We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Charles Stewart Dublin
Ranked #102 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner recently stayed at this B&B for two nights. The hotel is in a perfect location just further up from O'Connell street with immediate access to buses and train.

Good points,

1- Location is perfect for a sight seeing stay in Dublin
2- staff are very friendly and the breakfast is lovely.
3- rooms have TV and the beds are comfortable.
4- the front of the hotel has several discount cards and information sheets and maps for your time in Dublin which is handy.

Bad points,

1- the safe wasn't working when we were there
2- some of the walls look terrible and needs to be re- decorated as the paper is ripped and coming off.
3- Our bathroom was very cramped and a floor tile was loose
4- bedroom furniture is dated. In fact the whole building and hotel could do with some modern decorating
5- the restaurant is down some very steep steps which is not ideal for elderly residents
6- the luggage room was in a very poor location, down in the basement basically passing the washing facilities where the cleaners wash the bedroom towels etc.
8- the Tv lounge room had a TV which was NOT connected or installed and there was a leak coming from the roof, again, this room could do with some updating.
9- No lifts or any help for elderly or disabled residents

All in all, If you aren't staying at the hotel for long and only to sleep then I would recommend this hotel for a short stay. However if you like to be in a clean modern bed and breakfast with loads of facilities this is not for you.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed June 2014, it was expected for a place of its age and layout. Room was clean and tidy. The smallest bathroom of our eight week trip to Europe but it worked. Breakfast can be frenetic but the staff are like energiser bunnies, nothing too much trouble. Get there early and you won't be over crowded. Only down side for us was the fire alarm misbehaving, OMG, three times in one night was more than enough thank you. And remember, there is NO lift. 21kg suitcases up,flights of stairs is not funny. Would we stay again, probably not, but it filled a gap in out intinerary for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dingdongNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

well staff did not look happy¬ breakfast was average and cold!! not much service. will give it a miss next time in dublin. but is is very central staff could not recommend a gd restaurant. poor knowledge of dublin

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just got back after 5 days in Dublin staying at the CSGH along Parmell Street, a stone's throw walk from downtown O'Connell Street and the Spire of Dublin. It is a walking distance to the Temple Bar, Ha'Penny Bridge, Trinity College, Dublin Castle and few distance to St. Stephen's Green. The B&B looked a little rundown exterior/interior wise but it has good points in it too. The staff were friendly, accommodating and would help with queries/directions. My husband and i were given the top most room - it was fine but there are no lifts which would be difficult for older guests. The room itself is cosy and comfy with coffee/tea making facility, always a bonus. Our bathroom however takes time to drain after getting a shower. Our room has been looked after well, towels changed daily. Have observed there are no door signs - have had knocks on the door twice from housekeeping to clean up while we were still in. Not that we didn't want our room tidied up/cleaned it would have been better just to hang a 'do not disturb' sign (as also we have overslept).
Another great thing is the guesthouse's breakfast - big portions of cooked Irish breakfast as you order. The lady serving us is a genius given that we order our eggs differently everyday. Aside from cooked food, there is a good variety of cereals, bread/toast, fresh fruit and yogurt, orange juice. All in all for us, it was a good value for money stay since we are always out during the day/evening and only get to spend the night there to sleep. CSGH is a convenient B&B with bus stops just right outside and plenty of shops nearby.

Room Tip: There is no lift/elevator - quite a trek to 4th-5th floors. Noise levels average due to thin walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tats1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed in this guesthouse for more than a week and loved it. We are elderly and when we arrived the receptionist carried our heavy luggage up the stairs for us. The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the staff serving the breakfasts... they run their legs off. The breakfast can be a bit crowded at certain hours if there is a tour bus staying there. We had a lovely room on the 1st floor in the new part. It was very quiet. The location of the guesthouse is the best.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 1st floor in the newly renovated section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Charles Stewart Guesthouse is in a great location just a few mins walk from O'Connell Street so really convenient for shopping and sightseeing. Great public transport made it so easy to visit Botanic Gardens,Glasnevin Cemetery etc. The building is a bit dated but the dedicated staff and all round good service makes up for that. Our room was much bigger than you would find in a modern hotel and although the bathroom was small it was adequate. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable and had plenty tea & coffee.We asked for a quiet room and that,s exactly what we got. The breakfast was excellent - lots of choice and well presented.No lift but that was not a problem for us.Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Charles Stewart Guest house is about a 10 minute walk from the Dublin City Center. It is near a lot of attractions and is easy to get to. The rooms are very clean and the service was excellent. The morning breakfast was a little crowded but the food was good.

Room Tip: You probably would like a room on the upper floors. The first floor ones open up to a court that ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelonepiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Ripley Court Hotel
Ripley Court Hotel
#93 of 150 in Dublin
1,498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#45 of 150 in Dublin
2,626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#57 of 150 in Dublin
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,618 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#82 of 150 in Dublin
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Stewart Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Stewart Dublin

Address: 5/6 Parnell Square, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £53 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charles Stewart Dublin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Charles Stewart Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Stewart Hotel Dublin
Charles Stewart Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing