We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ”
Review of Mercantile Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #115 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dingle, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location ”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I find the location of this hotel to be fantastic when staying with my groups. Impossible to get any more central. The bar is lively and fun also and the price of rooms is usually very reasonable and there are good deals at certain times of the year

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Milltown D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    135
    98
    47
    51
See reviews for
61
116
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a quite old building, a bit rough around the edges but clean and well looked after. The location is brilliant - if you are looking for downtown, noisy fun that is.

The hotel has a very popular bar and just around the corner you will find an infinite number of places which has a mix of locals and tourists.

The rooms are in need of a big proper restoration but are of decent size (as was our bathroom). However, keep in mind this is a very noisy and busy area, and that goes on until 4am in the morning. You will even find ear plugs in the rooms since they are well aware of this.

The staff is very helpful and friendly and we would definitely go back for a few good nights out in town!

Room Tip: The further up the floors, the less noise from the street. But the elevator will take forever every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweMatt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for a two week period. I normally stay down the street when visiting but they were booked up for my stay so I chose the Mercantile and couldn't have been happier!! The place was gorgeous and the staff (especially Maura) were extremely accommodating! I arrived early and they let me leave my bags locked up so that I could go and get busy in Dublin. The room was absolutely beautiful and very clean. Couldn't have been a better choice! Will be a coin toss when I return as to my normal hotel or this one!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim04182013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 7 days. The hotel is bit old and worned out, but the food is soo good. The people that work there is so nice and helpfull. The hotell is on a good place. Do visit this place. It is a good place to stay

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed Here in march for three nights . Staff were excellent,Helpful,Informative Rooms were clean and well attended.Great location ,nothing was to much trouble.The hotel Had a great atmosphere.and we would return .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is for the restaurant. The food was good, the place extremely dark, service was okay, and the selection is very limited. I don't think I have been to a place where literally three tables got up and left while we sat there. There really was only about 5 choices for lunch so like today if you did not want the Irish stew or a hamburger you were mostly out of luck. Now the food itself was not bad. It wasn't the best stew I've ever had, but everything at least tasted fresh and the bread was quite tasty. My companion had the chicken sandwich and loved it.

Room Tip: I cannot rate the hotel, but I'd eat elsewhere. Too many choices on Dame Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenixroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was a very nice, very well-maintained and clean hotel in a great location. The room was great. Staff on the desk were very friendly.

However, it's directly above a very busy and popular pub, so it was quite noisy at night, even in the room. The hotel had supplied ear plugs, though, which was thoughtful! As long as you don't mind a bit of noise, I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#78 of 151 in Dublin
1,024 reviews
The Central Hotel
#96 of 151 in Dublin
906 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#88 of 151 in Dublin
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,481 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#81 of 151 in Dublin
2,289 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercantile Hotel

Property: Mercantile Hotel
Address: The Adams Trinity Hotel 28 Dame Street, Dublin 0000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercantile Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Lastminute, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing