We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find, unbeatable service”
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #5 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
2 reviews
“Excellent find, unbeatable service”
Reviewed 7 November 2010

I booked a special package with Aberdeen lodge, which came with a deluxe double room, breakfast, and included Dublin bus tickets. Based on our experience this cosy bed-and-breakfast style hotel is highly recommended! We were warmly welcomed and offered tea / coffee immediately upon arrival. The service was outstanding, the staff was willing to help in any way, whether it be calling a cab, recommending a restaurant, or giving directions to local attractions. The beds were very comfortable and the facilities quite clean. The location is quiet and only a few minutes walk to the DART station for access to the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    98
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
129
264
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Good things come in small packages. This is so true for Aberdeen Lodge. It is a bed and breakfast so it is not as big as most hotels, but it is far superior to them.
We stayed here for 3 nights and we were looked after extremely well and made to feel at home.
The factor that made our stay so memorable is, undoubtedly, the warm service. When I called up to ask for directions to the lodge, I spoke with Ann who was so friendly even on the phone that I was already looking forward to our stay there. On reaching there, we discovered that all of them are very hospitable. We grew especially fond of Thomas, the manager, who was so helpful. He helped us with our train reservations to Killarney.
We are pure vegetarians to the extent that we do not eat egg even in our food. At any other place, it would have been a bother for the hosts, but not in Aberdeen Lodge. Ann was considerate enough to make the most delicious eggless pancakes for us for breakfast.
The location of Aberdeen lodge is also a very positive point... It is a very beautiful area. Very well connected with the local train. The village square is a ten minute walk away and it has some very nice places to eat. The beach is a five minute walk away. What more can one ask for !!??
The rooms, the cleanliness, the service, the location, the food and last but definitely not the least- the warmth and hospitality of everyone at Aberdeen Lodge.... these are the reasons why we'll go to Dublin and only stay here...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonaliMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The first - and permanent - impression is the warmth: of the owners and staff, the decor, the rooms themselves. The house is spacious and comfortable, sun-filled in the lovely autumn days when we were here, quiet and relaxing both in the drawing room and in the bedrooms. Everything one might want, from the bathrobes in the wardrobe to internet access in the rooms, coffee and refreshments when one feels like them, generous offer of a lift to the excellent restaurants nearby in Sandymount village which they recommend and book for you. Not to speak of the choice at breakfast, both the cooked dishes and the home-made scones and jams.. A walk along the long beach is only minutes away. We're Italian, and we couldn't think of a better introduction to Irish hospitality and enjoyment of life for our 'compaesani' .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nondimeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Welcomed upon arrival and offered a refreshing pot of tea and biscuits. The owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful (directions, ammenities etc)
The rooms are very comfortable and spacious even if the bathrooms would benefit from a 'refresher'.
The guests lounge is well furnished and relaxing and the dining room, which overlooks the garden/patio offered great food and service. On a nice day I would suggest 'tea' in the garden.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Aberdeen Lodge

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher20100910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NH, USA
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2010

After landing in Dublin at 5:30 AM, renting a car and plunging the first terifying moments on the "wrong" side of the road in Dublin, we somehow found Aberdeen Lodge by 8:00 AM, immediately parked the car, and were warmly welcomed with a cup of tea, a delicious breakfast, and a soft bed to plunge into for a couple of hours before heading into the city. Which is exactly why we chose to stay here. The lovely house is in a charming neighborhood close to the train. We were able to enjoy the hustle & bustle of the city and return easily to a quiet neighborhood. The staff are friendly, helpful and hospitable. The food is excellent. So - what are you waiting for? Go to Ireland, to Dublin, to Aberdeen Lodge... Go. Now!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgnicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2010

I had won a 2-night B and B stay in Aberdeen Lodge in a raffle and, although we live in the vicinity, decided we would avail of of the chance to play tourists in our city. Easy parking, tea and cookies offered in the cosy lounge while the friendly staff brought our bags to our room and then enquired if we needed directions or help about our surroundings. A bus stop just on the corner of the hotel, the DART a few minutes walk to the south, the Strand a couple of minutes to the east and the village with good restaurants a ten minute walk in a leafy suburb. The room was large, cheerful and well appointed, the bed very comfortable and breakfast was delicious; a good selection of fruits, juices, cereals, yogurts, breads and cheeses and full irish breakfast with you eggs done to your liking. We were sad we had to leave.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmotte55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2010

From the moment we arrived at Aberdeen Lodge, we could not have been made to feel more welcome. The owners and staff are so helpful and friendly. We were going to a match at the Aviva Stadium which was just a short walk away. The hotel is in a really good location as the stadium is easy to get to but you get to leave the crowds behind and come back to the peace & quiet! Room was lovely and the breakfast was delicious. Car parking was free as well which was fantastic. Shall be recommending this place to friends and family. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,407 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,157 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Property: Aberdeen Lodge
Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing