We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great budget hotel with awesome staff and location.”
Review of Mercantile Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #113 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great budget hotel with awesome staff and location.”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My friend and I were staying at a HORRID hotel, so bad that we went walking about to find somewhere else to stay. We headed for the area we wanted and liked the looks of The Mercantile. Upon entering the gleaming, wood-paneled lobby with a massive arrangement of star-gazers, we were greeted by the loveliest woman at the front desk. She fixed us up with a room immediately, we got the last room. PHEW! Even though this is clearly an older hotel it thankfully had an elevator and I was pleased there were no funky smells (my personal pet peeve). Our room was very clean with a view overlooking Dame street. I was impressed by the good-sized bathroom for a budget hotel, it even had a tub! The beds were fine. Now, if you are looking for very quiet stay, this may not be the hotel for you. Our room was on the Dame St. side which overlooks a hustling and bustling Dublin, afternoon and evening. That's what we wanted, to see and experience the city and people. Apparently rooms on the alley side are quieter. The location of the hotel is premium, minutes walk to anything, Temple Bar, Trinity College, shopping, about 30 minutes to the Guinness Storehouse. There's an amazing high-end grocery store one block south and another block over is the best French Bakery/Cafe I've ever been in, Le Petite Parisian. Directly out the door is "The Stag's Head" Bar and two others. The bar that is attached to the hotel is just beautiful, unfortunately I didn't discover it until the last night or I would've been in there more. I just loved the ladies that manned the front desk. They offered directions, advice, and one of them nearly vaulted over the counter as I walked out the front doors with my handbag slung over my back, instead of under my arm. She caught me just going out the door and spun my bag around so it was in the front, warning me of all the pickpockets. We really felt like we were being taken care of by our long-lost aunts, especially this being a girl's trip. If you're looking for a great central location on a budget and don't mind hearing the city, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Hip party-people you want a room on the Dame St. side. If you want a quieter room, ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyRiordanCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    131
    94
    44
    48
See reviews for
58
110
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel on a guys sports weekend. The hotel is clean and basic and really central. For the price charged this hotel is ideal for a cheap and cheerful weekend. It is in a great location for sites and nightlife. No negatives and would return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandDatOCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed in June. Window broken in room, no fridge no milk on comp tray. Went to ask for milk, was given jug. (No fridge - milk went sour) The best thing about this hotel is 2 feet away is temple bar. Nothing else is good, noise is strong all night long. The hotel bar is not at all gay friendly, doormen refused access - until we showed our room key. Breakfast ok ish, but ample. No cooked breakfast included in tariff, just continental. (With toast)

Room Tip: dont think there is a good room - all are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5teviechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Service:
When we got to the hotel, the receptionist said all but 2 words to us. She handed over the keys and said the room number and that was it. No 'hi' or 'welcome to dublin' or 'where are you from', etc. Nothing at all. You could tell that she was less than content to be at work.

The next day, we left our room for some city exploring. When we came back to the hotel room later on that evening, the door to our room was WIDE OPEN. We couldn't believe it. We spent a good 30 minutes going through our suitcases to make sure nothing had been taken and miraculously, nothing was gone. We went to tell the receptionist and she just apologized and said she'd talk to the manager the next day. I kept thinking of how irresponsible that was, that a staff member would leave the door to a customer's room for an entire day. Anyways, the next day, the lady that had left our door open gave us a heartfelt apology and left us a bottle of champagne in the room that evening. I was glad that the hotel had taken responsibility and had apologized but still, it would have been brutal had our luggage and passports been taken.

Room and location:
Apart from that, the rooms were clean and the hotel was in an amazing location. If you're okay with being woken up every morning at 7:30am by kegs being rolled right beneath your window on the cobblestone street, than you should be okay. Also, the noise from the bars on the street go on until about 2am. We brought ear plugs and knew that it would be noisy but we didn't realize that it would be THAT noisy. Still, i'm glad we stayed at that hotel for the price and the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Protraveller1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great little hotel. Friendly, attentive staff.

Good fry up in the morning - and a really good hotel bar.

I personally had no noise issues, despite being right on the road - perhaps that was the Guiness.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
296 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I had a couple of nights in the Mercantile.
I arrived very early at the hotel, and the hotel staff on the reception were very accommodating, and got me a room within half an hour. Thank you.
The downside was, it was facing Dame Street, and was very noisy.
They did however offer me a room at the back, which was lovely and quiet. Thank it.
It was a small double room, nicely decorated, but a little warm.
The shower in the room was a little unreliable, but when it was working, the water pressure was good.
The hotel is in a good location, close to Temple Bar and the shops in Grafton Street.
There are some nice restaurants around and the Mercantile bar is nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from Dame Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cygnetboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, france
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spent luckily only one night at this hotel. Surrounding is quite noisy, we used our travel earplugs to be able to sleep. Very old room and furnitures. It is more likely a hostel room rather than a hotel room, don't expect any luxury. Safe was already locked! We paid way too much for his poor room. I think it is too expensive for its condition, we had to get drunk to sleep!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haleantibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#73 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
The Central Hotel
#92 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#81 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#79 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzsimons Hotel
Fitzsimons Hotel
#133 of 151 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercantile Hotel

Property: Mercantile Hotel
Address: The Adams Trinity Hotel 28 Dame Street, Dublin 0000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercantile Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing