We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Way to Spend Christmas”
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was made to feel welcome during my time there. I was invited to Christmas dinner with the family, the workers and the other guests which was very touching. I also loved being given tea and cookies every time I returned to collect my key. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seyahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in Aberdeen lodge for just one night while visiting Dublin. The house and neighborhood are beautiful, and it is a quick and easy train ride into central Dublin, but an urban hotel this is not. We very much enjoyed the hospitality, including (real, loose) tea on arrival, delicious breakfast, and the LOVELY backyard. Would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank enjoy_period60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

It was our first time to Dublin. We were visiting our son who was studying abroad in Dublin for the semester. I was concerned initially that it was too far from City Centre, but the public transportation was nearby and easy to navigate. Enjoyed Sandymount Village, the walk along the beach and the very beautiful homes/neighborhood. Most important, was the welcoming staff, comfortable room and excellent breakfast - we will absolutely recommend the Aberdeen to our friends and family. Thank you to Pat and his staff.

Room Tip: This is an excellent choice particularly if you like a nice relaxing home like place to stay. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very cosy, welcoming hotel in Sandymount.
Staff very helpful , giving lots of local info. Lovely room with very comfortable bed. No coffee/tea making facilities but offered pot of tea each time we returned which was brought to the room.
Excellent local transport - bus stop into City right outside. Recommend the 3 day ticket which you can buy at the airport which covers transfers, Hop on & Hop off tour & unlimited bus/tram travel.
Lovely hotel to return to after a days sightseeing & only 10 min walk into Sandymount where there are some nice bars & good restaurants.
Would definitely return, thank you to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Really nice hotel in sandymount, dublin. The service was great and they have a lovely cat named Poss. Breakfast is perfect. Nothing to critizice. We loved the hotellobby with a fireplace and big sofas and armchairs. The hotelstuff is serving Irish tea and homemade Cookies. We can recommend also the Trip 'into the wild' to wicklow.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Friendly welcome and good response to requests. Comfortable, relaxed and would recommend to friends. An enjoyable experience. Substantial and high quality breakfast. A little way out of town but close to delightful Sandymount village and the sea; also ideal for visits to Aviva and RDS

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank FluffyBoy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here in September while completing a driving holiday of Ireland. Parking is free and is open air(off street) in the front of the house. The property is a lovely period house with a touch of elegance about it, set amidst a leafy affluent end of Dubln.

Upon arrival, we were met by one of the staff who walked us through everything about our stay, including getting to and from town from the hotel. It was an easy walk to the railway station where we had no difficulty in catching the train into the city. They also booked our dinner for the evening.

Our room was generous with a very comfortable bed - the bathroom was well fitted out - though small. We found that often these historic properties have bathrooms retro fitted and as such can be a little small - though sufficient for our needs.

We were also recommended a restaurant - again within walking distance from the hotel which we enjoyed - especially after having been in the car for most of the day travelling from Galway. The beach is only minutes from the hotel and we walked along the boardwalk ( which was quite pleasant) on our way to dinner.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Internet was available in our room and the staff were very helpful (even sorting our boarding pass to London for us and printing same). Breakfast was included in our tariff and this was plentiful and enjoyable.

Thoroughly recommend this property for anyone wanting to stay in Dublin but not necessarily wanting to be right in the busy sector. Offers a nice glimpse of life in the burbs in Dublin.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street (1st floor) but we had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,291 reviews
3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,763 reviews
1 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 152 in Dublin
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 152 in Dublin
4,777 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 152 in Dublin
1,455 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 152 in Dublin
3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Dublin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#13 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £103 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing