We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Night Out”
Review of Gate Theatre

Gate Theatre
Ranked #67 of 531 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This theater hosts dramatic performances by Ireland's up-and-coming playwrights.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Night Out”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

All productions are fantastic. The staff and excellent in assisting people with reduced mobility (unlike some other venues)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AineD16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    47
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely small theatre”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Went here yo see three penny opera it was a lovely wee theatre very traditional in decor and the seating was very traditional too we were middle of the row in row j and could still see all of the stage without obstruction ...... the bar sold tea coffee and variety of drinks ..... the staff were all very professional .... I will probably book another show here lovely wee venue

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Perfect Theatre Experience”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is like a theatre from grander times. The decor is either dated or traditional according to your prejudices. I think it's beautifully traditional. There are no bad seats that I've ever encountered and the sound and view of the stage is excellent. They have a very good selection of shows and usually just the fact that it's the Gate indicates a certain quality to any performance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grundy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I dont want realism; I want magic! (Blanche DuBois)!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I booked tickets to see A Streetcar named Desire at the Gate Theatre on the closing night. We had never been to the Gate before and were pleasantly surprised at the overall evening. We parked almost outside the theatre; fantastic for a city centre. Parking is free on the street from 7pm to I think it was 7am. I believe there is also a car park close by. The theatre itself is beautiful, old, rustic with that old fashioned theatre feel. We were in row O and had a great view and could hear all the lines. Its has an intimate and cosy feel. The interior is beautiful with sculpted ceilings. The bar is great, although it can be a bit crowded during the interval. The show itself was amazing; Lia Williams should get an award for her performance as Blance DuBois, in fact the overall acting was superb. My only gripe was that it got very warm indeed and air conditioning would improve the experience! Will never visit Dublin again without popping into the Gate for a show; a little escape from reality; magic!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank caitlin01028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We saw the play "Street Car Named Desire." The play was excellent, the theatre was superb and very well kept. We found everyone to be friendly including the staff and the prices were very reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank B3GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gate Theatre also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Gate Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing