We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing given the write-ups”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #5 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing given the write-ups”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

A friend and I recently had occasion to stay in Aberdeen Lodge [we booked two rooms for single occupancy].

Firstly, the good things: the hotel is very attractive and clean, and the public rooms are comfortable and welcoming. The staff are unfailingly helpful, although their lack of total command of English is sometimes an obstacle to comprehension. The breakfast is certainly amongst the best in Dublin. All these elements are well-recorded on websites and hotel guide books [we found it through the Good Hotel Guide], and initially we were impressed.

However, things went rapidly downhill when we got to our respective bedrooms. We were amazed to find no clock or radio in either room and, whilst this may be acceptable in a country house retreat where total silence and divorce from modern life is on offer, in a city hotel it is not acceptable. I haven't been in a hotel for at least 20 years where there is no clock/radio. The TV had not been set up properly: the remote control didn't work at all, but the helpful [French] man replaced it with one that sort-of worked. The TV reception was sporadic at best – even the Irish stations, and the fact that there was one radio channel only [controlled through the hotel] was puzzling [although the provision of a radio by the bed would have obviated this]! Again, the man on duty kindly changed the channel from heavy metal to something more soothing. The blanket on my bed had certainly seen better days, and can only be described as a horse blanket – rough, matted, thin and certainly not fit for purpose [the second blanket in the drawer, although a different type, was no improvement].

The kind Frenchman on duty also had to help my friend with her remote, changing batteries etc. She had no plug in her basin, and there was a flurry back and forth to find one of the right size, which eventually fitted the bill.

It may be that, as single travellers, we were allocated secondary rooms. We didn't see any other rooms and perhaps they had remotes that worked, clock/radios, plugs in their bathrooms and decent blankets. We would have certainly foregone the fluffy bathrobes to have had these amenities.

We were aware throughout our stay that there didn't seem to be anyone 'in control' – not that the place was out of control, but we had the feeling that the staff were not management level. Although they helped when asked, there was no sense that there was anyone keeping a watchful eye on housekeeping, checking in and out etc. The checking out process was not helped by the fact that the breakfast staff were having to break away from their service to address people at the front desk, and it seemed to us unfair to put the financial onus on them.

So, all in all, the hotel did not come up to the standard we had expected
We wrote to the hotel expressing our disappointment but a month later we've had no reply or even an acknowledgement.

  • Liked — Helpful staff in the face of adversity: great breakfasts
  • Disliked — Quality of the [single occupancy] rooms: lack of overall management
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WabbitWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    95
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
126
258
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2008

My mom and I took a three week trip through Ireland and this was the last place we stayed before returning to the US. We both agreed it was the perfect ending to our wonderful trip. We stayed for 4 nights here and simply LOVED it! The staff was EXTREMELY attentive and friendly. It is quite and elegant, not only within the lodge, but also the street itself. It is so peaceful and situated perfectly for charming walks, but also, it is an easy walk to access the DART for heading into the center city. There were several restaurants within walking distance from Aberdeen Lodge as well that were outstanding. I am Vegan and my mom Vegetarian and we found the chefs more than willing to prepare dishes for us. Aberdeen was no exception either. They went above and beyond what was necessary and provided us with veggie and soy alternatives for the inclusive breakfast. I highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing - everything was wonderful
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AnitaGnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2008

Set in a beautiful tree lined part of Dublin the hotel is slightly out of the main hub bub. DART train takes you fast to the action - 7 mins trip after a pleasant 5 min walk to the station. So while enjoying Dublin City we had tranquility & calm with excellent service & attention at this fabulous little hotel. The rooms are almost perfect & the hotel has focused on the important things: big white fluffy towels, heavenly comfortable beds, cleanliness, quality, I could go on. It is an older building beautifully maintained so high ceilings, bright and airy, heavy doors & thick walls. Breakfast is fresh, good, & plenty of it with some added 'je n'est ce quoi' about it all. Staff so very helpful without being intrusive. Tea or fresh coffee is offered upon entry of the hotel at all times & is available at any other time ( this is complimentary). Endless complimentary bottled water in the room. A PC in the lounge provides free access so checking in for flights, emails etc very easy. The owner was only too happy to assist with anything required - such as sending us back some left belongings or helping with walking routes to see the lovely area. A truly classy hotel.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Siad to have spa/ pool arrangement with Leisure Centre near by - not the case just yet. Creaky floor boards.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kiah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

We visited Aberdeen Lodge, the first few days in July, we stayed in this lovely hotel for 3 nights. The area of Ballsbridge is lovely, far away enough from the hustle and bustle of the city centre but also close enough to travel in (10mins on the local DART).

The hotel was comfy, very clean and very welcoming, slightly over priced but so is everything, we found out in Dublin !!!

A very good choice of menu for your breakfast and the full Irish went down a treat to start the day.

We would definatly recommend this hotel for a relaxing, friendly Irish break , just on the outskirts Dublin.

  • Liked — Comfy Beds and the Hotel was very clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NikkiPaul05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2008

I booked to stay at aberdeen lodge, as myself and two friends had stayed in its sister hotel, merrion hall last summer and were suitably impressed. I booked aberdeen lodge for two nights from the 21st december as a surprise for one of my friends, who had a birthday on the 22nd. we were welcomed with coffee and biscuits in the lounge and then shown to our triple room, which is what i had requested, we each had bath robes and slippers supplied for us. the room was comfortable and clean, with supplied soaps and shower gels and shampoos, we had an excellent three day stay, my friend enjoyed his surprise immensely and we discovered on the last day that we had been the only guests for those three days as the hotel closed over xmas. we were shocked , as the breakfast room was layed up for a full hotel and had an array of cereals, pastries juices and fruit. we also enjoyed the full irish breakfast perfectly cooked with the option of seconds and served with a smile. the staff made us feel so very welcome and treated us like royalty. we will definately be returning

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireFlyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2008

My mom, aunt and I spent two nights at the Aberdeen Lodge, and it was absolutely delightful. The breakfasts were lovely, the staff was kind and attentive, and the location was excellent.

There were a few problems, however. First, I had requested a triple room (which was an option when booking; three single beds), but the room had only two beds when we arrived. I spoke with the manager on duty, and by the time we returned from tea, there were three beds in the room! It was a very quick resolution, and the beds were all great (the extra bed was a REAL bed, not a cot).

Secondly, when I got our bill at checkout, I found almost 200 Euro in additional costs! (Fortunately, I had read the reviews on TripAdvisor warning guests to review their bill at the end of the stay, so I caught them immediately). There were bar fees and room service fees, none of which we had used. After a discussion (which almost made us late to the airport), the manager resolved the matter and we were charged the amount that appeared on my initial reservation invoice.

So, heed this advice:
1) Take a copy of your online reservation, which clearly shows the cost that you expect to pay.
2) Keep careful track of what amenities you use. (Even request receipts at the bar or at breakfast if you order anything not included in the B&B fee)
3) Review your bill at checkout to ensure that all charges are legitimate. Do not leave until you resolve any issues.

Do not let this keep you from staying at this wonderful B&B. It is a wonderful place that you will fondly remember - - - Just watch out for yourself!

  • Liked — Ambiance
  • Disliked — Lots of stairs! Not accessible for disabled and not ideal for elderly travelers. In fact, I, a fit 25-years-old, had a hard time lugging my luggage up the 4 flights of stairs!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eirebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horley surrey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2008

We have just returned from two nights at this outstanding guest house, which gives the feel of a small luxurious hotel. It is situated 15 mins outside the city centre, in a quiet residential part of Dublin within easy reach of all the main sights. Excellent staff, who cannot do enough to help and make your stay comfortable. Hotel was spotless and the breakfasts first class. It is so easy to get to the city centre, with the choice of buses or the dart, which run frequently within 5 mins walk of Aberdeen Lodge. There are excellent eating places within 10 mins walk, we enjoyed a lovely Italian meal at Marios. Five mins walk to the sea, this is just a perfect place to stay. If you are looking for a first class place to stay and explore Dublin than look no further than The Aberdeen Lodge. We have travelled a lot and this is one of the best places that we have ever stayed in. We cannot wait to return. It may be that you cannot book via the website, they are looking into this, so do phone and book direct: [--].

  • Liked — Spotless, location.
  • Disliked — it was all first class
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PhilipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,861 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Property: Aberdeen Lodge
Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing