We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID”
Review of The Temple Bar Pub

The Temple Bar Pub
Ranked #10 of 287 Nightlife in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cool and quirky pub, popular among artists and poets.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“AVOID”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Rude staff serving arguably the most expensive pints of Guinness in the world. It'd nearly be cheaper for the Americans to order their pints from home, and have them flown in to the states in a refrigerated private jet.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gabertag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,015
    600
    152
    41
    62
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Contrived Irishness at a price”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I suppose you should stick your head in to see what all the fuss is about but I wouldn't hang around.
The whole atmosphere is completely artificial: it just tries too hard to be Irish. Smoking area is inside, albeit without a roof, so the smoke drifts into the rest of the pub. Massively expensive - more so even than hotels, theatres and sports stadia where you know you're going to take a hit in the pocket. Best avoided.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank worrierking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent - loved it!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We just went it to see around this famous irish pub and drink a pint of Guinness - we got seats up at the bar & really enjoyed our beer. Very touristy but it didn't matter as the real irish feel was there and my daughter just loved it!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cbidule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive Snobbery”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Myself and my girlfriend recently spent a couple of days in the Temple Bar district of Dublin. While our break away was for the most part great, we ended up with a sour taste in our mouth after our visit to this iconic pub.

Being such a talked about pub, my girlfriend had looked forward to visiting The Temple Bar Pub. Unfortunately, the one pint we bought there on the eve of our arrival came at the most expensive price we've had to pay for a pint anywhere in Ireland. We also had to wait several minutes to get served despite being seated at the bar where a barman chatted nonchalantly to his mate. By the time we got served, a queue of tourists had already built up behind us with many leaving annoyed at the waiting time.

Nevertheless, while out the next night, we decided to return for a pint and see what the place was like after dark. Alas, we never got that opportunity. Before even stepping within 10 feet of the door, the bouncer standing by it told us that we had already drank too much - this is after coming from a drink and some food further up the street. In no way were we too inebriated to enter the bar and the disgust of my girlfriend at this off-handed dismissal was entirely justified.
To add fuel to the fire, a group of about 4 American tourists wobbling behind us and laughing loudly were allowed entry without a second thought. And as if that wasn't enough, as we walked away from the bar, irritated at the disgraceful treatment by the doorman, his fellow doorman (who had been behind us smoking a cigarette) could be heard confusedly asking him what problem he had with letting us in the door.

In short, if you want to grab a reasonably priced pint in a pub in Temple Bar, avoid this tourist trap at all costs. Instead, you might want to visit the nearby Norseman or Bad Bob's where the staff are friendly and courteous and the price of the pints won't empty your wallet with the first round.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank DMurphy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Over Rated!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

People rave on and on about The Temple Bar. I thought it was very over rated. It was dark, dingey, stickey and extremely over priced. The staff were very friendly but dont think I would be in any rush to return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinéad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Temple Bar Pub also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Temple Bar Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing