. Safe was already locked! We paid way too much for his poor room. I think it is too expensive for its condition, we had to get drunk to sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haleantibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I selected this hotel because of its location, which was great. It is near all the historic Dublin city sights as well as Temple Bar nightlife, Grafton Street shopping and Trinity College. The Mercantile bar and restaurants downstairs is beautiful, too. I like old buildings and was expecting this one to have some worn-in energy. So I was not surprised to find nicks in the furnishings and old tile and fittings in the bathroom. What I was not expecting was the heat-wave Dublin was going to be experiencing while I stayed there. The rooms do not have air conditioning, which is typical for the city. However, they also do not have fans and that would have made all the difference. The air was stagnant and humid in the hotel rooms and we were uncomfortable the entirety of our stay. We also had trouble sleeping because of the lumpy beds and stiff pillows. The noise outside from the neighboring bars did not help either. The stay would have been perfectly nice had we had a fan in our room and better mattresses and/or pillows.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with some friends during a weekend trip to Dublin. Nice somewhat worn hotel with pub/restaurant downstairs. Hotel was clean but pretty nondescript. Small flat screen tv, bed, comforter, pillow, bathtub, shower. Furniture was dated and seen its better days. Staff was.very nice, friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions for touring.
Location was absolutely perfect, centrally located for temple bar pubs, shopping, trinity college,archaeology museum,
Somewhat loud at night given the location but beds were comfortable and I had no problem sleeping.....I don't know, maybe the Guinness.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in May on business. The reception staff were extremely helpful and offered us some good tips when visiting the city. I had a double room 202 on the second floor facing the main road and as most people have pointed out the rooms are a little tired in places which is to be expected but there is no excuse for cleanliness. Most people have also pointed out the problems with the windows and noise and I agree it is unfortunate and although you expect noise in the centre of Dublin it was like having the window open! Luckily I sleep through most things so my night sleep wasn't too disturbed. Some small changes to this hotel could make such a big difference. Breakfast at the hotel was good although I didn't go for the full Irish the Continental was excellent.
The location of the hotel is excellent and I would also recommend visiting the Cafe shop next door which had a wonderful selection of cakes and sandwiches

Room Tip: The higher floors will be quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexs186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed here while visiting some friends for 2 days. Location is AMAZING! The hop on hop off bus pick up was very close. There are city bus stops very close. The drop off and pick up for the airport was very close by as well. The restaurant was nice, however, we only had breakfast there as it was included. We loved the pub scene here. It was great!! Live band, singers, and great people. Truly and Irish culture, not so American like Temple Bar.

Room Tip: For a great place to sleep and enjoy the nightlife this place is great
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandiseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 150 in Dublin
1,039 reviews
The Central Hotel
#102 of 150 in Dublin
913 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#78 of 150 in Dublin
2,316 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#91 of 150 in Dublin
577 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercantile Hotel

Address: The Adams Trinity Hotel 28 Dame Street, Dublin 0000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £103 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercantile Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Lastminute, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing