We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely suburban retreat in Dublin”
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Lovely suburban retreat in Dublin”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here in September while completing a driving holiday of Ireland. Parking is free and is open air(off street) in the front of the house. The property is a lovely period house with a touch of elegance about it, set amidst a leafy affluent end of Dubln.

Upon arrival, we were met by one of the staff who walked us through everything about our stay, including getting to and from town from the hotel. It was an easy walk to the railway station where we had no difficulty in catching the train into the city. They also booked our dinner for the evening.

Our room was generous with a very comfortable bed - the bathroom was well fitted out - though small. We found that often these historic properties have bathrooms retro fitted and as such can be a little small - though sufficient for our needs.

We were also recommended a restaurant - again within walking distance from the hotel which we enjoyed - especially after having been in the car for most of the day travelling from Galway. The beach is only minutes from the hotel and we walked along the boardwalk ( which was quite pleasant) on our way to dinner.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Internet was available in our room and the staff were very helpful (even sorting our boarding pass to London for us and printing same). Breakfast was included in our tariff and this was plentiful and enjoyable.

Thoroughly recommend this property for anyone wanting to stay in Dublin but not necessarily wanting to be right in the busy sector. Offers a nice glimpse of life in the burbs in Dublin.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street (1st floor) but we had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    99
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
130
274
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Embarking on our first trip to Ireland, we wanted to spend a healthy amount of time in Dublin. The Aberdeen Lodge was a solid choice. Extremely accessible via mass transit, both bus and train, very helpful staff (we arrived at 6:00 AM - was given coffee and pastries AND shown to a room to relax) during our stay, very close to a nice running path along the sea and elegant breakfast selection. Near enough to the city for easy sightseeing opportunities yet comfortably outside city limits for peaceful rest. Strongly consider the Aberdeen Lodge for Dublin accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamespyarbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A beautiful building with landscaped gardens that you can look upon as you enjoy a great Irish breakfast in a tranquil area only 10 minutes by DART from the centre of Dublin, this is somewhere we'll come back to again. Its near the Bay and plenty of nice local pubs and restaurants.Pat Ann and all the staff are very welcoming and helpful with advice on places to eat out etc.
Largish room was very clean and bathroom was fresh and seemed quite new. 4-poster bed was heavenly.

Room Tip: Ask for 4-poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paoli, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the Aberdeen in Oct. 2013. During our stay our daughter came down with appendicitis. The staff at the lodge was extremely helpful, arranging for rooms as we had to extend our stay. They also helped us identify a nearby hospital. Everyone was wonderful during this trying time. We loved our stay, enjoying the great breakfast. Location is also great very convenient to the DART line which we used to go into Dublin. We wish to extend our sincere gratitude to everyone at Aberdeen Lodge!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Thanks to Pat, Anne & staff for a terrific 3 day stay. Nothing was too much bother, lovely room, brilliant breakfast. Thanks to Pat for all his advice on touring Dublin, would return for a longer stay. Our friends enjoyed their stay too. Great location not far from the sea and Dublin city centre via a short train ride

Room Tip: all the rooms we seen looked good, our room 21 and our friends in 28 faced out onto the back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Chanced upon Aberdeen Lodge when looking for somewhere to stay in Dublin. Only a 10 min train ride from the centre of the city, this place is worth it. Located near the bay and a short walk to Sandymount village for restaurants & pubs, it's ideally located.
Anne & Pat are great hosts, the rooms are well appointed and comfortable and the staff are awesome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintonHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I spent two days at the Aberdeen Lodge after spending three nights at a conference hotel near Trinity College. It was literally and figuratively a breath of fresh air to step into the Aberdeen Lodge. I felt completely at home with the friendly staff, lovely furnishings, welcoming neighborhood, and perfect breakfasts. My husband and I walked along the water and into Sandymount for lunch, and then we took the nearby train to Howth for dinner. We ordered eggs and salmon, as well as the traditional Irish breakfast, each morning, but we also enjoyed the beautiful spread of scones, Irish soda bread, fruit, granola, yogurt, etc. We were picked up at the doorstep for our Wild Wicklow tour, and the staff arranged a convenient and inexpensive ride to the airport. I highly recommend a stay at the Aberdeen!

Room Tip: The top floor was cozy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizCincinnatiOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,549 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,973 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,230 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,292 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Property: Aberdeen Lodge
Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing