We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet stay in Dublin”
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We recommend this place especially because of the quiet neighborhood. Lovely place to stay for a few nights. The owner and his family is staying at this place. We had a very warm welcome and a drink in the lounge room with plenty of recommandations of restaurants and places to see in Dublin.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

I loved everything about this lodge. You feel like a part of a family, and the staff is extremely attentive, kind and thoughtful.
My only issue was the location, although it's an absolutely beautiful area, I found it hard to get to the city centre with limited knowledge of the transport systems.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is such a charming hotel in ballsbridge. Though a little away from the action of the city centre, I totally recommend this place for the solo traveller. I think the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The front desk even helped me plan my sight seeing with a nice little map and instructions on the use of public transport. The breakfast was really nice and hearty. I was a little dissapointed in the rooms though; they were really old style and perhaps need a rethink. I cannot fault them on the cleanliness and neatness of the entire establishment. The place is really beautiful and quite. I would happily come here again if I ever decide to visit Dublin again if only for the friendly faces and warm reception I had while I was there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank figgyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we were impressed by the welcome, ambience, decor, breakfast, staff and furnishings. The recommendations for dining locally and getting around Dublin were extremely useful and suited us perfectly.

Room Tip: A quieter Dublin experience in a peaceful location with easy access to the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny2644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Upon a mid-morning arrival, we were invited to be seated in the Drawing Room, where we were served coffee and cookies as we completed the registration process. Lui brought in maps and gave us detailed instructions on finding our way around. Proprietor Pat joined us with dining recommendations, including the best pub in Sandymount (Mulligan's).
Our room was lovely with windows overlooking the garden.
During our stay, staff frequently asked, "Is there anything you need?" or "Can I get you anything?"
The breakfasts were far superior to the usual B&B breakfasts. A rather complete menu includes a full Irish breakfast. Items from a light menu of soup and sandwiches are available throughout the day in the Dining Room or as room service.
Our four-day stay included walks to the Irish Sea and to restaurants in Sandymount and Ballsbridge. We also took daily convenient light-rail trips to the center of Dublin and to Howth.
It would be hard to surpass the Aberdeen Lodge for service and convenience in a quiet luxurious neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The staff was wonderful, worth more than anything. We had a couple glitches in the beginning but Patrick took care of things and we just had a wonderful feeling about the place. It's a little tired but no biggy and the people and food made it fabulous, just what we wanted/needed. It was so quaint, really felt we were in Ireland. Stayed 3 nights and it was a good (lovely) location out of Dublin proper but only a train ride or bus ride away and that was easy to do. Would definitely stay again and recommend. There are stairs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank byjoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Visiting a friend in the St Vincent University Hospital and wanting public transport available to the city center and south along the coast. # blocks to hospital and 3 blocks to the Dart, the train that runs into the city center and south along the coast to the villages where one can explore Ireland. The hotel was traditional, very clean, very quiet, excellent food with hot breakfast from menu included in the rate. The staff were very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Bathrooms updated and the beds very comfortable. In a very safe neighborhood with expensive homes around. Short walk to restaurants. This hotel lodge has the feel of a very nice and very personable bed and breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: call with questions. Staff is wonderfully helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,601 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,097 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,400 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,403 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £122 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing