We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose another place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Charles Stewart Dublin
Ranked #64 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Choose another place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Booked the Charles Stewart Guest House a year before we arrived in Dublin based on the price and the pictures on the website. It is much more run down than the glossy photos show. But the biggest disappointment was that knowing there was no elevator and being a couple in our 60's we had booked a room on the 2nd floor and emailed the guesthouse twice to confirm this. When we arrived we were told that our room had been given to someone else and instead we were given a shoebox with cracks in the walls on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GypsyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    370
    332
    147
    93
See reviews for
145
381
97
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Charles Stewart Guesthouse during our first visit to Ireland, when we remained in Dublin for the most part and enjoyed its sights, people, and pubs. The hotel is old-fashioned in some ways, with winding hallways, uncertain distinctions between levels, and a fairly antiquated lobby, but we found these attributes to add to rather than detract from its charms. The room was a double, nothing fancy but spacious and comfortable even by American standards (we love our large rooms, don't we?). It was kept very clean throughout our five-day stay. The staff was courteous and helpful and we enjoyed chatting with a couple of the young ladies at the concierge desk. We would definitely have reserved a room there for our return trip to Dublin that we have scheduled for this December, but they were already fully booked in March, so that undoubtedly says a good deal about the high quality of the hotel. Best of all, the price was and remains extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights here in April 2014.
Initial shock by the dirty, noisy and crowded streets of Dublin were luckily replaced by a clean and silent room on the ground floor (doubleroom).
The premises look good, the only flaw was the claustrophobic dining room in the basement. Overfilled with tables and chairs, once full of people, you can't get out, you can't move, you can't even leave your chair. It fells a bit like in the "Falling down" movie. You might start screaming and stabbing people with your fork.
This did not happen, fortunately, but the dining room is really tiny.
No other flaws however, we had a great stay here. Friendly staff, willing to help and smiling.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoSvolakko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel last minute as was a gift from a family member who suggested it.

We only stayed the one night, and we were rarely in the hotel. I do have to say though, this guesthouse was lovely. The staff were very friendly, allowing us to leave our luggage in the back room, as we arrived too early for check in.

Our room was a good size, good might be an understatement, it was massive. We were given a four bed room, as there was no twin rooms available. (We booked a twin room as the double rooms were gone at the time of the booking.) The beds were comfortable, and the room was clean. The rooms however were very old fashioned, the ceiling in our room was amazing, very high and looked very old.

We rarely stayed in the hotel, however the bus stop right outside the guesthouse took us straight to the Guinness Storehouse and to other locations in Dublin that were a little far away to walk.

The guesthouse was a great place to stay and I would stay here again the next time I head to Dublin.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

on a stag weekend.most of the lads stopped at another hotel.but we booked this place for reviews we saw on trip advisor.we were not disapointed.room was very good 2 singles and one double.breakfast was good and plenty of it .staff very good and would help you with anything well worth the price.

Room Tip: if 3 of you try room 107 ground floor no stairs to climb.spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simbo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is in dire need of a face lift. The original features were probably once quite lovely but it is basically falling apart. There was an enormous hole in the ceiling of the hallway outside my room - looked like rot! The whole place smells musty. My room was so small I felt v. claustrophobic. The only "window" was a skylight through a kind of chimney which had no curtain and so I was woken at dawn once the sun came up! the water pipes started banging loudly when the heating came on. The room was unbearably hot at night. The ground floor smelled of cigarette smoke. The breakfast was okay (just edible) but not great. they took my money up front, I am assuming because they know that a lot of people would walk straight out again after seeing the rest of the hotel. Ok, for Dublin it IS cheap (I paid €60 something for the night) but there is a minimum service/quality I would expect no matter where I was staying.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great place to stay while in Dublin with easy walk to all city spots. Clean rooms and hearty breakfasts daily. My brother in law had a slight heart attack while there and the staff could not do enough to make it easier for his wife and us. After returning to the uk without him the manager even went to visit him in hospital. They were truely and genuinly concerned and made everything about the incident easier for us all. A big thankyou from my family for careing so much. We would not hestitate returning to the charles stewart in future Dublin stays. Thankyou.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Ripley Court Hotel
Ripley Court Hotel
#93 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#82 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#59 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Stewart Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Stewart Dublin

Property: The Charles Stewart Dublin
Address: 5/6 Parnell Square, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charles Stewart Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Charles Stewart Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Stewart Hotel Dublin
Charles Stewart Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing