We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful culture visit”

National Gallery of Ireland
Book In Advance
More Info
US$53.21*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #58 of 503 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Gallery of Ireland holds the national collection of European and Irish fine art. Admission is free to the permanent and temporary collections. The gallery is currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment plan and remains partly open to the public during the works. Please note that entrance to the gallery is via the Clare Street entrance.Masterpieces from the Collection is a special presentation of some of the finest works in the Gallery's collection, now open in the Beit Wing and Millennium Wing (rooms 1 - 10). It includes both Irish and European masterpieces.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
167 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A peaceful culture visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

There is a big programme of upgrading which means you have to go in through a side door. It' a bit hard to find your way around as some of the rooms seem to be closed, but the works on show are well selected, well hung and well lit, and make for a pleasurable hour or two. There is a very good shop and a nice looking coffee shop. It is a joy to go into, free of charge, and with no hassle.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lawnturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatGalIrl, Visitor Services at National Gallery of Ireland, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of your visit to the National Gallery. We are always delighted to hear that kind of feedback from our visitors. Refurbishment of the Gallery is scheduled to be completed by mid-2016 so unfortunately partial room closures will continue for the time being. All the news, current exhibitions, events can be found on our website, so you can easily plan your future visit. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    438
    187
    41
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fell flat on expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

I have been putting off going here for years and when I finally got a day off I thought I would treat myself to a bit of irish art culture, only to be disappointed. I was expecting a lot more paintings from ireland and anywhere in general but there were the Masterpiece collection then the print gallery upstairs and that was it.

They staff were very friendly and attentive but the free audio guide doesn't have a lot to say as very few had information about them on it( apart from the blurb on the side of the paintings themselves). I was told that there will be lots to show in the future as they are renovating and extending out the back but not until 2015- 2017. There were no Irish paintings on show when I was there but that was because of them getting it ready for an exhibition in the near future.

Was disappointed in the size and expanse of the place but with alot of empty space, I am so glad the entrance and audio guide are both free of charge.

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pogs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatGalIrl, Visitor Services at National Gallery of Ireland, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to the National Gallery. I'm very sorry that you were disappointed by the limited number of Irish paintings available during our refurbishment. We are currently re-hanging our Irish Masterpieces section in preparation for a new exhibition opening in October. We hope to have a small selection of Irish Masterpieces on view towards the end of September. All the news, current exhibitions, events can be found on our website, so you can easily plan your future visit. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Go see Ireland's favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Make a point to see "Meeting on the Turret Stairs", Ireland's favorite painting. To protect the color, it is only available for viewing 3 hours per week! It is extraordinary. They also have a Vermeer, a Renoir and a Monet - nice collection. And it is free!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LAB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatGalIrl, Visitor Services at National Gallery of Ireland, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review! We are always delighted to hear that kind of feedback from our visitors. At present The Meeting on the Turret Stairs is not available for viewing due to a re-hang in the Irish Masterpieces section. We hope to have it back on view as soon as possible. All the current news, exhibitions, events can be found on our website, so you can easily plan your future visit. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We visited the National Art Gallery with our granddaughter on 27th August 2014. I was a regular visitor to the gallery in the 80s and always enjoyed the well managed layout and the restaurant/cafe. Unfortunately things seem to have gone backwards since. I understand there is a rebuilding programme at the old main entrance which will not be completed until 2016?? The paintings are as beautiful as always. However one aspect of the temporary entrance which I immediately disliked was the large collection boxes unmissable in the gallery lobby area. These are like giant begging bowls for tourists. (What must they think) Is the national art gallery not fully funded by the government. The spacious cafe/restaurant resembles a canteen in its layout and is completely soulless. Not one picture on the wall (art gallery???) budding artists displaying their work springs to mind...and food just ok and pricey enough. The toilets were ok but only ok.
Plenty of room for improvement we think.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank unigis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A wonderful collection!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

If you are in Dublin a trip to the national gallery is a just. Some of the most beautiful paintings in the world are housed here. Entry is free and the gallery is very easy to navigate. It really is well worth the time, and that is what you should take to enjoy it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatGalIrl, Visitor Services at National Gallery of Ireland, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review! We are always delighted to hear that kind of feedback from our visitors. All the news, current exhibitions, events can be find on our website, so you can easily plan your future visit. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Gallery of Ireland also viewed

 

Been to National Gallery of Ireland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing