We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner Treat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brazen Head

The Brazen Head
Ranked #12 of 286 Nightlife in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dublin's oldest pub is still kicking: a fun, friendly bar with lots of atmosphere.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Dinner Treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Staying in the Staycity Apartments around the corner we were recommended the Brazen Head for something to eat. We arrived at approximately 7pm on a lovely summer evening. The pub was alive with people sitting outside and the inside was packed. We were very lucky to find a table and ordered some food. The pub is the oldest in Ireland and is a fascinating place to visit. The food was excellent the best Pasta Carbonara I have ever tasted. Excellent quick service, great staff. We will be back very soon!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazFinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    264
    69
    27
    21
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Despite arriving on a Friday evening, we were quite surprised to be seated immediately. The service was prompt and the food & ale very, very delicious!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraMOAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbellford, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Love love love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is just an awesome little pub. My favourite part is the courtyard on a sunny afternoon. It can get very busy, obviously - this is a famous place that is reputedly the oldest pub in Ireland. The downstairs bar has great atmosphere, even if the doorway is a little low - watch your head! It's fun to read all the different badges that people have left from all over the world on the wall behind the bar. They serve a perfect pint, and will teach you how to pour one, too, complete with certificate! I usually have the burger when I eat there, and it is always cooked perfectly and very tasty. Otherwise, the only thing I can give an "expert" opinion on is the Guinness! Definitely worth a visit if you're in Dublin.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTara73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uinted Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional pub in Dublin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This pub was well located within walking distance of the apartments we stayed in and we were pleased we found it, met up with an old friend here, atmosphere was great even had traditional Irish music with great fun. The only problem was that there was new staff on the night we visited who were not familiar with good service but we did find a great barman in the end!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oldest pub in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We tracked down this pub, and were so happy we did. It's not right in the center of Temple Bar as you might expect, a little further west. It is so very old, and so very much what you would hope for in an Irish pub. One of my favorite places we visited!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bjr711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brazen Head also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Brazen Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing