We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful hotel with delightful staff.”
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #5 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel with delightful staff.”
Reviewed 14 August 2006

We stayed at the Aberdeen Lodge for four nights whilst the Dublin Horse Show was on. From the time of our arrival to leaving the staff could not have been more helpful.
On entering the property we were straight away offered complementary coffee and biscuits (which were available all the time during our stay), we were given maps of the area, and directions were explained to restaurants, pubs and the RDS. The room No34, on the top floor, was clean and tidy, with a view of the garden.
We ate at the Merrion Inn, which was great. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent, the service I cannot speak highly enough of as they couldn't do enough for you. All in all I would not hesitate to stay here again, or its sister hotel the Merrion Lodge, where we have stayed in the past.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    98
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
129
264
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2006

We generally agree with the other reviewers about the style of the hotel and the frendlinessand charm of the staff. It was a pleasant end to our holiday.
However we ended up paying much more than we expected. We booked 4 Irish hotels, on-line, before we left the UK. The prices quoted by the previous 3 were exactly what we paid, and included breakfast and tax. The Aberdeen Lodge was the only one that didn't so instead of paying the quoted amount of 447 Euro (for 3 nights) we were actually charged 598 Euro, a sizeable and unexpected increase. If we had known that before we arrived we may not have chosen the more expensive "Classic Queen" and perhaps had a few smaller breakfasts.
The duty manager, who has worked there for 5 years, was sympathetic at checkout when I showed him the printouts of all the bookings that I had with me. He said he would get the owner to phone us when she came in that afternoon. As you might guess, we never received a phone call.They obviously don't care that much and have the small print on their side. We booked through Opodo but I note that their own website makes no mention that the rates do not include tax or breakfast so it is deliberate policy.
(Note that the owners of this hotel also own the Merrion Hotel and Blakes Townhouse in the same area of Dublin and the above warning will also apply to them)

Two hints about travelling into the centre. We were worried about not having enough change to get the train back at about 11:30 on Saturday night, but to our amazement the ticket ofices at all the stations were open so it was no problem at all. The second hint is that the buses only accept the correct fare. If you don't have the change-no ride!
Lastly, of the local restaurants Roly's Bistro was excellent and Marios was poor. In the centre (Meeting House Square) we enjoyed the Eden. Good cooking and friendly service

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Godwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prescot
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2006

A truly lovely hotel. Clean, inviting with great service.
We chose to stay out of the city centre, and the situation of this hotel was perfect for us. Nice area to meander around in itself, but, also close to the DART station for getting into town. I'm sure would have been walkable into the city centre on a nice day, but, with the rain we had, we got the DART or a taxi - reasonable fare of 11euros.
I was very impressed with the quietness of the location & the hotel. They serve wonderful breakfasts! Best i've had for a long time. The hotel staff were friendly & helpful. Great place, would highly recommend.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank siobm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2006

We recently stayed two nights at Aberdeen Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. Everyone at Aberdeen is exceedingly helpful and friendly, particularly Pat, Bernadette, and Ann. The detailed maps given to us of the area were of tremendous use, and the restaurant recommendations were perfect (particularly the Merrion Inn -- we miss it already and only wish we could have brought it back to NY with us!). I've been to Dublin twice before but never to the Sandymount/Ballsbridge area; I will now never stay anywhere else. It's a beautiful neighborhood to walk around, and only a very short DART ride right into the center of the city.
Our room (#20) was large, as was the bathroom (with the wonderful shower with particularly good water pressure). We were offered tea or coffee each time we arrived back at Aberdeen, served either in the guest lounge or in our room. Breakfast was also wonderful, with both a buffet of cereals, fruits, and pastries, and a menu of cooked selections to choose from.
There's plenty of off-street parking available, which was one less hassle to think about. All in all, a wonderful place in Dublin and one we'll certainly revisit.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SRW31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2006

A friend and I wanted to be a bit outside the busy city center, and we could not have made a better choice than Aberdeen Lodge. Within easy walking distance of the DART, and several restaurants.

This small hotel in the Ballsbridge/SandyMount area is lovely. Our twin room with private bath was spacious, we were perfectly comfortable during the 6
nights we were there. The room, dining room, and lounge were all spotlessly clean, with nice furnishings. We noted many small touches, fresh flowers in the public rooms, comfortable bathrobes, free access to a computer, etc. that you often don't see in a hotel within this price range.

Breakfasts were very generous and well prepared. We appreciated the great variety on the menu.

The staff was terrific, very polite and helpful at all times. We loved the area, very quiet, we enjoyed several nice walks around Ballsbridge. It was always nice to come back to this peaceful area after a busy day of sightseeing. If I ever get back to Dublin I will certainly stay here again, I recommend Aberdeen Lodge to anyone looking for a small quiet hotel in the Dublin area.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank lcray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 October 2005

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful weekend in Dublin with great hospitality and feel we found a little gem of a place - The Aberdeen Lodge. It has loads of character, is in the Ballsbridge area which is very upmarket and there is a lovely village a short walk away with some excellant restaurants - the Italian recommended by the hotel owner in particular is fabulous! We were close enough to the city to sightsee - and for my wife to shop - but we loved being away from the hustle in the quiet leafy suburbs. Our room was immaculate, had a very big, comfortable brass bed and the full Irish breakfasts and charming staff were just the best. We can't wait to return in the summer to make the most the hotels lovely gardens and terrace.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 June 2004

We enjoyed the Aberdeen Lodge. Our room was a bit on the small side, but very clean and well kept. The breakfasts were generous and delicious. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The Lodge has a beautiful rear garden where we relaxed after touring Dublin on a very warm day. The price was reasonable, and the owner is willing to negotiate a bit. Two additional points: first, the Lodge is really in Sandy Mount, not Ballsbridge. I did not find this to be a big disadvantage because it is a short stroll to the DART which takes you right into Dublin. After reading reviews of hotels in Temple Bar and near Grafton Street being so noisy you couldn't sleep, I enjoyed staying in a leafy suburb. Also, the staff was happy to serve us wine, soft drinks or snacks in the drawing room or the garden. The soft drinks were supposed to be free, but showed up on our bill. On the whole, a very good experience. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,407 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Property: Aberdeen Lodge
Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing