We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Expectation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #5 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beyond Expectation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

Our first experience of the incredible hospitality you will find at this hotel was when we realised we had made an error in our booking. We telephoned to see if we could put right our mistake and were answered by Mr Pat Halpin, who dealt with our problem with the greatest warmth. We were travelling with friends and staying only one night but felt like we were to be personal house guests. On arrival we were not disappointed and were greeted with pots of tea and home made biscuits in the lounge. Having established the nature of our trip, whilst enjoying the tea, Pat presented us with maps and information on getting to Dublin, where to go in nearby Sandymount and details of the local beach walk.
We were then shown to our rooms, which were clean, spacious, comfortable and very quiet. The en-suite had a bath with a shower, sumptuous bathrobes and lovely, heavy towels. After a great hot bath we were then ready to head out to the city.
We were in Dublin for a concert at the 02 Arena (previously known as The Point). We were given a late-night swipe card for the front door and pointed in the direction of the DART, Dublin's frequent and fast train service, which is located a short walk away. Twenty or so minutes later we were in Temple Bar enjoying a pre-concert Guinness.
After the concert, as it was a pleasant evening, we decided to walk back to the hotel where we enjoyed a glass or two of port before bed (if it had been raining a taxi would have taken only a few minutes from the 02).
After a great night's sleep in a very comfortable bed and an excellent shower, we went to meet our friends downstairs for breakfast. They too had enjoyed a restful sleep. We were greeted by Pat and presented with a breakfast menu. We all chose the 'full Irish', which did not disappoint.
After breakfast we checked out of our rooms, left our bags securely downstairs and, as it was a nice day, went for a stroll along the beach.
We were only in Ireland for about 24 hours and crammed a lot in but we came away feeling refreshed and uplifted.
I travel internationally extensively as part of my job and have stayed in so many hotels of different standards all over the world. The mark of a hotel is whether you remember it afterward and that isn't simply down to how luxurious it is. It is more down to personality. This is one of the most memorable I have stayed in and whilst its location and standards are part of that; it is the warmth of Pat and his team that make it so. Irish hospitality at its very best!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Strandjutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    93
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
123
256
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

I am a very satisfied tourist who has just come home to Australia. I booked my holiday for 9 nghts via the internet, as I fell in love with photos on the web site - lovely rooms, great position etc. On arrival I was not disappointed but overwhelmed with the beauty of the area as well as the lodge. The staff were all very friendly and caring, with nothing a problem for them. My room had a lovely view, and was very quiet which suited me due to I was having a few days after attending a conferance. The owners, Pat and Ann were very friendly and professional. I was given maps of the area showing the station, restaurants etc, which was very helpful. My departure was equally as special as the arrival, with the staff seeing me off and taking my luggage to the cab.
So, I would highly recommend this accommodation to any who want a clean and quiet room, great breakfasts, free Wi-Fi and 5 minutes from Dublin. I certainly will stay there again at my next visit to Dublin (I will take my husband next time).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dustabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

The staff went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of from the moment we arrived to the minute we left. Nice quiet room with wi-fi. During the day, we took the train 5 minutes to downtown Dublin, and in the evening we walked down the beach to Sandymount for dinner. The hotel has a great breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LandLiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanzey, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

Aberdeen Lodge is located in the Embassy section of Dublin, close to bus and train into downtown Dublin as we did not pick up our rental car until we left Dublin. It is an exceptionally fine B&B with very comfortable and quiet rooms and superb full Irish breakfasts. Fresh squeezed orange juice, all hot irems promptly and deliciously cooked to order. Staff extremely friendly and competent. We were able to get into our room at 6 AM (these overnight flights are awful !) Pat (owner) was exceedingly helpful with maps, wonderful dinner ideas, and suggestions. We were able to get Michael Buble tickets for that night (almost sold-out).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 70mission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights, our last 2 nights of a 10 day tour of Ireland. We took a long time to choose somewhere to stay in Dublin, but the rave reviews for Aberdeen Lodge were hard to ignore.
The positive aspects were the welcome reception we received in the very well appointed reception room. We were also given some very good advice on what to do in Dublin, together with some helpful maps and timetables. In addition, we were served some lovely fresh sandwiches which were welcome after a long journey.
The constructive comments would be that the bedrooms were not as big as suggested in other Trip Advisor comments, the decor looks 'tired', the breakfast was average at best and served rather formally, lacking the 'craic' from the staff that we'd encountered in other Irish hotels we'd stayed in. And although Sandymount is only 10 minutes walk from the hotel, the choice of eating places there wasn't as good as implied in other reviews. The exception would be Mulligans pub, which is a great pub for a drink and to experience good Irish atmosphere.
So disappointed with our stay, but maybe the rave reviews had set our expectations too high?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJMcQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

excellent hotel. lovely room, attentive and helpful staff, close to city and ferry to UK

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRK0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Aberdeen Lodge. We had an inter-connecting room with the children (aged 15 and 12) and both rooms were spotlessly clean with plenty of towels and bath robes. Breakfast was very good. A lovely touch was tea and homemade biscuits on arrival and on our return from our day trip. We felt very welcome. The hotel is within a short walk of the Dart station (only a few minutes' ride to the centre of Dublin) and Dublin Bay. There is a good selection of restaurants within easy reach of the hotel. There is plenty of parking.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blanchedheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,573 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,038 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Property: Aberdeen Lodge
Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing