We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen do :) ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel
Ranked #38 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Gogartys for my nieces hen party , in a 4 bed dorm , it was very clean , bedding Snow White , great location with the best bar in Dublin attached to it , excellent bands playing .
The location brilliant , only down fall was noisy if you wanted an early night. Dublin don't sleep so just stay out and enjoy it :) had a brilliant weekend will be returning loved all of it :) x

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hostel in one of the dorms back in January and had a very positive experience. The location is fantastic right in the heart of temple bar and walking distance of everything! The hostel staff were very helpful and have us directions to the station and recommended we visit howth, which we did and it was lovely!
The rooms were cleaned regularly and sheets changed often, the bar itself had a fantastic atmosphere and offered live traditional Irish entertainment in the evenings.
If I return to Dublin I would happily return to this hostel especially because of it's value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elishasaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great value for money is this no-thrills place. Simple but clean and sufficient, and with the best possible location in the town. Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff at the reception desk. Attached to a pub with good food and live music every day. The only negative thing to mention is that you will hear the noise from the street,

Room Tip: If possible ask to get a room that is not facing main-street or any street for that matter. Not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaB6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Brilliant venue, good location. Visited as a group of ten and hired the roof top apartments. The walk to them wasn't exactly the most salubrious but once inside, everything was much better. Basic accommodation but perfect location and best of all, the costs were very reasonable too!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingershane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The location is perfect, more or less everything is within walking distance. We had booked a 4-bed room for € 80 per night. The sheets were clean and so was the bathroom. Staff was friendly and helpful. No complaints at all. Usually hostels are full of young people but there were quite a few older people staying there as well (which I liked because I'm over 60 myself and I didn't feel so out of place). And of course it's loud, the live music downstairs stops at 2.30 in the morning!
But that's part of the fun! If you're an early sleeper then you better look for a place outside of Temple Bar! Once again, we had a real good time and we'll be back some sunny day!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Gogarty's hostel was a pleasant stay right in the middle of the mayhem of temple bar.
We had booked the double room which was very clean and came with en suite.
Would definitely stay here again as the location makes it easy to crawl back to the hostel without having to walk miles. Stay clear of the restaurant downstairs foods not up to scratch compared with out pubs around.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

That sums up all of my problems here. Everything else was great. It couldn't be more centrally located, the staff will book tours for you upon request, and they have a bit more of a breakfast than the standard toast and cereal that most hostels have. We just couldn't get the water to stay hot for more than ten seconds at a time. Outside of that.. solid place. Would stay again if water was hot.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#14 of 122 in Dublin
800 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#8 of 122 in Dublin
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court
#7 of 122 in Dublin
1,083 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 122 in Dublin
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel

Address: 58/59 Fleet Street, cnr Anglesea | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: £9 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver St. John Gogarty`s Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing