We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place for visiting Dublin”
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #7 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This petite hotel/B&B is located in a nice suburban area outside of Dublin. It is safe and there is easy access into Dublin on the Dart (the station is a 5 minute walk). Likewise, it is only a 5-10 minute walk into the local villiage of Sandymount to grab a bite to eat or 5-10 minutes to the beach. The staff was extremely nice and helpful as was the owner. Breakfast was excellent as was the tea and snack in the reading room. Our family room was two ensuite bedrooms connected via an internal door and was spacious. The main issue we had with this hotel was the floors were so squeaky from the room above us that we were kept up until 1am both nights we stayed there. This was the only hotel out of the 12 we stayed in during our few weeks in Ireland were we had any noise issues in our room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelopalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just got back from a long weekend staying at Aberdeen Lodge in Dublin, (18-21 Jul 13) having read some recent negative reviews was concerned prior to going, on reflection now there is some substance to previous comments but on the whole I think the stay was very relaxing for us. Location is in a very nice area of Dublin, a short 20 min ride on the Dart and a five minute walk to the lodge. Great local places to eat and drink in nearby Sandymount village that I would recommend, as is a pleasant stroll along the beachfront which is only 10 minutes from the lodge.
Having stayed in various hotels how would I rate Aberdeen Lodge? As my partner commented it has huge potiential but requires some tender loving care and some updating, whilst still being sympathetic to the origins of the building, if completed it would transform the lodge. Cleanliness is good and the staff friendly and helpful throughout our stay from our experience.
Our room was a good size, though I expect in todays market and for the price being paid some more modern appliances (TV for example), however free use of laptop and internet in the public rooms,and simple things like a quilt rather than sheets and blankets would give a more modern feel, there are no tea making facilities in the room but the staff will make you tea whenever your require it.
On the whole we like a nice quiet location, this fits the bill nicely, the Aberdeen Lodge to us looks a little tired, but it could be fab.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

(1) Despite booking months in advance, my sixty-something mother and I arrived after a cross-country drive (6+ hours in the car) to find that the twin room we had booked, and confirmed via email, was no longer available. No explanation, no apology, no nothing. Instead of offering us tea and cookies, like all of the glowing reviews on here claim they got, the couldn't-care-less receptionist shoved us into a crummy attic room with a full-size bed. My mother has a bad back, so not only would we have to share a tiny bed, she'd have to drag up four flights of stairs (with heavy luggage!) for the privilege. Notice that nowhere on Aberdeen's website do they mention that this is a four-story walkup, no elevator...

(2) When I asked the lackadaisical receptionist for an explanation for why we were not receiving the room we explicitly booked and paid a deposit on, she shrugged and said, "I don't know how the reservations system works." At that point, I asked to speak to owner Pat Halpin—not an outrageous request considering that every other B&B we stayed at in Ireland, the owner was always the first to greet you and the last to see you off. "He's busy. He's in a meeting," she claimed. At 9:30 on a Friday night? "Yes." Well, okay, please have me call him when he's out of the meeting. "That won't be for hours." That's okay; we'll wait. "No, sorry, I don't think that's possible." Excuse after excuse after excuse. Needless to say, the owner never called. And why would he? He doesn't give two flips. This was NOT the Irish hospitality we had come to expect and enjoy in our ten days' of traveling.

(3) Let's talk about this lovely attic room: It was sweltering hot, being on the fourth floor and all, and of course there was no fan or A/C. "Just open a window" said Unhelpful Front Desk Girl. We opened two, but it was still unbearable. The room was also shabby as all get out: fraying bed linens, worn-down furniture, a moldy tub, and a toilet whose handle you practically had to step on to get it to flush. We stayed in several B&Bs on this trip that were a fraction of the price and offered far superior accommodations.

(4) Because the heat in this nanoscopic room on the fourth floor forced us to keep the windows open, we got to listen to the neighbor's dog bark all night long. I mean, ALL NIGHT LONG—hours and hours and hours. No one shut it up. No one said a word. Surely this can't be a fluke? It wouldn't have been a huge deal if you could shut the windows, but oh, that's right, it's 300 degrees in the attic hovel.

Moral of the story: TripAdvisor really let us down on this one. We stayed one night and not a minute more, and I can safely say that our Aberdeen experience was the absolute lowest point on our whole trip, which was otherwise wonderful. Do yourself a favor and book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank gadfly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is more like a guest house, although it is advised as a hotel. The hotel and our room in particularly were beautifully decorated, bright, clean and very comfortable. The building is very old, and full of character. The location is excellent - a short train ride to central Dublin. The neighbourhood is charming, with well maintained pretty houses, and a shopping centre just a few minutes stroll away. The hotel had a lovely guest lounge, and spacious & bright breakfast room, with large glass doors leading to the garden. The staff were kind & helpful. Help was offered to bring our bags up the stair (there was no lift), and on our arrival, a member of the staff spent approx 20minutes with us, giving us some helpful info on things to see & do in Dublin. There were no tea & coffee making facility in our room, however always someone on the front desk & we were offered a tea or coffee whenever we passed by the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I can only confirm what my daughter described regarding our stay at Aberdeen Lodge. I have never stayed in a shabbier room! The furniture looked like something purchased at a garage sale from the poor side of town, the bedding was just plain nasty...my dogs sleep on far nicer and cleaner blankets! The room was airless, tiny, noisy, dark and generally depressing. Not to mention on the fourth floor. It looked like a converted attic room. I would like to say the housekeeping was not up to par, but frankly, there was no housekeeping evident.

The owner (manager) is a thief, plain and simple and I'm sure Karma will eventually catch up with him. On the bright side, we only had to endure one lousy, hot, miserable night here and ended our trip on a very pleasant note at the Conrad Hilton. You have been warned!

Room Tip: You want a good room? Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lavenderlady3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

The Aberdeen Lodge Was one of our favorite bed and breakfasts in Ireland. The breakfast was wonderful, full of lots of choices and delicious food. We had to leave early
one morning and they went ahead and made us breakfast even before the appropriate time. That was a nice touch. The room was very comfortable and very nicely decorated. The only comment I have about the room is that the pillows were little bit hard but other than that the room was excellent. We really enjoyed the bathroom. The bed-and-breakfast was very nicely decorated and everyone was friendly to us as well. Location is great although a little bit distant from central Dublin we like that because we like to
walk. It's just a thirty minute walk away. It's also a short walk to the beach which is a great place for picnic. The neighborhood is excellent and safe. The restaurants down the street were also fantastic. Pick up some food At Tesco and have a picnic in the little park. Breakfast cheese and meat plate was amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My family and I have just returned from a vacation to Ireland where part of the time we stayed at the Aberdeen Lodge. The accommodations are in a quiet lovely neighborhood within a short walk to the beach, the Dart train station and restaurants. Everything about the stay was excellent. The breakfast is excellent, the staff were very helpful, beyond what you will usually find. The owner helped us get accommodations across Ireland, sightseeing reservations, and restaurant reservations. The rooms are nice and everything is kept up with obvious pride. There is no swimming pool or fitness center, but we did not miss it as we spent all of our time in Dublin and the surrounding areas, We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EileenBerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,237 reviews
3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,723 reviews
1 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,735 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,525 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#8 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £88 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing