We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel
Ranked #38 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed 7 December 2008

The price cant be argued with but the check-in proceedure seemed overly complicated by a confused member of staff and checking in was irritating. The rooms were extremely clean and fairly comfortable but the noise at night time was almost unbearable and could easily be remedied by double-glazing.Overall an ok experience and more suitable for young travellers and people not wanting much sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank thedebonairmsbacall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2008

Decided on Dublin for my friends 22nd birthday, party of 9 girls all just looking for a god weekend. We were advised by a friend to stay in Temple Bar for it's ideal location for pubs, bars and shopping. When we found Oliver St John Gogarty's Hostel on the net we decided it would be our best bet because of the location and price.
The Hostel was really easy to find and even the building itself is interesting to look at. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the hostel itself was very safe. The rooms are very clean and the beds nice and comfortable. Even the bathroom was a pleasant suprise, spacious with a good quality shower. Considering there were 9 girls all in one room, there was an ample amount of mirrors/plug sockets and wardrobe space and we managed to get ready for our nights out in a somewhat calm and collected manner. Breakfast consist of Toast/Fruit/Cereal/Orange Juice /Tea/Coffe and is pretty bog standard but if you fancy something more substantial pop next door to the cafe where you can get a traditional Irish Breakfast with bottomless Tea or coffee for 8euro (well worth it).

The Location of the Hostel is ideal, the cobbled streets it is situated on are lined with traditional Irish pubs, cafes, bars, restaurants etc. Immidiately next door to the Hostel is Oliver St John Gogartys Irish Pub, which on our arrival we visited for drinks. The music was bog standard cliche' irish music - the bar staff were disgustingly rude and miserable and by the end of the weekend we found it to be by far the MOST expesive pub in the whole of Dublin (a Gin and Tonic costing 12euro and glass of wine 8euro). All in all I wouldn't bother with it - simply pop around the corner to the left and visit The Quay or Temple Bar Pub to be greeted by friendly irish bar staff, authentic live irish music and reasonable drinks prices (pint of guinnes 4-5euro and glass of wine the same). We found Temple Bar Pub to be particularly enjoyable and friendly (sexy irish barmen).

The Hostel is near shopping (Grafton St being particularly good) and there are loads of places to eat.

Overall I would 110% reccommend this Hostel and Location to anyone - we had a fantastic time, the receptionist at the Hostel even let us check out a bit later as we knew we would be hungover and worse for wear, he gave us until 12 (an extra hour and a half) so it's worth asking nicely.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank carly_sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Right in the heart of the Temple Bar action. Just walk downstairs and you are at the best pub in Dubliin. It is noisey at night but Dublin never sleeps.....it is party time and a fun place to be. The penthouse, where we stayed was lovely. Two bd/ two bath was great for two couples or whatever. Nice small kitchen with nice dining area and cozy living room where everyone can meet up. It was so nice to get up and get your own breakfast and at night fixing a cup of tea or snack while talking about the day you had. The location is perfect for walking to Grafton St. and all of the Dublin sites. The rail station is walkable, about 20 min but a nice level walk. Take the bus from the airport and get off downtown and walk to this apartment, very easy to get to. Would stay again but NOT in January......it was so cold. Go in Spring.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Going4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Me and 3 friends stayed in the penthouse apartments here for two nights. We did not feel like we were staying in a hostel at all, everything was clean, tidy and the views from our roof terrace were great. The best thing is you are right in the centre for temple bar and all the attractions and shops, and a short stagger home from the pubs! Will def do this again!
If you fancy a change from all the traditional irish bars while you are there, pop into the morgan hotel near the hostel, it has a gorgeous bar serving delicious cocktails.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjoyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Hostal was very clean, good private room. Wasn't as noisy as I would expect at temple bar, good comfy bed and hot showers. Good breakfast, nice people. But couldn't find Tv room and although on the last night someone tried to get into our room would def stay again.

Leanne & Cathy Scotland

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scattykatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Great location, basic clean rooms. Nice staff.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myllidixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2008

One of the cleanest hostels I have ever seen! Breakfast was in ample supply, desk clerks are friendly.....

It is attached to the bar.... so it can be a bit noisy, but I loved my stay here, I'd reccomend it to anyone who would listen.
It's right in the heart of temple bar and reception is 24 hours, so if you're in town to party this is a great place to stay. Wifi is only available to the really expensive rooms.... but if internet access is not a concern.... why worry about it.

Great place

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gevaudiansgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#15 of 122 in Dublin
800 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#7 of 122 in Dublin
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court
#8 of 122 in Dublin
1,082 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 122 in Dublin
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel

Address: 58/59 Fleet Street, cnr Anglesea | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: £9 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver St. John Gogarty`s Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing